We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!”
Review of Chico's

Chico's
Ranked #703 of 881 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Fast food
Restaurant details
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was probably the biggest culinary/dining mistake I've ever made in my life! I could have eaten in the pub next door for half the price and had better food. The service here was surly, rude and dismissive. The 'Cod' was some sort of overcooked and slimy Vietnamese river fish coated in an undercooked batter. "Salt and vinegar?", I said yes but when opened - nothing! Maybe I couldn't taste the salt or vinegar because of the amounts of rancid grease clinging to the excuse for cod and chips. DO NOT GO HERE - they do not deserve to be in business. This is the first time I have ever given such a negative review but I feel you should be warned - no matter how hungry you are or how late it is.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rayharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    12
    3
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vile!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place does not even deserve one star!! The only reason why it may warrant a 5 star is in its ability to give you severe stomach pains all night long; hygiene of staff and or food must be non existent. Avoid! Its definitely not chico time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jase16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The worst takeaway ever ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Three of us went to this place last night and to say we had the worst takeaway ever is a huge understatement

The kebab we ordered was cold and heaven only knows what type of meat it was let alone the sour cream they put on it instead of the garlic source


One simple bit of advice give this place a miss and save yourself

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenpathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Carpet burger”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Came in here after a few beers.Place itself looks decent enough and seemed clean.The menu looks varied and prices are about right for a fast food place.I had a cheese burger which was dry and tasteless.I have had better microwave burgers to be honest.Not impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Prendy0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thought we would try a quick takeaway, wish we hadn't. Cod and chips (really cod?) and chicken and mushroom pie that was so dry it was inedible. Grey greasy chips. Not good at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chico's also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Chico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing