We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for a weekend break”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
A compact but well equipped kitchen
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natalie C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for a weekend break”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location for a weekend in York. House was comfortable, well cared for and great if you want to be able to walk to local amenities and pop in/out of the town. Good value for money - we went (6 adults) and the price was great compared to local hotels. Only comment/word of warning would be that the stairs are very creaky, so light sleepers need ear plugs! We would stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
I too like being at the heart of things and enjoy popping in and out of the centre - it's so easy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy69...
Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were happy with this accommodation. Before we arrived, Mary answered all questions via email promptly and thoroughly. I was a bit nervous sending money direct to her bank account, as I had never done that before (never stayed in a privately owned accommodation before), but it worked fine and I can assure you that everything is legit.

On arrival, we found homemade baked goods, a welcome surprise. The kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and basic supplies - there was even a bottle of Tabasco. The downstairs bathroom was nice, with a good shower. The bedrooms had space to unpack our clothes. The layout may be a bit quirky but it's a bit fun, especially for our kids, ages 4, 6 and nearly 8. There were some games and books in the living room and free wi-fi. And the parking permit was very useful.

The place had a comfy feel overall and we would stay here again if we visit York again. The location was a short walk to Westminster - very central.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We like guests to enjoy their time here. Glad the children made use of the games and books.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee A
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing house!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I recently stayed in this house for a weekend with a party of girls for a girls weekend!! The house is beautifully presented and well equipped with all things one would need when staying self catering. The house was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Lovely decor and spacious. Fantastic location just 5 mins on foot from the minster and York centre. Truly enjoyed our stay here and will deafinatley be returning with my family or the girls again!! The landlady Mary is lovely and had fresh brownies and delivered milk to us on arrival. Highly recommended!! Thank you Mary x

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic response - it is really nice to hear guests liked the house and have enjoyed their stay. Thank you too for the card and candle, I was touched.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheekybab...
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a really wonderful stay here. The house itself was lovely and well furnished. It was cosy, spacious, clean and close to town centre. It's got all the big and little things you need which gave that really homely feel. The beds were nicely laid and very comfortable. Despite being close to town, the place was quiet which really helped since we had a one year old baby. Mary and her husband were also extremely sweet and hospitable. Overall very very happy we chose this place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the house suited you well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jethie85
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This place is well worth the money!
We chose this spot because it was pet friendly and it certainly did not disappoint.
The house was clean, tidy and well laid out. There was plenty of space for a small family and we found it was great to return yo after a busy day shopping in York.
The owner was very helpful and friendly and we hope to return there again soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you, and thank you for leaving the house so immaculate - finding the bed stripped, the rubbish out AND the fire cleaned was a pleasant surprise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMB_2000
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting York”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After searching for a suitable place to accommodate myself and two adult family members I found the perfect property close to the centre of York. The house is on a lovely, quiet street with plenty of available parking (permit supplied). The house has everything and more than you could need for a short break, although with so many places to eat close by we hardly used the kitchen facilities. All the rooms were cosy and welcoming; I had the loft room which had a lovely comfortable bed and bedding. I am already looking for availability for my next short break. Thank you Mary for your help and your suggestions in response to my queries on places to eat. Hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy property and perfect location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you. I learnt about new places when finding dog-friendly eating places. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
43Kate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perefct place for a break in York”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in this house with my little boy (21 months), my sister and her 2 children (6 and 10) This is a beautiful house perfectly situated on the edge of the city, witihin 5 minutes you were in the centre of York yet the street was so quiet and peaceful. There was plenty of room for all of us and the kitchen is well equipped if you wish to cook whilst there. My nephew loved having the en suite attic room to his self!

The owners were friendly, helpful and welcoming and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there.

Highly recommended and we'd love to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and 'cottage' feel of the house
Liked least: Nothing- for is it was ideal!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
So pleased you had a great stay. We would love you to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing