We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
worriedWa...
wallington
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic base for our visit to York. The house was perfect for our stay, lots of room and everything we needed was there, including really comfortable beds. Mary was very welcoming and even made us some really lovely cakes which was a lovely touch and most welcome after a long train ride. If we ever go back to York I would definitely stay here again as it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you liked the house and enjoyed your stay (and the cakes were ok!) I hope we'll be able to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErganaghO...
Omagh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, quaint...”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Close to city walls so location very handy for the sights. Parking is available but is a bit tight for the larger vehicle. House itself small (especially for 6) but characterful - note v steep stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in nice location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Pet friendly cottage nicely located just outside the city walls. Good facilities inside, including 3 bedrooms, and small garden seating area for sunny days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. Pleased you had some sitting-out weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena C
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage within a fantastic city”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the time of booking and during the holiday Mary was easy to contact and ready to answer all questions that we had - she even provided us with milk in the fridge, some biscuits and things like toilet paper, kitchen roll etc which were very grateful for.
The house is lovely and homely with pretty much everything you could imagine needing especially in the kitchen - which although small, we preferred to our own large home kitchen. The photos are an accurate reflection of the house and the only thing you can't see in the kitchen photo is the lovely new Fridge Freezer.
The stairs are definitely steep but it clearly states that in the description so we were not surprised and left the teenagers to climb to the attic bedroom !
Having the car parking permit saved us a fortune - we looked at the car park prices around the corner and it was £12 for a day - we went out by car for a few days and always managed to get parked by the house each evening.
We were amazed at how close to the York Minster we were and walked everywhere - 5 mins into York and 10 mins into the furthest part of the shopping area - from the Attic bedroom we could see the Minster and in the evenings you could sometimes here the bells.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday and would definitely recommend to anyone without mobility problems including families.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that you liked the house. Sorry we couldn't have provided better weather for you! Perhaps next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev E
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy, comfortable and quirky.”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent base to visit York, 10 mins walk to all attractions. Quirky cottage with comfortable beds, warm and cosy. Stayed with my husband, three daughters and boyfriend of one daughter. Loft room has en suite which is a bonus. The stairs are not a problem unless you have severe mobility issues. Only down side was downstairs bathroom but again no real concern unless mobility is an issue. Everything you need is there and a wonderful chocolate cake as a welcome. Thank you for a memorable family stay,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Pleased you liked the house and enjoyed your stay. The chocolate cake was a new recipe so glad it went down well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cosy cottage is a short walk (10mins) from the centre of York and judging by the number of hen and stag dos, you're better off outside the walls!

The house itself is on a quiet street and has a real homeliness about it. There was just two of us on our trip but it would comfortably sleep 6 in the three double bedrooms.

The owner Mary was also great, especially in being so understanding when our train was delayed... we arrived at gone 1am. Little touches like milk in the fridge made a big difference in us feeling welcome.

This was a great base from which to explore York and comes highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you Nick for a lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope your journey home was uneventful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essexcoas...
Essex Coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweet cottage in great location”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I have stayed in York a lot over the last five years, with two offspring being at the university, and have rented several places. The location of this cottage is truly excellent and it was a bonus that we could take our dogs. It is clean and comfortable, but if you are looking for immaculate and sterile then this is not for you. We felt very comfortable there. I would give it five stars except I feel that this would indicate excellence, and there are a few tweaks that would make it better, including a heater in the bathroom which was freezing. The stairs are indeed steep but we managed. The owners were really helpful and I would stay here again no question. Especially in the summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the house comfortable. As it happens we are having a new heater put in the bathroom in a few days - it was unfortunate you hit a really cold spell for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing