We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly guest house”
Review of Dairy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dairy Guest House
Ranked #59 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly guest house”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rooms were clean and quiet but tiny. We were provided with a parking permit (parking is in the street). Breakfast was delicious and very well presented with cereal followed by a full English breakfast. Good location: easy access to all of the city sites, just 5-15 minutes walk into the city centre. The owners were very friendle and helpful. We were welcomed warmly, accommodation was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koff_indigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    52
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

From the warm and informative welcome on arrival to the fast but friendly checkout, we felt we were valued guests. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and quiet - although only a few minutes' walk from central York. Very good choice at breakfast, which was well cooked and presented. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st annes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent five days in York with my friend. Good position, just outside the city walls. Easy to walk into the city centre. Good accommodation, hospitality tray with bottled water. Small but adequate bathroom. Proprietors were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Parking on the road (with permit from the Guest House) Overall, a very pleasant holiday (helped by the good weather)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyhStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle u Lyme
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

How sad, writing this just a day back home. I must get out more.....
Found and booked this guest house on the net and then checked it out on Trip.

Not disappointed.
Not on a budget but, for a couple of nights we can manage (used to camping in a tent).
Room small (Room No 1) but comfy. (Bed very comfy luv it). Shower/toilet tiny, sorry folks. Im 6ft.2 and just managed but it is small.
Apart from that I would/will go back (if they let me, I have a wicked SOH). Maybe another room next time.
That aside I cannot fault it, parking over the road approx 30 mtrs away, good breakfast, friendly.
All in all very nice and thankyou (do I get discount?).
Quite a nice selection of shops close by too, but we did not have time to try, chip shop, deli, indian, chinese, cafe, sainsburys,

Anyway, close to town maybe 10 - 15 mins walk to clifford tower area, another 10-15 stroll through the shambles and town to the minster.

Mondays, we found alot of restaurents are closed, pubs do meals but quite expensive i thought.
I dont think £11.95 for a lamb shank in a pastry top some mash and beans is worth that.
Alot of the oldy world pubs nice as they are seem to be empty aswell!. i think they rely too much on the passing tourist.
Railway museum is great, missed the jorvick viking museum as it was £16 / person!!!!.....come on please be sensible.

So, Cheers, Dairy guest house, Thankyou.very nice. Highly recommended.

TIP. Anyone using that stupid A1(M) beware.....3 lane, down to 2 lane, run off and getting back on is soooo dangerous, vertually no slip road.
TIP 2. Knaresborough, approx 20 miles away, very nice riverside walk, old mother Shipton attraction and nice town.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a very small annexed bathroom, but heh, if your under 5 foot like my wife...great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Couldn't swing a cat in the room ! So small and fixtures and bedding very very basic.
The bathroom was more like a walk in wardrobe.
Don't expect luxury in a B@B but do expect better value for money.
Breakfast is served in a forty five min slot! Never come across that before.
Proprietors very pleasant and welcoming ,however it certainly s not four star standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

York is expensive to visit & many hotels are overpriced but this B&B, a 5 min walk from the Castle Museum/Clifford's Tower area, is great value. It's at the top of a cute little street lined with cafes & lovely shops. We had the spacious family room, comfy beds & a very thoughtful hospitality tray with bottled water, tea/coffee, hot choc , wine glasses, chocs & plenty of biccies! Ken, the very friendly & helpful owner, provided me with a flask of cold milk for my cuppas when I asked :) Lovely cooked breakfast. The shower room is very compact, but why do we feel we need big bathrooms anyway?! We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location was very good, value for money accommodation. A very comfortable experience. Good host, great breakfast and parking was not an issue. Within walking distance of al main sites within the walls of York city.

Room Tip: Front room on first floor with bay window was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#86 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Guest House

Property: Dairy Guest House
Address: 3 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing