We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent would recommend a stay here!!!”
Review of Dairy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dairy Guest House
Ranked #57 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent would recommend a stay here!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We came to York to celebrate a 30th birthday staying at the Dairy Guest House made our weekend perfect!!! Fantastic location and a wonderful owner!!! Would definitely come back. Thank you for having us x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCollingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    52
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Dairy Guest House in York. The accommodations were well kept and well served. The guest house is situated in easy walking distance of the city center. If you've had a difficult stay at Dairy Guest House in the past, you should know it is under new management as of January of this year. And before I close, the breakfast was wonderful and featured locally provided bacon and sausage, Delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, across a courtyard from the front house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends in rm 5, the family room. It was spacious and perfect for us (3 adults). The location is ideal as its a 10mins at the most,walk to the centre of town. The area is good and there is a small parade of shops next to the guesthouse. Michael the host was very friendly and most helpful. Breakfast was really good and Michael was very attentive. I would definately stay again and will recommend to anyone looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmays68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This guest house is in a perfect location for exploring York city. The hosts are lovely and very helpful. Their recommendations for food were brilliant, especially the Mason's Arms pub.. gorgeous food and very good atmosphere.. huge portions at a good price.. only 5 mins walk from guest house. Lots of lovely little shops and cafes nearby too.
Breakfast was lovely and hosts very attentive but not overly so.
The room we had, room 4, was very clean if a little small. Bathroom lovely and big but no proper shower which was a shame, although there was a shower attachment in the bath. The furniture in the room was dated but this was in keeping with the accommodation so not a proper really. i didn't find the bed the most comfy though and as it was only a standard double and my partner and I ( at 6' and 6'4) are used to a king size we got a little squashed but this is only a personal issue really.
Overall this guest house was lovely and we would definitely stay again if we were visiting York.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juandneil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Sue and Ken were great in looking after us, friendly and helpful, great knowledge of the city. Central location, easy walking distance into the centre of town. Clean and comfy with great breakfast. We would love to come back here and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rooms were clean and quiet but tiny. We were provided with a parking permit (parking is in the street). Breakfast was delicious and very well presented with cereal followed by a full English breakfast. Good location: easy access to all of the city sites, just 5-15 minutes walk into the city centre. The owners were very friendle and helpful. We were welcomed warmly, accommodation was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koff_indigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

From the warm and informative welcome on arrival to the fast but friendly checkout, we felt we were valued guests. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and quiet - although only a few minutes' walk from central York. Very good choice at breakfast, which was well cooked and presented. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#46 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#87 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#38 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dairy Guest House

Property: Dairy Guest House
Address: 3 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dairy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing