We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Ranked #76 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent customer service and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here as this hotel offered free parking, was near to both the train station and the city centre and offered very good value for money. We weren't really looking for anything above this yet the hospitality offered by the staff at this hotel was wonderful and the homemade breakfast one of the best we've experienced.

The manager, called Mark, was extremely firendly and accomodating. He gave us some great tips on where to drink, dine and visit both in York and the surrounding areas. He has also negotiated a number of offers with some restaurants in town, to offer guests some good discounts.

You really felt at ease in this family run hotel and while the decor needs updating, the rooms were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was home made and very hearty and all locally sourced which really met with our approval. Would definitely recommend and return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    95
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
120
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I booked a family room for myself and 2 sons. This was one of the few I found which offered a family room with 2 singles and 1 double. The beds were lovely and clean and the room was large. We were quite happy with our stay for the money we paid. On the whole the place needs renovating which is something the owners are in the process of doing and this was reflected in the price. Breakfast was enjoyable with friendly staff, especially the chef. Good car-parking which was an great advantage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

First stay here with my two children on one of our many visits to york. Room was clean ,with good bed and provided ample facilites( tea,coffee toiletries).Hotel has recently been taken over by new owners, who are working hard to update the building.(very hard when it is height of tourist season!)Breakfast good, owner very accomodating re.time for us to eat. Comfortable,above basic accommodation which after revamping will be excellent.Thank you all for a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odoardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

OK, so the bad - The room we were placed in was a) lacking of decent water pressure, so having a decent shower was pretty much impossible, and b) Our room, (while comfortable - extremely so) was at the very top of the boarding house...Something we really didn't want after getting in at 10pm, seven shades of tired, hungry, sweaty and simply wanting a bed to soothe my aching and her (extremely) blistered feet. Trust me, with backpacks and tired feet, three flights of stairs can feel more exhausting than a hike up Ben Nevis at the end of a day.

The Good - Check ends around 9, but thanks to conscientious and personable staff, we were informed that checking in at 10pm was no problem, as long as we notified the B&B before hand. The Bed was extremely soft, plentiful power sockets to recharge phones, laptops and what have you...It was useful to be given access to the free wi-fi as well so that we could e-mail family and friends, and generally update everyone on our progress. I'm the kind of man that believes that the little things make the difference, so the fact that warm towels, and coffee, tea and hot chocolate facilities were in the room to make use of more than made up for any bad points that the Holgate bridge may possess - and it was probably in the favour of the other customers that we were at the top of the boarding house anyway, as I snore so loud, I could probably wake the dead; if I didn't know any better, I'd swear that my girlfriend phoned ahead to warn them about the oncoming storm that is my snoring.

The next morning, we were given plenty of time for checking out, and greeted with a full and somewhat plentiful breakfast; cereal, juice tea or coffee, and a choice of an English Breakfast with toast. We had a long day ahead of us, so the choice, as well as the volume on the plate to feed the belly was more than welcome, and certainly not to be categorised as the worst meal I've ever eaten...In fact I'd go so far as to say that the welcoming atmosphere, charm and location of the Holgate Bridge (it's maybe 700 yards or so from Micklgate) made us at least consider spending an extra night - something we probably would have done if the payment we made to the YHA York were refundable. All in all, if you're going to stay in a B&B, it's because you don't want to pay hotel prices, and in this context, the Holgate Bridge fits the bill wonderfully - definitely worth considering, as it's an extremely reasonable £25pp for a double room.

I'd genuinely consider returning, should I ever head back to York.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadtiredsleepnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We loved our stay and the most wonderful bed and breakfast in York. We were trying to stay in the bed and breakfast next door and it was booked so they recommended the Holgate Bridge, we were sooo happy with the recommendation. We loved the B&B. The staff and owners were amazing! The owners were most helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. They were very friendly and helpful. The room was gorgeous and offered wifi as well as a small sitting area and very clean bed and bath. We loved our front bay window overlooking the street and garden. We stayed for two nights and were not disappointed. Both mornings the breakfast was made by the owner himself with the help of a very friendly staff :) We loved the dining area with the gorgeous fireplace. The B&B was well within walking distance of downtown York and it is in a very safe neighborhood. We felt safe walking at 11pm with our one year old daughter in her stroller. Thank you again for such a great stay we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonZ987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I booked the Holgate Bridge for myself and 5 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday with a day at the races. We arrived on the Friday and stayed until the Sunday. We booked two family rooms which consisted of one double and one single bed and an ample shower room and toilet. Both rooms were spacious enough for 3 ladies getting ready for the races and very clean. Staff were on hand throughout our stay to cater for our every need including taking photos for us and giving us their restaurant recommendations. This wonderfully homely B&B and its friendly staff went above and beyond our expectations, The breakfast was delicious and at £30 per night with breakfast included. unbelievable value for money. 10 mins slow stroll into town. What more can you ask.
Well done Holgate bridge!

Room Tip: Family room 10 large light room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franceswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed at Holgate B&B in April, it wasn’t brilliant, but it was OK. Easy to find and only a short walk from the city walls. The owners were nice, breakfast good and served promptly even at busy times. The room was basic, but clean, towels changed daily, there was a kettle, tea, coffee, etc. It would be nice to be able to open the window – the stuffy smell of the room was probably its only downside. The windows were old and looked like they’d break if you tried to open them, so we only tried once and gave in. The extractor fan in the shower room didn’t really do its job, it was rather loud as well, and opening a window would work much better.

It was the cheapest option available within reasonable distance from the town that included breakfast. All in all, good for budget travellers, if you only sleep there and don’t mind a few minor flaws.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy_ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#70 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
1.2 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#98 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Bridge Hotel

Property: Holgate Bridge Hotel
Address: 106-108 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holgate Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing