We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Ranked #77 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dated but good”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We got a really good deal for this hotel on latebookings.com. The hotel seemed a little dated but we received a very warm welcome from the owner who explained they hadn't long purchased the hotel and were slowly updating it. He was extremely helpful and friendly giving us great advice and directions for some good places to visit.
Although the decor was dated the place was very clean and tidy with a warm and comfy atmosphere, the only complaint I would have would be the breakfast was over cooked on both mornings other then this I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    95
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
120
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I fully concur the other very good or excellent reviews. It is extremely conveniently placed, has loads of parking out the back and the proprietor couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Although the hotel is a little tired (the reason for the 4 stars), the bedroom was extremely clean, functional and well presented. Excellent Freeview tv, coffee and tea facilities and bathroom condiments. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Busy road, go for a room at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights.Its a pleasant reasonably priced,clean & comfortable b&b.Our room had tea & coffee & biscuits. We had a flat screen tele & the room was lovely & warm which was good because we were on the ground floor.The owners were very helpful & when we arrived we were given a map & directions of how to get to the centre which was really helpful.The breakfast is very nice with cereals,fruit,natural yoghurt & a full english if you want it, which was very nice & not a bit of grease in sight!!When we checked out we were going into town & were told we could leave the car there until we were ready to leave.The car park is quite big which is als an added bonus.We would definitley stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazfruity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a two night stay in this charming little place. It was looking perhaps a little tired but clearly there is a refurbishment plan in place and this is pretty much the end of the season.

Good bed, good TV, a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast. The Holgate offers good value and I expect we will stay there again next time we visit York.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A 20 minute walk into the centre of York. Simple and clean accomodation with friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast was great! Lots to choose from. Currently rooms are basic but comfortable but, having spoken to the owner, they are due a refurbishment in the coming months along with the communal areas. Thank you to the staff for their excellent recommendations on places to visit and restaurants.

Money well spent and we would definitely consider returning here in the future.

Room Tip: We've heard that room number 2 is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had a reservation in Holgate Bridge York on 22 August 2011 but I arrived there one day later for a serious problem of health. ..fortunately there wasn’t more availability of rooms and the “Anthony Perkins” of the hotel wanted the payment of two nights in accord with the contract with Booking.com because there was a problem with my credit card ( I paid every payment for my holidays without problems, also another reservation with booking.com in Glasgow and it's impossible to reserve on booking.com without a regular credit card) than when I asked that I would like to resolve with Booking.com, “Perkins” become to follow me and my family of other three women with a daughter 15 years old, for one hour, (in a pub in a Mac Donald) until we arrived to a policeman(?) that said “it’s normal to follow to obtain our money”, than I resolved with the payment of one night to stop to follow my family and I decided to go away far from Holgate Bridge York horror. If you don’t like film horror you don’t go in Holgate Bridge York and if you have a family you stay far from York

Michele

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here as this hotel offered free parking, was near to both the train station and the city centre and offered very good value for money. We weren't really looking for anything above this yet the hospitality offered by the staff at this hotel was wonderful and the homemade breakfast one of the best we've experienced.

The manager, called Mark, was extremely firendly and accomodating. He gave us some great tips on where to drink, dine and visit both in York and the surrounding areas. He has also negotiated a number of offers with some restaurants in town, to offer guests some good discounts.

You really felt at ease in this family run hotel and while the decor needs updating, the rooms were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was home made and very hearty and all locally sourced which really met with our approval. Would definitely recommend and return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#72 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
1.2 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#98 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Bridge Hotel

Property: Holgate Bridge Hotel
Address: 106-108 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holgate Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing