We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and helpfull staff and management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holgate Bridge Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Ranked #72 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant and helpfull staff and management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nicely locate on the outskirts of the town centre,about 15minutes walk. The room was plain but clean. A good breakfast was provided by good natured friendly staff. For the price we paid it was good value for money. The owner informed us that the building was due for redecoration and improvements in the near future. Would happily stop here again for a few nights.

Room Tip: Most the rooms are up stairs and some road noise it the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    92
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
116
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here for the October race meeting. Rooms were clean and adequate, breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Would certainly reccommend this hotel for a value for money stay in a good location for all Yorks attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Lovely building, but a bit dated inside. Towel rail was hanging off in the bathroom and we couldn't open the window in the bedroom. Cleanliness also an issue, lots of dust in the rooms. Breakfast a big dissapointment, boiled mushrooms, wasn't very warm either. Location to city centre about 20 mins walk away. Booked a twin room, got a double bed and a childs single bed, good job one of us was petite to be able to fit on...very short in length. Mattresses hard as well. Probably wouldn't stay here again to be honest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

What a shame, this b&b has the potential to be lovely, great location and impressive building. The problem is the decor is very tired and doesn't look like it's been decorated for 20 years. The room we stayed in was small and grotty with wall paper hanging off the wall, not very relaxing at all.
It cost £80 per night which for what you got was too expensive and dissapointing as it was clear the accomodation has had no money spent on it.
I wouldn't recommend this b&b if you're wanting to get away for something special or a romantic weekend. All in all it's depressing, grotty, and very poor value for money. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcdefjhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I stopped for one night in this lovely Hotel.Clean, comfortable, quiet and the standard of room and customer service where second to none. Within easy reach of the town center this hotel is as the advert says close to all York's attractions and walk-able. The breakfast was first class and the staff couldn't do enough to help.I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying there on any future visits to York.

Room Tip: We stopped in a suite at this hotel which was very spacious and roomy plus being on the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmac211152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just come back from another 3 day stay at Holgate Bridge,and just like always it was great every thing was just perfect from a new Manager called Jeanette i think thats how you spell it who stands in for Mark the main manager,she was most helpfull and could not do enough for you,the same for the chef i call him Joe im sure people will no why his real name is Pasquale, the family room we stayed in was A1 all round, [no16] i spoke to Mark on arrival and like always he makes you most welcome,all i can say about this B and B is it is TOP in every way me and my family have been staying here for a few years with no problems and we can not wait to return for St Nicolas fair at the end of Nov and i would recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pleckgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed on the 7/8/12 and paid £60 for Room #9 on the top floor.

It was clean, friendly and welcoming. It seems to have just got new management, who were very informative about the area - very useful.

Perfect if on a budget and an easy walk in to town of about 5minutes.

The breakfast was good - only let down overall was quite a basic bathroom. But nothing to actually complain about here. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djayrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#73 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
York House
York House
#67 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#104 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#85 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Bridge Hotel

Property: Holgate Bridge Hotel
Address: 106-108 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Holgate Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing