We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Ranked #76 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“one of the worst”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Radiators vibrating. hot water just warm. Toilet not flushed since last guest. Dust all over. Bin not emptied.Sash window not working a wooden block in room to prop it open!!!. Staff running 2 hotels at once leaving no one at reception having to go up the road to get service. Bed need replacing. 3 trips to other hotel to solve radiator problem. Breakfast brilliant. Will not stay here again on the strength of a breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeoffbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    95
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
120
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location - only about 10 minutes walk from the railway station and also the town centre. If you are visiting the railway museum there is also a short cut through the back streets which is even quicker.

We received a very warm welcome from Jeanette and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet and the price, for York, reasonable. Breakfast was very good, and nobody minded that we asked to go in a little earlier than the advertised time because we had a train to catch.

I would happily return here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed one nights bed and breakfast so We could visit York again which We both like doing every year or 2 and this hotel was Excellent. We were received by Jeanette a lovely lady with lots of recommendations about eating places, had a map of York and there were plenty of leaflet at hand on what to do in York. A lovely clean room with a separate big bathroom just across the landing with a big shower. We had a lovely breakfast of a choice of cereal and a tasty all English breakfast by an Italian chef tasty bacon n sausage good quality food. We genuinely had a comfortable warm, with a huge friendly welcome by all staff would definitely come again. thanks Everyone! Xxxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is very run down and shabby in parts. The room we had was too small to be a double, and poorly furnished. The 'en-suite' was a disgrace. A sliding door which left huge gaps either side - and the extractor didn't work (no windows). Doesn't bear thinking about! The shower was old and inefficient.
On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were OK. The car park was a useful asset (partly why we booked here). Unfortunately that awful room has pulled the rating right down. Obviously, judging by other reviews, they're not all like that. Get it sorted, Holgate Bridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda_S593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We didn't have a reservation but Jeanette went above and beyond to help us out and we ended up staying three nights - can't say enough about all the staff, everyone was so helpful and accommodating, but Jeanette made it a truly wonderful experience. The room was clean and well appointed and the food was excellent!
The enthusiasm and pride the staff displayed for their city of York was contagious, and their helpful advice on where to go, where to eat and what was a must-see made this the highlight of our five weeks in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely hotel, wonderful staff nothing is too much trouble. Very clean and fresh, breakfast was excellent and Pasquale the chef has an brilliant sense of humour. Mark and Jeanette the owners could not of have been more helpful giving as loads of information and tips on where to visit and eat. The other 2 girls working here are very pleasant and helpful also. A well run place and definately somewhere we want to stay at again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here in September, and I would not describe it as a hotel, but more as a good Bed and Breakfast Establishment. When we arrived the staff were all professional and welcoming and are part of the charm of the place.

The B&B is like a little rabbit warren of rooms that is to be expected for an old town house. We stayed in the basement room, that had a small window, which did allow sufficient light into the room. The room was a reasonable size with double bed, sofa, wardrobe, chest of draws, with tea making facilities and biscuits.

We had an en-suite facility, however, it was located away from the room within a private corridor. This was clean,however, was very small that you had to plan the logistical moves. It also lacked a basic shelf (small) to place things such as tooth brush, tooth paste, mouth wash, shower gel, etc. This would have made a significant difference in user experience - but I place this down to quirkiness.

The location is about 10/15 minutes from Micklegate and is easy to get to. There is a Salisbury's local near Holgate Road, that you could obtain snacks from. It is easy to get to York train station as there is a short cut that goes through York Station Car Park that brings you out at Lower Terrace (just off Holgate Road). This will cut 10 minutes off a 20 minute walk from Station to Holgate B&B.

Another suggestion is there is a short walk to the Train Museum from Wilton Rise, there is a walkway that directly leads to the Train Museum - its quick, but I would not recommend this at night. Its too quite.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay, the room was comfortable (with quirkiness), the breakfast was good, and the staffs were professional and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike888125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#69 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
1.2 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#94 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Bridge Hotel

Property: Holgate Bridge Hotel
Address: 106-108 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holgate Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing