We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service”
Review of Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose & Crown
Ranked #28 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“outstanding service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from the rose and crown, and would highly recommend to anyone. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.Lovely clean room and on site free parking. Lovely full English breakfast and outstanding service. Top place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenhutton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    34
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
133
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really nice place to stop over. Clean, tidy and very comfy nicely equipped room.

Great location - just a 10 min walk into the centre of York.

The food itself is worth a five; great breakfast and for dinner the pies are just exceptional. Quite possible the best pies I have ever eaten (we had one each so I sampled two). If you stay just eat pie! This can be accompanied by a pint of excellent real ale.

And the niggle....well, we had a room on the street side. It's a busy road; the room could really do with some secondary glazing of some kind. We were disturbed overnight - normally by those irritating little two strokes bikes ridden at maximum revs by teenagers.

That said, we most certainly would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road (unless it has secondary glazing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It's a wonderful inn, greatly located. It's just outside walls of old York's old town, which makes it great base if you want to explore the city of York. There is a big parking lot, free for costumers, so on can easily use it as the base for days out of town.
Our was nice, freshly decorated and very comfortable. Bed was great. About how clean it was: I think one could operate on their floors!
We stayed for 5 days and loved it. Members of the team were so wonderful to us. They had our every question answered, every need taken care of.
Breakfast was great! Those who like the full English, could be satisfied. I liked their Black Pudding, especially.
Members of the team are all very young and positive people, so everything is done in very swift and jolly with the smile.
We are planning a trip to York and Yorkshire next year, will definitely use as a base.
It's always nice to stay at inn. Once your kids are showered and asleep, one can really enjoy a variety of the ales and Whiskeys of the pub!
Ciara and Johnny, Vanessa and Lou, Louise and etc... Thank you for making us home away from home.

Room Tip: Before booking give them a call and tell them what you need. Do it in advance, they tend to be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped off on route home after a holiday in North Yorkshire. Found this pub whilst on route to a recommended pub on trip advisor. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The food was gorgeous and the pub had a lovely atmosphere. Big bonus the pub has a car park which is free! Will definitely come back here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Freenessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Looking for somewhere in York for a night away last minute family break and we chanced upon this place. Fantastic, very good value easy stroll to the city centre, ample parking. From arrival to departure all the staff were friendly and helpfull.
The whole place is in top condition and nicely decorated throughout. The rooms are fully refurbished and well laid out with ample bathroom space.
We ate in on the evening and could not fault the food or service (The belly pork was superb), the breakfast was equally amazing.
This is definitely the beast Pub stay we have ever been on and I would also recommend if you are in York on business as the quality is much higher than many chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I came on Wednesday night for a meal with my family which included my mum and my young child .
The waitress who looked after us was lovely
She came to our table to ask us which drink we wanted and tell us about the special available on the night
We decided to go for the pies as she recommended to us even if she told us about wait on pies as they are freshly cooked to order .
She told us we could share a starter if we wanted while we were waiting.
The pies were amazing and worth the wait

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erikschein20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My sister and I came to York for 2 days and stayed at the rose and crown. It is a lovely little little pub in a great location. Only 10mins walk to the cente. The rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfy. Had breakfast in the morning as part of the price which was lovely and has different choices of what you can have. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. I would definitely come back and recommend the rose and crown as a place to stay. I would also recommend anyone coming to York to go to the dungeons, had a fantastic time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Waggon & Horses
Waggon & Horses
#33 of 192 in York
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#30 of 192 in York
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#23 of 192 in York
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
1.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#3 of 192 in York
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Crown

Property: Rose & Crown
Address: 13 Lawrence Street, York YO10 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is an ideally located, newly refurbished establishment in York. We are a short walk from the Minster, Shambles, Yorvik Centre, Barbican and City Centre. We deliver exceptional food, international drink selection and cask ales. We currently have five deluxe rooms for letting which consist of family, king and double rooms. Our room rates include cooked breakfast and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing