We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Arnot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnot House
Ranked #56 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arnot House is very well located a short walk from York City centre - you can park your car in the road outside with a parking permit and never need to move it if you just want to see the city. The road is very quiet and the car quite safe. The room was very comfortable with lots of extras to make your stay memorable - we won't spoil the surprise by giving them away! The bathroom was fantastic with a huge bath and separate shower. Kim provides a vast amount of information about York including menus from many restaurants. Breakfast is very good and freshly cooked to order. We would not hesitate to recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear IanJoan44

Thankyou for your glowing report of Arnot House...and for your lovely card and flowers when you left us. I hope you are enjoying the continuing summer of good weather and resting after your busy holiday here and in the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

This B&B is located on a quiet street a short distance from the old city walls. It is perfectly situated for visitors who want to check out York, but don't want to be in the thick of the bustle. The innkeepers are pleasant and helpful; and the breakfasts are the full meal deal. We easily walked here from the train station; they kindly held our luggage after we checked out so we could do a bit more sightseeing before walking back to the train station. We had the room at the top of the stair. It was a large room with king bed and a full bath with terrific soaking tub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Carol253

Thanks for your review and compliments about Arnot House. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Kirkham room (which was refurbished in January this year) and the wonderful claw foot slipper bath....the Victorians produced such lovely houses and fittings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Location is perfect…outside the city gates but within easy walking distance, and lots of easy on-street parking. Historic old house is beautifully furnished and Kim was very gracious and helpful with recommendations of what to see and do during our two days in York. Lovely room and bathroom (I recall it was #6, up one flight of stairs) stocked with goodies and a decanter of sherry. Breakfast in a beautiful old dining room. Just one note…if you're traveling really light and hoping to catch up on some dry-overnight-in-the-bathroom laundry, like I was, you are out of luck as it is prohibited (fortunately, we caught up on wash at our next stop). Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieKay530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear JamieKay, Thankyou for your review and wonderful comments...it was a pleasure having you to stay. As you say we prefer guests not to do hand washing in bedrooms and leave it to dry as we have had several mishaps in the past with dripping clothes and antique furniture not mixing well. if the weather is good we can certainly hang out smaller items to dry on the line and we have a dry cleaners at the end of the road and a washeteria/launderette only a short walk away....
Thankyou again, and I hope you are not working too hard , now you are home in the USA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Arnot House is a Bed and Breakfast in York, England. It is within walking distance of the major sites and rail station. The accomodations were great and the breakfasts were delicious.

Note, there is no fitness center but I cannot get the ratings to delete the category.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Driver 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - it is good to know that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in June. We always feel that York is a really friendly and safe city for single travellers, and there are lots of nice places to eat, drink and visit - that welcome those travelling alone. Happy belated 4 July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We landed in York for six days by default when a portion of our UK trip had to be rescheduled, and the recommendation of Arnot House was the best compensation for our schedule change. From the first email contact, Kim went out of her way to help us adjust to our sudden plans and to help us with the circumstances that necessitated the change (my husband had an injury and she went out of her way to make sure he had ice for his ankle every evening). The room was spectacular, the amenities the most generous we have ever encountered in all our travels, the breakfasts delicious, the surroundings delightfully decorated, the location central, and the restaurant and sightseeing recommendations were spot on. We had the best time in York and our stay in Arnot House was just like being at home with family. Couldn't recommend more highly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Sharon

Thanks for your lovely email and the Trip Advisor review...I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay at Arnot House - it was great having you here. I hope you enjoyed your time in London just as much and that your hubbies foot held up with the ice pack! Have a wonderful summer in Utah...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed Kim's hospitality. She was available for recommendations, yet never intrusive. Breakfast was lovely. Room was spacious with thoughtful touches of sherry, biscuits, candy, etc replaced daily. En-suite was the largest ever. The location can't be beat. Parking is convenient. We spent a couple of days in York and also spent 2 days driving to nearby towns. Highly recommend and would return if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear ParisCarol,

Thankyou for your glowing review and comments. Kirkham is a lovely room with a big bed and bathroom - indeed all our rooms are all of differing sizes and decoration as we are a city centre Victorian house with all the period character and charm that offers. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to York, and I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels around the UK...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in York. The location is superb for visiting the historic centre of York. Everything is easily within a few minutes walk. There is on-street parking outside and we had no problem finding a space. You get a free parking permit for the duration of your stay.

The house itself is a classic Victorian terrace and feels very homely. Breakfast was served to order and was plentiful.

If you want to visit one of the most beautiful cities in England, stay in a central location and enjoy comfort at a reasonable price then I would highly recommend staying at Arnot House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Statto80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millyYork, Owner at Arnot House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Statto88

Thanks for your lovely comments and I am really please you enjoyed your stay with us....as you rightly said York is a wonderful city - especially on a lovely spring day like today- and hopefully you will have the opportunity to revisit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#14 of 194 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnot House

Address: 17 Grosvenor Terrace, York YO30 7AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £60 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arnot House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnot House Bed and Breakfast is a short walk from the centre of York and York Minster with restaurants,shops,museums and attractions all close by. This Victorian house is on three floors and is furnished with antiques and original artworks. The three en-suite double bedrooms have large brass beds which each sleep a maximum of two persons. Breakfast includes a help-yourself cold buffet with cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit, fruit compote, yogurts, dried fruits and cheeses plus the traditional English cooked breakfast and other vegetarian and cooked options including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. There is free on-street parking for guests. AS WE ARE A SMALL BED AND BREAKFAST AND YORK IS A VERY POPULAR DESTINATION WE HAVE A MINIMUM TWO NIGHT STAY - UNLESS WE HAVE A ROOM FREE FOR ONE NIGHT. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing