We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go for any visitor!”

The Star Inn The City
Ranked #112 of 959 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £12 - £32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the Old Engine House on the edge of York's Museum Gardens in a riverside setting close to the historic Lendal Bridge, The Star Inn The City has an enviable position, which we aim to match with the best produce God's Own Country has to offer and genuine Yorkshire hospitality for the 'whole package'.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

Absolutely incredible evening at The Star Inn
From start to finish we were made to feel comfortable by our server Katy. She was friendly, knowledgeable and gave us great recommendations, and throughout our evening attended to us with just the right level of attention. The food was absolutely exquisite, one of (if not THE) best meals we've ever had the pleasure of enjoying. I would highly recommend anyone to come here - relaxed environment, immaculate food and top notch service.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jarno W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great 5* review!

It is amazing to read such great comments about our restaurant!! One of the best meals you have ever had is very high praise indeed!! I will be sure to pass your fabulous comments to the rest of the team!!

We are looking forward your next visit already!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (4,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 4,052 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2023

Great food, great drinks and to top it off amazing service by Katy, made the night extra special and felt so welcomed!

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

Its great to see what a great experience you had while dining with us! We are so pleased Katy made your night so special! I make sure to pass on you kind words!

We are looking forward to your next visit!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

We were sat in the conservatory at the Star Inn by our server Katy, who was really polite and friendly - even considering how busy the place was. The starter (black pudding Bon Bon’s) was bought out very quickly, and was absolutely delicious. The mustard mayo was a perfect accompaniment. I had the fish Sunday roast, and my friend had the beef. We had to wait a little for the main course, but when it came it was absolutely 10/10 delicious - well put together and presented on the plate beautifully. Compliments to the chefs! For dessert we took Yorkshire Parkin and the choc fudge cake - both with exceptional accompanying gelatos.
On a side note - give Katy a raise! She was lovely and very professional.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

We are so pleased to see how great your experience was while dining with us at the Star Inn the City!! Its so lovely to read such great comments about your Sunday dinner and about our staff! I will be sure to pass on you compliments to the Kitchen team and to Katy!!

We cant wait to see you here again soon!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Food is so delicious and the wine Katy suggested was gorgeous. She memorised our children’s names which made the service all the more special. Beautiful venue, service and food

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

It so great to read such lovely feedback about our restaurant in particular your server Katy! We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your experience here at The Star Inn the City!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

A lovely experience, we was made so welcome by our waitress Katy who is a credit to her profession. Food was lovely along with a great atmosphere and 5 star service made this a very enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 470shaunw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

It is so lovely to read such kind comments about your waitress, Katy truly is a credit our business and I will be sure to let her know your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back here very soon!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn The City also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Star Inn The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.