We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To much salt and loud music”

The Star Inn The City
Ranked #105 of 969 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £12 - £32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the Old Engine House on the edge of York's Museum Gardens in a riverside setting close to the historic Lendal Bridge, The Star Inn The City has an enviable position, which we aim to match with the best produce God's Own Country has to offer and genuine Yorkshire hospitality for the 'whole package'.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

The music was to loud blaring out oasis. Not right music for this venue. I asked it to be turned down.
My starter of soup was to salty. And the pulled pork burger was far to salty aswel. We were recommended. Unfortunately I won't be recommending anyone to go there. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your visit to our restaurant. We do try to match the music to the atmosphere of the restaurant and have a varied selection to try to please all of our guests and we are so sorry that you found this not to you taste.
Regarding your food, we are so disappointed to read that you found it all too salty, this is absolutely not our usual feedback and I have passed your comments on to our kitchen team for review.

I would like to hope that, despite this experience, you do chose to dine with us a again in the future, as we would love the opportunity to show you what we are really about!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (4,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 4,110 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2024

This is the 2nd time we have had dinner here as a family of 4 and it was fantastic again. We’ve said we will always come back here when we are in York. The food is imaginative and delicious and the service is fantastic. There are cheaper options but I think, for what you get, this is excellent

Lumi was an excellent waitress.

Cannot fault anything across both our visits to date.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wordyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

It is wonderful to see what a fab experience you and you family have each time you visit us here at the Star In the City!! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Lumi too!!

We cant wait to see you here again next time you visit York!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Our daughter recommended the Star to us . We were not sure what to expect. However from first entering the restaurant we were treated so well and the staff were very attentive throughout the evening.
The food was first class and we had a great time. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

We are delighted to read such great comments about every aspect of our restaurant! We are so glad you had such a lovely lovely time and we lived up to the recommendation!!

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again very soon!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

We had a great night. The staff were lovely. They were attentive without being over the top. The food was fantastic. We will be back again.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

We are delighted to see what a great time you had while dining with us here at the Star Inn the City!

We cant wait to see you here again very soon!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Absolutely brilliant as usual. The service by Katy was first class- polite, very helpful and non intrusive. The food from the new menu was delicious- the beetroot cured salmon and game burger were particularly good. We will be back (again)

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank salcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Bradshaw, Other at The Star Inn The City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!!

We are so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your experience here at the The Star Inn the City, it is so lovely that you have enjoyed our new menu offering, we certainly think there are lots of exciting new dishes to sample!!
I will make sure pass on your kind words to Katy!!

We cant wait to see you here again soon!!

Kind regards
Kate
Floor Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn The City also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Star Inn The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.