We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Riversmead”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RIVERSMEAD

View from Riversmead
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Riversmead
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View from Riversmead
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
View from garden looking towards Cliffords Tower and Foss Basin
Garden
Riversmead
Comments from guests
Comments from guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Denis O
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Riversmead”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful property outfitted with excellent class and consideration. All furniture appliances are modern and top rate condition. Location is walking distance to the city wall, pubs like the Phoenix Inn, and several restaurants. We left our rental parked out front in the stall. The backyard looks out on a canal with swans when we were there. The wifi was solid and quite fast. We felt warmly welcomed upon arrival and thoroughly enjoyed this place.

The only knock I have is the only bathroom is on the upper floor middle to the bedrooms. Which is excellent at night but a bother during the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay . We would look forward to having you to stay agiain if you return to York.Middle bathrooms are very common in York but it functions very well. Just the style of the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and ease of access to York.
Liked least: everything was great!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. We hope you return to us in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. We've now had riversmead for just over a year and are guest have already stared to revisit us , With help off all our guests kind comments .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul M
1 review
“Lovely property, handy for town”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was probably the best house we've stayed in while on holiday. It's a short walk from the city walls and so a bit further to the city centre. The back patio is lovely because it overlooks the quiet river Foss and catches the evening sunlight. The furniture and fittings are modern. The owners left some food items for us - a nice touch. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming touches.
Liked least: Small rubbish bin!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed stay in our house, and sound you enjoyed our beautiful city. We would like to thank you for your kind comment. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston14
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic location, immaculate inside and family friendly”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The welcome pack was a lovely surprise. It was everything we needed for our short break to York. The house was clean, comfortable and well presented.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed your visit to York. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanCole
Pontypridd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house ideally situated to explore the city of York”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend Riversmead to anyone looking for a holiday let in York. The house is tastefully decorated and has everything you could possibly need - a real home from home. The attention to detail and obvious effort the owners have made certainly made us feel welcome from the minute we walked through the door. We arrived to find a fridge stocked with milk, bread and eggs, a couple of bottles of wine as well as chocolate treats in the bedrooms! The location is in a quiet cul-de-sac with a garden overlooking the river Foss and is ideal for exploring the city with all the major attractions being within walking distance.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to York and you like Riversmead and the extra little bits . We would look forward to having you to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieJ85
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house with thoughtful extras”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Five of us spent a fantastic weekend in this flat while visiting our old university town. The location is perfect, walking distance from in central York. The flat is great, with a lovely outdoor space looking over the river. What really made the stay were the thoughtful extras such as wine and breakfast foods. We will definitely be coming back next time we visit York. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you all enjoyed saying in our house and we look forward to having you all to stay again in the near fiuture .

Regards
Jayne and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing