We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th stay, so must be good!”
Review of Barbican House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barbican House
Ranked #31 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

5th stay since 2008. Always feels homely
Wonderful breakfast sets you up for day!
For 3rd time, our visit coincided with the owners Ann&Adrian being away (one day we'll see you again!) No worries, warmly welcomed by the familar faces of Barbara&Nigel. Lovely to see you again, thanx for being such good hosts. Hope to visit York & Barbican House soon. Whoever is in charge we know we"ll enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

On returning from our recent stay in york at the barbican house.I would just like congratulate ann and adrian on a superb guest house. Food and room excellent,will return again at a later date.walking distance to york city centre,and all attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STUART F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked four nights at Barbican House and we could not have made a better choice. The accommodation is great, because the house is beautifully decorated and has clean and comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast, and you get a full English breakfast, and there is also fresh fruit, cereals and milk. The hosts are very nice, sociable and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay there. It is the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. Alfie (the Dog) welcomed us as we parked in the provided car park. The rooms were very comfortable, immaculately clean, and very nicely decorated. It felt more like a home than a hotel. The Ensuite bathroom was very nice, and again the cleanest we have ever seen anywhere we have stayed. The towels were the thickest, heaviest towels we have ever seen. The Tea/Coffee facilities in the room were great, and the complimentary Sherry decanter was a very nice touch. The room was quiet overnight, and the bed comfy. The breakfast was amazing, and set yo up for the following day. The walk into the centre of York was pleasant, and even the weather was kind to us. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Barbican House, and fully intend repeating our stay there in the future.

Room Tip: We have only experienced two of the six rooms on offer, but they were both fantastic, I can only ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petek999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We all at a really enjoyable stay at this lovely Guest House. superb attention to detail, big comfy beds. Hosts were very helpful and kind. Immaculately clean, lots to choose from at breakfast, I will definitely return. York is such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good welcome. Super clean attractively furbished room, very comfortable bed, best nights sleep in ages. Excellent bathroom facilities. Many little extra touches including decanter of sherry, and several chocolate bars. Full English breakfast, including the fruit which was outstanding. Free Wi Fi Will definitely stay there on next visit to York.

Room Tip: Upgraded to ground floor room which had slight traffic noise, nothing to spoil trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jupiejupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Once again our stay was so very comfortable. The room was spotless and spacious, the bed is so comfortable surrounded by many pillows and bolsters - home from home! I love the touch with the Decanter of Sherry, very relaxing.
The breakfast is fabulous. Lots of care with the cooking and attention with presentation. The fruit mix is absolutely top rate - a wonderful mix of the freshest fruits, served on a huge platter dish. Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries the hugest tastiest Cherries, Pineapples too. We loved our stay and will definitely stay once again.

We found this place to be relaxing and very clean. Run by extremely friendly Proprietor's, any review written in the negative about Barbican House, should be ignored - this place is FAB. I have just read a bad review from someone - which is why I have just had to set the record straight. Next time I come to York, this will be where I will stay. Patricia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
1.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House

Address: 20 Barbican Road, York YO10 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £76 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barbican House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Family run Victorian Guest House overlooking the famous medieval City Walls of York. All our rooms are individually decorated to compliment the charm and character of the Victorian period but with but with luxury bathroom facilities. Our rooms are en-suite and have double glazing, central heating, ceiling fans, radio/alarm, Wide screen TV/DVD, tea and coffee making facilities and chocolate biscuits with a complimentary decanter of Sherry, 500 meters to City Centre and 800 to York University. We have 4 King size en-suite rooms, 1 twin en-suite rooms, 2 double en-suite rooms and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Barbican House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbican House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing