We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice guest house - first class”
Review of Barbican House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barbican House
Ranked #30 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very good location just outside the city wall, 5-10 mins walk to shops and restaurants. Recommend Totos to dine at, lovely Italian just the other side of the Barbican Centre, Ann will fill you in on more details - she's great by the way. The breakfast was excellent (thank you Adrian), fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, full English and much more. Room 5 was lovely, comfortable, clean, warm with additional extras to make your stay that bit more comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here and will be back again. Thanks again for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My Boyfriend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Barbican House. We are a young couple (20 and 21) but enjoyed our stay here as much as anyone else. Adrian and Ann are very welcoming and ensure you feel comfortable. Adrian recommended some restaurants and bars upon arrival and marked them on a map. We stayed in Room 7 and loved it. It was at the front of the B&B so it was directly on the roadside, although this was not a problem. It is also ground floor room so no stairs to climb. The bed was extremely comfy!! We had full English breakfasts both mornings and they were lovely. There were also cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurts and fresh orange to choose from too.
Barbican House is literally a 3 minute walk to Barbican Centre. It was only a 10 minute walk into the centre too. Just down from Barbican Centre was an Italian Restuarant called 'Totos' which Adrian recommended to us, we ate there on Saturday night and it was delicious. If you mention you are staying at Barbican House you will receive 10% off the bill too.
On our final day we visited York dungeons which is only a 15/20 minute walk from Barbican House and although we had checked out, Adrian offered for me to leave my car on the driveway to save spending money on car parks in the centre. The driveway is at the side of Barbican House and has CCTV so no need to worry about that!
All in all, we will definitely stay here next time we visit York, without a doubt!!

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor, room 7. It was roadside, although the traffic is not that heavy on this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were at an event at the Barbican but almost couldnt make it so only looked for accommodation at the last minute and had remembered this B&B had received good reviews so we emailed, and got an extremely fast and helpful response from Adrian. We stayed 1 night only, and had room 8 the annexe room, at a very reasonable rate. Adrian emailed almost immediately, and I then spoke to him on the phone to confirm, he was extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable (about the nearby venue, timings etc) and professional, even recommending somewhere to eat before we even arrived. The directions made it easy to find in the dark, and we were delighted with the room, which is spacious, comfortable, spotless, and has an incredibly well stocked and welcome hospitality tray! We had a very comfortable night, yes there is a little bit of road/pedestrian traffic noise but not overly intrusive, so didn't spoil our stay at all, and the location is perfect, both for the Barbican (literally a stone's throw) but great also for the centre - it took us about 5-10 minutes walk. Breakfast was excellent, cooked just right, lots of choice, and lots of extra little touches and thank you to Ann who's attention to detail and friendliness was lovely. We will definitely be booking again, perhaps for a couple of nights to explore and shop and recommend Barbican House without hesitation.

Room Tip: Annexe 8 separate from main building, obvious advantage to us was that it was nice and private, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed just one night as we were in York for the Brian Ferry concert at the Barbican. The B/ B was perfect location for the venue.
We check in rather early as I had a full days shopping to fit in this was not an issue at all for the hosts,very friendly service throughout our stay.
The rooms are spacious very clean and everything you could possibly need for a restful night in York.
Wonderful breakfast cooked to perfection
Nothing to stop anyone not wanting to stay again well done.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This location was picked out for its close proximity to the Barbican centre. Found it very easy to get to and ideally located for the city centre, as five minutes walk and in the centre. Our hosts were very helpful as arrived early than check in time and let us in our room, they were very knowledgable about places to eat. The room that we had was great it was spotless and there was a very high standard of cleanliness. The decor was not to my taste but don't let this put you off, I loved the complimentary sherry. The rooms were warm and beds really comfortable, I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast had already preordered on arrival for the cooked breakfast. The breakfast was perfect and plenty. They had a great selection of cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit etc. cooked breakfast was with us within 5 minutes , very timely. The slight drawback at breakfast was that it was very quiet in the room and cold have done with some background music within the room itself. Prices for the b&b very competitive with others, overall for the location and ease of getting there makes this a great place to stop and there is free car parking .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serene-View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spotlessly clean, very accommodating hosts. We were here to see Alison Moyet (fantastic as always as is her Minutes album) at the Barbican centre & Barbican House is 2 minutes away & also next to "Walmgate" which will take you into town in under 10 minutes. We arrived early so we could see York too. Free car-parking provided as standard. Ann recommended Toto's restaurant (Italian) which was also very good value. The rooms were "nipping clean" with complimentary sherry as a nice touch. Unlike several "4/5**" hotels - there was plenty of tea/coffes/chocolate & choccie biccies. The ensuite toiletries were high quality too. Beds very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Breakfast was an extra £10 but well worth it - full breakfast was top quality, no cheap sausages or bacon. The lighter breakfast also included fresh fruit & a choice of muffins,danish pastries & Eccles cakes. We can't recommend this too highly & will certainly return.

Room Tip: Splash out & get a kingsize room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Impeccably clean throughout, stayed in room 5 which was beautifully presented. Lots of nice little touches, such as a crystal sherry decanter primed and ready to go when we got to our room.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, we were late arriving and they waited for us, even though they were due to go out (to Sarah millican gig which we were also going to! Adrian and anne are braver than us, they were sitting on the front row right on front of Sarah). Everything they did was friendly and efficient.
Excellent selection for breakfast and the service was excellent too. The cooked breakfast was done however you like it to a very high standard.
Although it is a 5 to 10 minute walk to York city centre it is literally a 1 minute walk to the barbican centre, so you can't fault the location either.
All in all, really enjoyed our stay, will definately be staying there again next time we visit York!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonol2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
0.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.3 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#34 of 194 in York
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House

Address: 20 Barbican Road, York YO10 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barbican House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Family run Victorian Guest House overlooking the famous medieval City Walls of York. All our rooms are individually decorated to compliment the charm and character of the Victorian period but with but with luxury bathroom facilities. Our rooms are en-suite and have double glazing, central heating, ceiling fans, radio/alarm, Wide screen TV/DVD, tea and coffee making facilities and chocolate biscuits with a complimentary decanter of Sherry, 500 meters to City Centre and 800 to York University. We have 4 King size en-suite rooms, 1 twin en-suite rooms, 2 double en-suite rooms and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Barbican House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbican House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing