We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, great staff, super food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #41 of 192 York B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great staff, super food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Not for those seeking the usual bog standard Hotel .What a wonderful " lodging house" this turned out to be! Although our room (No 5) was compact it was "beautifully formed" with a French bed , superb en suite with a great shower, Large flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.Fresh towels daily.

The location of the Hotel cant be beaten right in the heart of the City next door to the Minster and very close to the shops.

The decor is perfect, original floorboards and period looking textiles, the dining room is lit by the original gas lamps and candles and is very atmospheric!.
What made the stay special however, were the staff who were all absolutely lovely and so helpful.The dinner menu was very good and very resonable. We had crab salad and fish and chips the first night and there was too much to eat and the fish was SO fresh.
Breakfasts also very big with a large selection of choices available.

Because parking is a short walk away it is best to drive to the front of the Minster and deliver luggage to the hotel which is a few staps away in a pedestrian area (someone needs to stay with the car). That said once parked you can forget the car and just enjoy the city on foot.

I would DEFINATELY visit this Hotel again. I absolutely LOVED IT!

Room Tip: I believe that they have rooms of all standards and sizes, if you want space 5 may not suit but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    422
    202
    103
    51
See reviews for
160
875
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at the Guy Fawkes with a wedding party and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We took a lot of rooms so had a look in a number of room and they all looked to be as individual and as good as my own (No11). The staff were very very firendly and helpful indeed and the breakfasts were wonderful.

The bed was very confortable and I slept like a log.

One very small minus point, we ate late and when we finished or main course, asked if we could have a cheese board. This apparently want possible as the chef had gone home (at about 9.15). Is this really "late" and surely somebody could have cut us some cheese and got a few crackers. Minor complaint on what is an excellent venue.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW18Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at the GFI when we attended a friends wedding at The Merchant Adventurers Hall. We visit York on a regular basis and have had a drink in the GFI on a regualr basis and love it's cosy original charm. We've been looking for an excuse to stay over for quite some time. The check in process was easy and the staff member was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was full of charm and exactly what we expected, wonky floors, lovely orignal fireplace high ceilings and sash windows. We didn't have a view of the Minster, but we hadn't requested one so that was expected, however the view over the courtyard and the rooftops of York was still very charming. The bathroom was small and basic. Exactly what was expected for the price, location and theme of the property. The only slight critisism is that it could have been a little bit cleaner. A couple of bits found on the floor from the previous occupants e.g. a saftey pin. Just needed a little bit more attention to detail.
We came back from the wedding in the early hours and was greeted by the night porter who was happy to supply us with bottles of water which were added to our bill. It was a very hot weekend, so we slept with the window open. I was awoken by the Sunday morning ringing of the Minster bells. My partner wasn't, but he could sleep through anything! The location (being in the shadow of the minster) means this is something to be expected and I think adds an authenticity to the stay.
Breakfast was fabulous - prompt and fresh.
My partner and I are waiting for another excuse to return. Our hopes were high about the GFI and we were not dissapointed.
Warning to other travellers - if you are expecting a modern hotel and don't want to be woken by the charming bells of the minster then don't stay here. The GFI does exactly what it says on the tin so I'm always very surprised to see negative reviews from people who are expecting the opposite!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine11982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found this hotel initially on tripadvisor. We first considered staying in a budget hotel chain but found the Guy Fawkes Inn to be better value, especially due to the location.
We arrived at York railway station about 12.30pm, it only took us 10 minutes by foot to find the hotel. With it being right next to the York Minster, it was very easy to find.
The kind and courteous staff put our luggage away until the room was ready at 2pm so we returned and had been put in room 9 which is at the back of the inn overlooking the courtyard. This was the executive double room that we had booked. The room was very clean and beautifully furnished/decorated.
The service we received at the inn during our 2-night stay was fantastic. The breakfast was good and there was no noise at night at all so had no problem sleeping.
We found so much to do in York. We would recommend York for a city break, and also recommend the Guy Fawkes Inn.
As we had to check out at 11am and our train was not until 5.30pm, the staff kindly locked our luggage away until it was time to leave.
We wished we would have stayed longer as there was so much more we could have done in York. We would recommend the 'Yorkshire Pass' if you intend on going to a lot of the sights/museums. We probably saved ourselves in the region of £50 between the two of us by buying the passes and got to queue jump a couple of times.
The free Railway Museum is well worth a visit and we really enjoyed the York Dungeons. Much better than we expected. The Yorkshire Museum and York Castle Museum were also excellent.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and I wouldn't be put off by staying above a pub again. It had great history and character that you may not find in a more modern place, along with the personal touches

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oneils08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have just returned from the Guy Fawkes Inn........... Location was brilliant, right in the heart of York............. fabulous accomodation, we were in room 5, apparently the whole building is haunted..............all the staff were telling us what they had witnessed............The hotel has lots of history and atmosphere, on arriving the bar area was packed, dropped the bags off and then went to park the car, it's a good 5 minutes walk................ room very clean, no view from our room which was dissapointing but didn't stop us having a good time............. food excellent................. York well it's a brilliant quaint, steeped in history and we would definitely return and to the guy fawkes too and my boyfriend wants to stay in room 10 to hopefully see a ghost or two.............................all staff were a credit to the management and nothing was too much trouble.
Thanks to you all and hopefully see you in the not too distant future............

Room Tip: just go and enjoy the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

A beautiful old building in the very heart of York city centre. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfy and welcoming, the bathrooms immaculately clean. The whole building is so steeped in atmosphere and history, set off wonderfully by the candles and gas lighting. The quality of the cask beers in the bar is superb and the breakfast is top notch.

Couldn't fault the place and will return as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for a Minster view. Rooms at the back can be a bit noisy until the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were looking for a hotel with a bit of character and this fit the bill perfectly, located in the shadow of York Minster we were a 2 minute walk away from the main shopping areas of York and the must see attractions. Upon arrival the lady behind the bar was extremely helpful in giving us directions to the nearest car park and sorted out our permits. Our room (7) had a four poster bed and our view was York Minster, what more can you ask for! Everything was clean and well stocked, we were even allowed to borrow umbrellas when we ventured out into the rain. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! service was great, really attentive. One tip: You must try the black pudding. I'd definitely recommend this hotel, my only regret is that we didn't stay for dinner in the evening, but we can always go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing