We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #41 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

What a gem! What a delight! The Guy Faulkes Inn in York is a gorgeous hotel and although I haven't stayed yet, the staff kindly showed me a selection of the rooms and they were all stunning! The staff were professional, friendly and very accomodating, I know where I'll be recommending for our wedding guests next year, perfect setting, great location and well priced.

Room Tip: Car park is a 5 min walk, so bring a case on wheels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    416
    200
    103
    52
See reviews for
157
863
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Guy Fawkes in for 3 nights for my partners 40th birthday. It has great character. The atmosphere was great. Staff were very efficient. The room we stayed in (room 5) was small but lovely and very clean. The only draw back about the room is that you can hear the goings on in the kitchen first thing in the morning, so we didn't need an alarm clock!! All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and will definately be going back!

Room Tip: Room 5 is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Fantastic location and great view of the Minster. We had a room at the front of the hotel with a four-poster bed. Breakfast was adequate, food was great in the restaurant but, unfortunately, they stopped taking bookings at 9pm. Very helpful staff. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelstephens60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great Location, just outside the Minster, The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and well furnished but a little small(room 5), The atmosphere is amazing and the candle lit dining room was wonderful. Only negative was we found the food not to be fantastic on this occasion however it was reasonably priced and the overall experience made up for it, We would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody !!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was compact but well furnished with excellent shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Not for those seeking the usual bog standard Hotel .What a wonderful " lodging house" this turned out to be! Although our room (No 5) was compact it was "beautifully formed" with a French bed , superb en suite with a great shower, Large flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.Fresh towels daily.

The location of the Hotel cant be beaten right in the heart of the City next door to the Minster and very close to the shops.

The decor is perfect, original floorboards and period looking textiles, the dining room is lit by the original gas lamps and candles and is very atmospheric!.
What made the stay special however, were the staff who were all absolutely lovely and so helpful.The dinner menu was very good and very resonable. We had crab salad and fish and chips the first night and there was too much to eat and the fish was SO fresh.
Breakfasts also very big with a large selection of choices available.

Because parking is a short walk away it is best to drive to the front of the Minster and deliver luggage to the hotel which is a few staps away in a pedestrian area (someone needs to stay with the car). That said once parked you can forget the car and just enjoy the city on foot.

I would DEFINATELY visit this Hotel again. I absolutely LOVED IT!

Room Tip: I believe that they have rooms of all standards and sizes, if you want space 5 may not suit but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at the Guy Fawkes with a wedding party and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We took a lot of rooms so had a look in a number of room and they all looked to be as individual and as good as my own (No11). The staff were very very firendly and helpful indeed and the breakfasts were wonderful.

The bed was very confortable and I slept like a log.

One very small minus point, we ate late and when we finished or main course, asked if we could have a cheese board. This apparently want possible as the chef had gone home (at about 9.15). Is this really "late" and surely somebody could have cut us some cheese and got a few crackers. Minor complaint on what is an excellent venue.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW18Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at the GFI when we attended a friends wedding at The Merchant Adventurers Hall. We visit York on a regular basis and have had a drink in the GFI on a regualr basis and love it's cosy original charm. We've been looking for an excuse to stay over for quite some time. The check in process was easy and the staff member was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was full of charm and exactly what we expected, wonky floors, lovely orignal fireplace high ceilings and sash windows. We didn't have a view of the Minster, but we hadn't requested one so that was expected, however the view over the courtyard and the rooftops of York was still very charming. The bathroom was small and basic. Exactly what was expected for the price, location and theme of the property. The only slight critisism is that it could have been a little bit cleaner. A couple of bits found on the floor from the previous occupants e.g. a saftey pin. Just needed a little bit more attention to detail.
We came back from the wedding in the early hours and was greeted by the night porter who was happy to supply us with bottles of water which were added to our bill. It was a very hot weekend, so we slept with the window open. I was awoken by the Sunday morning ringing of the Minster bells. My partner wasn't, but he could sleep through anything! The location (being in the shadow of the minster) means this is something to be expected and I think adds an authenticity to the stay.
Breakfast was fabulous - prompt and fresh.
My partner and I are waiting for another excuse to return. Our hopes were high about the GFI and we were not dissapointed.
Warning to other travellers - if you are expecting a modern hotel and don't want to be woken by the charming bells of the minster then don't stay here. The GFI does exactly what it says on the tin so I'm always very surprised to see negative reviews from people who are expecting the opposite!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine11982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guy Fawkes Inn stands next to York Minster and was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guy Fawkes. The Inn offers 4-star rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and home-cooked, AA Rosette food. Decorate with antique furniture and Italian fabrics, the rooms feature handmade beds, tea/coffee making facilities and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries from H2K of Harrogate. Many rooms have views of York Minster, the city or the courtyard towards the rear of the Inn where Guy Fawkes was born. The Guy Fawkes Inn retains many original features including the timber staircase, gas lighting and real log fires. Dine by candlelight in the Inn's restaurant, which serves traditional pub-food using locally sourced ingredients. The bar stocks a wide range of real ales and a broad selection of wines. The world famous Ghost Walk leaves every night just around the corner. York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are both just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing