We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - Steak and Ale pie to die for”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #40 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed 1 night after reading the other reviews I asked for a quiet room which was lovely, well equipped and quirky at the same time. It was also spotlessly clean with a good selection of beverages and toiletries.
We ate in the restaurant and both opted to go for the steak and ale pie missing starters altogether this was a great choice the pastry case just melted in your mouth as did the wonderful filling.
The breakfast the following morning was cooked to our taste. The staff were very efficient but friendly and polite too. Will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54foodaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

A lovely historic hotel. We went for a two night sight seeing trip in York and the location was perfect, right next to the minster....you can hear the bells from the hotel room.
The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant and one of the best breakfasts I've had for a while!!
Only downside was the room we stayed in looked out to the courtyard so felt I had to keep the curtains closed as staff / guests / pub customers could look in and see us.
Would definatly stay again but would request a room not over looking the courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed one night at the Guy Fawkes Inn mid-week, and for what we paid (£85) I think it was extremely good value for money. You cannot fault the location- right opposite the Minster and seconds away from some of York's fantastic shops, pubs and restaurants. There was slight confusion about where to go when we first got there, there is no reception as such, just an open door behind the bar which we loitered at for a few minutes before someone saw to us.
We were then shown to our room which was in an outside beer garden/courtyard up some steps..it was sold as a 'petit double' but I'd say it was more than adequate in size- a huge king size bed, single wardrobe, TV, chest complete with a wide selection of teas, coffees and biscuists and a bathroom with complimentary Aromatherapy Associates toiletries and a double shower. It was quirky and in keeping with the olde worlde style of the hotel, and incredibly clean. We did have intermittent signal on our TV but I'm sure anyone would agree you don't go to York to watch TV!!
Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of cold and hot choices and the staff were extremely friendly. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here when visiting York- and if you're after a romantic candle lit pub to chat the night away then definitely stop off here, the ambience is gorgeous.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just got back from Guy Fawkes Inn after a 3 night stay over the Jubilee weekend. First impressions are so important and upon being shown to our room (No 5) we felt quite disappointed. We booked this break in September 2011 direct with Guy Fawkes and booked an executive double, room 5 is infact a petite double, so petite in fact that as someone else has already mentioned you had to turn sideways to get past the bottom of the bed to the chest of drawers and window, there is no wardrobe in the room, just a space with 6 hangers and the chest of drawers whilst impressive to look at, only the two small top drawers opened. The bed was comfortable enough. The breakfast on the 1st day was good, piping hot although sausages very "pink", only seemed to be cooked on one side, the 2nd morning, the breakfast was at best luke warm. good points - the bedroom and en-suite was very clean, clean towels every day and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they are infact a credit to the Inn. It was very noisy late into the night but this is too be expected staying in a pub with rooms and we obviously knew it would be so no complaints here but something to bear in mind for others who prefer an early night. To anybody thinking of staying here, enquire what room they are planning on booking you into and request it is not room No 5.

Room Tip: dont stay in room no 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiffens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The room was full of character and charm. It was full of gorgeous furniture and possibly the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, We will be returning soon,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simsandsutton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

8 of us stayed here for the weekend to celebrate my sisters birthday. Rooms are spacious and clean the only downside being the kitchen fan which can be heard in all the rooms at the rear of the house and in the courtyard rooms. However does go off around 11, but starts up again when the kitchen opens for breakfast. This was the only 'niggle'. In a fantastic location opposite the Minster. The lighting in the main part of the Inn is provided by candles and gas lighting, which makes it really atmospheric. There is a great selection of ale and wine and the food was excellent, we had an evening meal, breakfasts and Sunday lunch and all were faultless and great value - hats off to the chef. The staff were attentive and pleasant and we all had such a good time we are looking to go back later in the year

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a one night stay here in April as a birthday treat from my boyfriend. The room was gorgeous. We were in the room directly above reception which had great views over the Minster. We arrived in York a few hours before check in time but the staff were very accommodating and let us leave our suitcase while we had a look around. The breakfast is out of this world and they make their own home made black pudding which is definitely worth a try!!! Would recommend - well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hewy8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £104 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing