We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the ambience!!!”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #44 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved the ambience!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

if you love the quaint and old fashioned.....you'l love this place....cosy bar and friendly staff..with a very helpful manager who clearly knows his job!!! the room was brilliant ...cosy four poster with crisp white sheets...view of the minister which you could almost touch..the evening bells added to the ambience! evening in the gas lite bar relaxing...and breakfast by candle lite ...this felt like a night in a national trust property and i cant wait to go back!! ok the parking is a walk away (but theres the option of dropping your bags 1st) and its not quite....but then you are in a city!!!!!?

Room Tip: choose a room on the front opposite the minister!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    435
    211
    109
    55
See reviews for
169
917
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were all very disappointed with this hotel, mostly because of how noisy it was but also because of few other things.

We had two rooms booked for a two nights stay. It wasn't a problem that there wasn't a reception (just one end of a bar) or that several staff walked passed us without saying anything to us. Once we did get served, the lady was very nice and helpful.

The rooms were okay but our room was right next to the court yard, or more like it was IN the courtyard. The noise was horrendous! You basically have around thirty drunk people shouting, laughing at the top of their lungs, and smoking right outside your window. You will hear every conversation that is going on whether you like it or not, which was rather unfortunate considering the topics were very vulgar indeed. Although we were told that the court yard closes at half 10, there were plenty of people out there well beyond that time. I felt even more sorry for my mother who had the room above the bar, apparently the noise went on well past midnight.

As if the courtyard and bar noise wasn't bad enough, when they were gone, we had the pleasure of the kitchen extractor fan buzzing almost constantly. That was delightfully peppered by the thuds of people's footsteps above you thanks to very thin ceilings.

The housekeeping was terrible, as mugs were left with lot of stains. I think they just rinsed them out rather than wash them properly. None of the toiletries were refilled, and at £175 a night, I would expect them to replace three small tubes of toiletries.

The rooms are nice and the location excellent, but we all vowed never to stay here again. I've stayed at the premier inn down the road at third of the price and had a considerably better night's sleep.

Room Tip: I don't think any room will be far away enough from the bar and court yard to give you a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Had a meal here over the weekend very tasty enjoy going here when in York never fails very old quaint building gets very busy but well worth a visit and as a real ale drinker does have some cracking beers didnt book a room here as just a day trip

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

If you are looking for a modern hotel with wi fi, satellite tv, swimming pool etc then don't visit the Guy Fawkes Inn!! This hotel is packed with Olde World charm, quirky interior and bags of character. The ground floor is lit by original gas light and candles, the floors slope and floor boards creak and it is absolutely brilliant. Planning laws have benefited the building as it hasn't been modernised and spoilt. The rooms are clean and serviced very well, a credit to the housekeeping staff. The breakfast consists of freshly baked pastries, cereals, fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast. If you like black pudding the chef's home made is extremely tasty. The food on offer is also excellent, well cooked and presented and very good value for money. If you are brave take on the steak and ale & mushroom pie - to die for. All in all not your every day location but if you are after same old same old stay at a travel lodge or premier inn. If you want different, a taste of history, friendly staff and excellent food then this is the place.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best view of the minster but do have some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Ooooh they're getting some poor reviews now, after being so highly praised for a long time!
It's so easy to find fault with something (and our one night stay was not faultless) but you have to remember that this is an Inn, not a classy hotel. Plus points are of course the location, unless you want to moan about parking....the age and general quirkiness of the building, unless you want to moan about it being dark and wonky......the food, unless you now get the idea.
We were in room 8 which overlooks the Minster. Small, but nicely appointed with four poster. Underwhelmed by the shower room, but they don't have much space to work with. Some outside noise (the draymen deliver early) but you must expect some in the city centre. TV was only properly tuned to music channels(?) which I forgot to mention at check-out, as it was not important (to me) Late Sunday lunch was very good, their "famed" roast beef was ok, and the shortcrust pie v-e-r-y filling. Friendly young staff and good service, it's quite informal and relaxed.
Breakfast was good, nothing fancy, fruit-yoghurt-juice-cereal-toast-full Yorkshire-bacon sarnie.
Questions are being asked about value for money...well it's a difficult one....but I have paid more for worse....and less for better.
Just try it, and soak up the atmosphere, you may even have an unseen guest join you as we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn, York and from the website the Belfry Suite looked just the ticket. We were greeted with a friendly smile on arrival and were really looking forward to our stay. Unfortunately the suite did not live up to its AA**** rating. There were several problems dirty sink, stained scatter cushions, a lot of dust, an old ironing board with a massive hole which looked dreadful, cobwebs, fraying curtains and generally grubby and dirty, not what we were expecting at all for a room costing £199.00. To be fair after discussion with the Manager the room rate was reduced by almost half. We were expecting 4* accommodation but were sadly disspointed. Not worth the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

On arrival at 12:30 we tried to book at table for our evening meal to be told it was full because a murder mystery event was on. Later when Ben the manager showed us out room which was number 10 we were able to book a table because the up take for the event was not full. Lesson for the Inn you should always make tables available for residents. I have read the other comments on room 10 which I have to disagree with, the bathroom was big but bare of any character, no where to put your wash bag and no pictures on walls. the bedroom lacked night blinds so woke with sun rise. The bedroom was clean but small things like tea cups and bedside lights not matching.
Breakfast and the evening meal was good but dining room floor was dirty and I mean dirty from the event the night before. Perhaps they cannot see the floor under candle light. All staff were friendly and helpful. Use the parking vouchers as its half the price of the actually pay and display car park.
I am always honest in my reviews and for some reason this place just did not do it for me but great location and great food. At £130 I expect better

Room Tip: See if you can view first to pick one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#31 of 193 in York
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#47 of 193 in York
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing