We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary spoiled”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Hi my wife and I booked a deluxe room in this hotel for our 35th wedding anniversary nov 12 for two nights
We thought it would be something special how wrong we were
We where given room 1 far from been deluxe it had a second bed in it floor was dirty and no soaps or anything in bathroom plus overlooking a courtyard and a large extractor fan from kitchen.
The hotel itself did not seem to have any atmosphere
The next day we decided to look around York and came back to hotel about 2pm afternoon only to be greeted by a workman saying are you in room 1 just we are working in there at moment fitting new shower screen we contacted manager
Only to be told he knew nothing of the work to be done in our room and was as confused as us
Then we stated we booked a deluxe room they apologised and refunded us 1 night accommodation and breakfast
We were just glad to get out of hotel on the Wednesday morning.

Room Tip: Phone before booking as all bookings go through they sister hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Guy Fawkes Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Me & my boyfriend saw this place one night and thought it was closed as it was very dark inside, but we could see gas lamps and candles glowing so one night we called in for a drink and it was just as dark inside as it was outside. The atmosphere was quite spooky but it was good.Wolud have liked to have stayed in the hotel as it was opposite the Minster and a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kezza064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Wow this place is amazing! It has so much charm and in such a great location! Our room was room 3 - a 4 poster room overlooking the Minster. Truly fantastic, comfy, luxurious, brilliant staff.

The bar is great and breakfast was fabulous.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the 4 posters.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent 2 nights in room 8, a fourposter room overlooking Petersgate and the Minster.
Comfortable clean room furnished with antiques, great views. It is a city centre hotel, so there was some noise from taxis, road cleaner etc. If you are a light sleeper this may not be for you. So saying, on the 2nd night we slept likes babies.
The bar & restaurant are lit by gas light and candles - very atmospheric. Be sure to book ahead if your want to eat in the restaurant as it gets very busy, and don't miss the steak and ale pie.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel clearly has a few maintenance issues - one of our bedroom lights was missing due to wiring problems and the smell from the gents public loo lingered round the bar. This is a shame as it does detract from the overall experiance but I would still book again. It's not a cookie-cutter hotel so be prepared to forgive it for a few quirks.

Room Tip: Go 'old school' and call the hotel when booking rather than via the internet. The rooms are...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Numberwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were in the 'Belfry' in the attic space. A couple of flights of stairs, with another up to the attic. Spacious room, seperate bathroom and living Room, original features and tastefully decorated. Ceiling very low so if you are over 5ft 4 you will need to bow your head in most places! But as we were pretty much there only for sleeping, this wasn't a problem. It is right next to the minster, next to a few more pubs/bars so can be noisy at night, but this settled once pubs started to close, however, you don't get traffic noise as its not situated on a main thro road. Food wise, we only had breakfast, full English which was ok.
Handy location, clean and spacious, nice food, not bad value for money and staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The suite, in the large attic space, great esp for a treat!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A friend mentioned this place as it has old style gas lights, we decided to have a look and maybe eat there too. It was busy at 6pm (Friday) and the restaurant was full but we booked a table and came back - we were not disappointed! The food is delicious here, staff are friendly and very quick, cannot fault it. I would highly recommend, even if you just pop in for a beer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HannahKLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My husband is from near York and we used to live in York, so were aware of the Guy Fawkes as a very atmospheric place to drink and in a great location. We always said we wanted to stay here, so on 28 October we did! We had booked a couple of months before, and asked for a four poster room, which we got. (Room 4). It was a lovely, comfy room and bed, atmospheric creaky sloping floors and overlooking High Petergate and The Minster.

Bit noisy during the night (road cleaner, taxis) then early morning traffic, but but all in all a lovely stay and a good breakfast. (Sadly no ghosts, though a couple of 'orbs' showed up on photos we took in our room!) Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsalmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 194 in York
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £102 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing