We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and steeped in history”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #39 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner and found the hotel to be lovely. Very friendly staff when we checked in and at breakfast. Opportunity for late checkout at no extra charge which was welcomed! Location was perfect, literally across the road from the impressive York Minster, and the interior of the pub was very atmospheric and historical (although if you like light, airy spaces this is possibly not for you..it's lit by candlelight at all times!)
We stayed in a room over the courtyard which was very pretty, if slightly open to the public. Curtains were kept closed most of the time as anybody sat in the beer courtyard would be able to see in. However, the management did take care to stop people going out there at night to avoid noise etc. Room was well equipped, bathroom great, particularly the hot and powerful double shower.
Only downsides: the room was perhaps over a kitchen/boiler room as it was VERY hot (even on a not-so-warm day.) This obviously made for a disturbed night's sleep. The window only opened very slightly, but a fan was provided which we had on at all times.
The breakfast buffet was also disappointing; we arrived 45minutes before the end of service to find no fruit, yoghurts and only one dry croissant. However, the hot breakfast was gorgeous - homemade black pudding is a must!
Overall I'd definitely recommend this lovely hotel for a night or two in York, but any longer perhaps not.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelQueen139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thankyou for this review,
Its wonderful to receive such good feedback.
unfortunately some of our guests do not always embrace the character and charm we feel we offer here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the fact you would recommend us to friends.
i will be addressing the breakfast matter that you have brought to my attention and will make sure that it does not happen in the future.
hope to see you again soon
kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Could be an excellent hotel if it were managed better and cleaned. Staff appear inexperienced and unsupervised. "Cleaners" are allowed to have frequent tea and smoke breaks outside in the "courtyard," apparently at will. Food is fine up to a point but little attempt is made to provide healthy alternatives. In communal areas the floors are dirty and untidy. Pamphlets are left in an untidy heap. In the backyard, weeds are even left to grow out of door frames, pigeons are left to roam free, and mess from them is everywhere, There is rarely enough hot water in the wash hand basins let alone the showers. The main problems could be solved by a good housekeeper, someone who actually notices dirt throughout including the rooms and bathrooms. The staff need to be trained. Beware the church bells at the nearby Minster.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you expect at least a normal level of cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastJames007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Well, my husband and I booked this hotel, fully aware of its location so we knew we would be extremely central. However, our room was stated as 'EXECUTIVE', on entering it we were hugely disappointed with the size, no carpets only wooden floor, & a few inches between the end of the bed/wall! There was however.....a double shower which was lovely. The food in the restaurant was very nice but bit pricey, also, breakfast is highly recommended for service, not the full english though! Far too sparing! There is a courtyard for smokers which was rather convenient. This pub/hotel has had high recommendations by visitors, but as the rooms are above a pub there is not much peace and quiet until at least an hour after last orders! Bear in mind also....if you plan on getting an early night the bells from York Minster (which is right on the doorstep) will possibly be ringing until around 9.30pm. Would stay in York again, but not here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidinkent58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for your review.
unfortunatley it is to be expected that when staying in a centrally located inn right next to the biggest tourist attraction in the city, you will experience the sound of the minster bells. In my opinion this adds to the charm and character of our establishment. Maybe next time you visit you could always upgrade on your room to one of our deluxe or four poster room that have more space, although i feel our executive room are more than adequatly sized.
kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here on 27th May for a night away in York. The location is great and the staff were really helpful and friendly. When we arrived they took our bags so we could park. Our room was clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the Minster! The hotel is quirky and has a welcoming atmosphere, it was really nice to stay somewhere that has history and character. The breakfast was yummy and we were able to leave our bags after we checked out so we could spend the rest of the day in York.
Overall a great experience, we will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We would all like to say a huge thank you from us here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we stayed here may the 24th for one nite as a birthday treat , the location was great however the hotel is in need of a good clean and the manager needs to learn how to plan his staffing correctly , the room was very basic and the shower in the evening was cold !!!! The bar area is very small so as a resident it is very difficult to find anywhere to sit and enjoy a drink , the only times that we were offered to have a evening meal were 6.30 and 9.30 as a resident you would think you would get priority , we booked for 9.30 and the food wasnt that great !!!! Breakfast - what a disaster a full house and one poor young lad serving (bh weekend i put this down to bad planning on the managers side)the tables hadnt been cleared when we went down the lad tried his hardest however it was very shocking that the manager was there and he wasnt helping out at this busy time , we ended up eating at a table that had food particles on from the previous guests as there was no time for him clean them as he needed a few extra pairs of hands (talk about running a ship tight) the cooked breakfast was okay but could have been better the restaurant area looked out over the yard so whilst eating breakfast you were watching the cleaners clean the yard , they were very scruffy and in need of a good wash themselves , no wonder the hotel is in the state it is in with house keepers like this, if thast what you call them .
Overall dont waste your money it needs a good clean a new manager then it may be half way there ,the pics on the website are misleading and staged to attract the customer !!!!!!
However 12/10 to the young lad serving breakfast on the morning of may 25th he did his best and was probably not recognised for this !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t666han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

i would like to offer my apologies, this has not been the greatest of weekends for us here, due to staff illness, which has left us very short staffed, which i assume you may not of taken into consideration before writing this, just assuming that this is how we operate.
i would like to make you aware that here at The Guy Fawkes Inn we have our customers needs at the top of our priorities. unfortunately this weekends situation has been unavoidable.
if you would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to discuss this with me directly.
As i am sure we can rectify this situation.
kind regards
Shane Wood
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

First time in York and we chose a good hotel, great location right next to the minster and in the centre with walking distance to the many shops, attractions and restaurants. The room was clean and the bed comfortable , we used the restaurant in the hotel and the food was good but a little art on a plate, our breakfast was nice and of a good standard, the staff were very friendly and attentive but the lack of training did show when serving food as I was nearly scolded with a hot coffee pot when the waiter lent across to serve coffee to my wife, this aside it was a very nice stay and would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalkstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks for the great review.
hope to see you again in the future
Shane Wood
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

stopped in a fourposter bedroom at the guy fawkes inn,which was superb,the hotel is great,full hotelof atmosphere and charm,couldnt fault anything really,this is not a hilton style hotel,and its an old building,thats the point,excellent place

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpooldoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

From us all here at The Guy Fawkes Inn, a very big thankyou for your awesome review.
hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £102 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing