We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #41 of 205 York B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

for the 2 night stay we had the room was excellent, the food excellent and the service from the staff was very polite and extremely helpful. would certainly recommend this hotel.The location was right in the centre so within walking distance to all shops,cafes,bars,museums and majotity of what York has to offer

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seve1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
thankyou very much for this great review.
we hope to welcome you bacck in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    415
    200
    103
    52
See reviews for
157
862
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but we did book a table for a meal. It is located next door to the minster and the atmosphere was lovely, felt like a proper tavern, with lots of candle lit tables. The food was perfect, I ordered the belly pork and black pudding to start, which was just the right amount and for main course steak and ale pie - the pastry practically melted in my mouth. Great value for money, will definately be back. Also very convenient to be able to book through toptable.com

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby_Prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
such a great review.
thankyou for your good words.
hope to see you again in the near future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here in the Guy Fawlkes inn for three nights in October 2012. Upon our arrival,the staff greeted us warmly making us feel very welcome. Our case was carried up to our room on the second floor for us while we checked in. Beware! The stairs are very old and slope to the left making it quite a challenge to reach the second floor. Our room was number six overlooking the rear of the property with old sash windows and dark painted floorboards. We liked the taste in decor! The food in the restaurant is excellent and the dark walls with candles lends itself well to an atmosphere of a bygone era. If you're fit enough to manage the stairs then you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking York Minster and preferably on the first floor! Though if you can manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmacsmallfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
thanyou for your wonderful review.
would love to see you again in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We've just stayed at tge Guy Fawkes Inn in lovely room 7 & really enjoyed it. The location is superb ..our room looked directly on the magnificent Minster. The staff are extremely courteous & obliging. The character & ambience of the Inn is unique & a pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
great review!
thanks from us all here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
seee you again soon.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Guy Fawkes Inn is located across the street from York Minster which is picturesque from the front rooms, however can be a bit noisy on the weekend. There is alot of street noise from late night revellers (including those in the bar downstairs) and also the church bells, but what it makes in noise, it makes up for in character. This is the place where Guy Fawkes was born and apparently the home to plenty of ghosts. While we didn't spot any while we there, we certainly could feel the history and age of the place. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, beds are large doubles, some 4 poster and the sloping floor and heavy drapes give an old Victorian feel to the rooms. The staff are friendly, and constantly busy. The small bar downstairs becomes crammed in the evenings and their is live music on a Sunday night (you won't go to bed early on a sunday night). The hotel is located a stones throw from the old town walls, the shambles and all shops, cafes and pubs - so is perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thankyou for your review.
really appreciate the positive feedback.
hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I, stayed here for one night on 8th June for his 30th birthday. It was wonderful!

We had a four poster room which was gorgeous! The roll top bath was lovely too. We thought it had so much character, and would definitely recommend staying here.

The breakfast was delicious! And the mood in the restaurant was lovely, as it was all candle lit. We had a drink there after our arrival and sat in the little courtyard which was nice.

Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyjojo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
thanks for the great review.
i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on Friday 7th June. We arrived 8:30pm approx and were greeted by a very helpful member of staff who checked us in quickly and efficiently, gave my husband excellent directions where to park and helped me with luggage up to our room while the public house and restaurant were busy, very impressed by his attentive and cheery attitude.

The hotel itself was very very clean and the room (no. 2) was lovely - a huge bay window out onto the courtyard below and a wonderful big bed, the itself I couldn't fault the cleanliness and the toiletries perked me up no end the next morning after a few drinks the night before!

All in all a wonderful quirky and gorgeous place to stay - for those that have complaints I would suggest stay in the normal blandness of a chain hotel as this place is an absolute gem and I hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 2 - spacious and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
thankyou for this great review, from all of us here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guy Fawkes Inn stands next to York Minster and was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guy Fawkes. The Inn offers 4-star rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and home-cooked, AA Rosette food. Decorate with antique furniture and Italian fabrics, the rooms feature handmade beds, tea/coffee making facilities and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries from H2K of Harrogate. Many rooms have views of York Minster, the city or the courtyard towards the rear of the Inn where Guy Fawkes was born. The Guy Fawkes Inn retains many original features including the timber staircase, gas lighting and real log fires. Dine by candlelight in the Inn's restaurant, which serves traditional pub-food using locally sourced ingredients. The bar stocks a wide range of real ales and a broad selection of wines. The world famous Ghost Walk leaves every night just around the corner. York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are both just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing