We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally Located”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Lancs
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ideally Located”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fantastic location, Very Quirky, Great Staff.
We stayed in a four poster room overlooking York Minster. The room was ample, complete with sloping floor. The bed was nice and comfy, and the welcome tray well stocked. The standard of cleaning was sadly lacking somewhat as several long black hairs were found on the crisp white bedding and in the en-suite.
The stairs up to the bedrooms are tricky after a few drinks from the bar ! This adds to the experience and the atmosphere.
The bad point of our stay was the breakfast . Whilst I do not like to be hurried, I do not think that waiting almost 30 minutes for a very poorly presented breakfast is acceptable. I accept that it may of been freshly made to order, but it took far too long to arrive. In my opinion , given the nightly rate to stay here, breakfast should not include tinned mushrooms !

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We came to eat at 1.30pm but was told to come back at 2pm,when we came back at 2pm,
we ordered our food,i ordered a starter which took about 15 minutes to arrive,after my starter
it took a full hour for our main courses to arrive,it was not as though the place was busy,it was
not,one of the main meals Chicken breast with a sauce,there was no sauce to go with the meal,
so i asked for a discount on the bill,i thought if i don't ask you don't get,i was given a discount of 20 per cent on the meal which was good,the food was rather on the pricey side,and the place a lot pretentious,there also seemed to be a smell of methane gas coming from a pipe in the place.
Won't be coming back to the place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for 1 night midweek in standard double room which turned out to be a ground floor room in the cottage in the courtyard - couldn't have been better, excellent room and lovely and cool on one of the hottest days of the year. Friends stayed in another standard double which was on the first floor overlooking the courtyard - lovely room too but had the sun streaming in the window which made it quite hot. Not a lot the owners could do about it to be fair though. The Full English breakfast was really nice and the home made black pudding was the best ive ever had! Would go back just for that. Overall - Perfect central location, great rooms and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Room 11 Rear courtyard cottage ground floor, nice big room and bathroom, and yuou can sit and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobby969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thankyou for this fantastic review.
we would love to see you again in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here for a night in a delux double room (no. 12). The room was directly onto the courtyard, constantly used by customers from the Inn who were supposed to vacate this area by 2230 hours but were still there at 2330. A loud kitchen extractor fan was directly outside the room and was on until we had to ask staff to switch this off at 2300 - only for this to be switched back on at 0655 (for breakfast). We were unable to have any privacy without closing curtains. The window also had to remain closed due to the smell of cigarette smoke coming in and the room was unbearably hot. It felt unclean. The soft furnishings and welcome pack were grubby and stained; the kettle was filthy; the fan was caked in dust and the towels used to be white. The room did not have wifi reception or telephone, as described. On a positive note, the bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. Also, the waiting staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient considering they were clearly over worked.
We voiced our concerns a number of times. At checkout, we were offered £40 discount. The manager chose not to come and speak with us but left this issue to be dealt with by the waitress from the restaurant. Hardly seemed fair.
The location is perfect for anyone visiting York. We were so disappointed as we were looking forward to our visit (based on previous reviews and photographs on their website) It's not boutique, quirky or full of character - but dimmly lit, run down and in need of a good clean.

Room Tip: Don't accept any rooms on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hello there,
These issues have been taken into consideration, and i will be following up to find out a little more about this case. i can assure you that if i had of been on site at this time, i would not have let a waitress deal with you. I do believe you were not dealt with by a waitress, but one of my extremely professional supervisors who at the time would have been running the shift in question.
I as the general manager take all feedback and put it to use to continually strive to better ourselves for the need of the business. please feel free to contact me to discuss the matter further if you wish.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Me and my husband stayed here last weekend, Its a great little hotel, right in the heart of York, Service was faultless. Our room was on the small size, but beautiful antique furniture that suited the room perfectly. It was a glorious weekend weather wise, and as I walked into our room, the staff had already put a fan in and on! (don't expect air con in a 400+ year old building!)
We also dined in the courtyard on the evening and again the food and service was faultless.
I shall definately return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drew4752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
thanks for the wonderful review.
look forward to seeing you again soon.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here for one night between graduations. The service was wonderful, the room lovely and the food even better! I have lived in or around York for 3 years and not had a meal as nice as that. The location is brilliant for getting around town and for a town centre hotel, not too far away from the parking.

Room Tip: Bathroom with freestanding bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
hope to see you again in the future
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just had 2 excellent nights at the Guy Fawkes Inn and cannot fault it. Its location in York is ideal being close to all of the major attractions. Shane and the staff could not have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome. The whole Inn is very atmospheric - sloping floors, door frames, etc. Our room (room 4) was large, comfortable and over looked the Minster. Both breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
thanks ever so much for giving us this review.
it was lovely to meet you both, such a lovely couple.
we hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards and best wishes
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing