We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the moment we walked in, we were very well looked after. We stayed in the Belfry Suite. OMG, it's quirky, beautiful, large and on a slope. If you like the unusual, you will love it. The inn is well decorated, they still have the old gas lamps, there are candles everywhere. The breakfast was good and plentiful. I have teenagers, and even they couldn't manage everything that was off. The staff were kind, helpful and chatty, couldn't ask for more. it is in touching distance of The MInster. Other reviewers have left comments about noise and cleanliness, on cleanliness, it was perfect, clean and spotless. As for noise, yes there was some, you are staying in an Inn. But, it wasn't late, and after walking around York all day, we were tired. If it bothers you that much, then go join them for a pint. We will be back for more, loved it.

Room Tip: The Belfry Suite is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthBlackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thank you so much for this amazing review.
will look forward to seeing you again soon.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just completed a two night break at this unusual hotel. What can I say? The location is perfect. Right accross from the minster in the traditional heart of the city.
We had booked a four poster room which turned out to be in the courtyard cottage. Despite other reviewers stating issues with cleanliness I have to say that our room was very clean and well appointed with good facilities and a spacious bathroom.

The courtyard closes at eleven each night so after this time everything goes quiet. Breakfast is served in the dining room which is lit by gaslight as is the rest of the pub. The breakfast was a slight disappointment, tinned mushrooms and overlooked scrambled eggs. Plentiful supply of tea and coffee and toast though and crockery and cutlery were sparkling clean

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the pub is definitely worthy visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thankyou for your review.
im sorry to hear you were disappointed with your breakfast, i can assure you that we dont use tinned mushroom, they are fresh, our chef poaches them in white wine and butter.
we hope to welcome you back in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you book a room in a pub you've got to expect noise intrusion. We stayed two nights and slept badly because of the heat and the herd of elephants in the rooms above us. But d'you know, somehow we didn't care. The pub is adjacent to the Minister and makes the whole of York walkable. Thought the breakfasts were a bit of a let down, re-heated sausages and a bit thrown together. But nonetheless, very good value and the people running the place really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thank you for your review.
hope to see you again.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed by chance. Booked last room. It opened on to al fresco dining/ drinking area. We thought this would be a problem- it wasn't .
The staff were very helpful and obliging.
The best thing was the location.50 metres from York Minster and in one of the best shopping street leading to the famous Shambles. Restaurants and cafes everywhere.
The hotel is well appointed and comfortable ,but its location,location!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thankyou for your review.
hope to see you again in the future
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Another visit to our favourite York hotel. We stayed in the Belfry suite, with our friends, who also loved the hotels atmosphere. This is a totally honest hotel, it has so much character, and yes it has a soul...and if you value this above everything else, its the hotel for you, if not and you are the sort of person who would chose a VW over an Alfa Romeo...go to the Park Inn....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
this i such a fantastic review.
thanks from all of us here at The Guy Fawkes Inn.
hope to see you again soon
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great Saturday night stay, July, at the Guy Fawkes Inn, steeped in history with a wonderful ambience. Lovely welcome, great room, (no4) clean neat & tidy with lots of character, looking out onto the Minister perfect, nothing was too much trouble, staff were attentive, polite and good fun. Very impressive full English breakfast with quality produce, we would definitely recommend and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July, very friendly staff, cheerful and helpful at all times.

Room was clean and tidy, stayed in annex which backed onto beer garden, nice big room and large bathroom, had breakfast in room both days, which was extremely good. Also had a bar meal in the restaurant which was again very very good.

The bar area is very atmospheric , being permanently lit by candles, a good supply of local ales are available behind the bar as well as most other forms of drinks.

A very enjoyable stay, one which I would recommend and return to without hesitation.

Room Tip: Some people may be put off by outside rooms backing onto beer garden, personally this was not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johno234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thanks for the great review.
we would love to see you again in the future.
kind regards
shane wood
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing