We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed thoughts on the Guy Fawkes”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Guy Fawkes hotel recently reopened after a renovation. We stayed there in room 8 for two nights. The location as stated is absolutely the best, right across the street and with magnificent views of the Minster. It is within a short walk of all attractions in York. The cons are that our room was very small and was located on the third floor with a very uneven 500 year old staircase to negotiate with your luggage. The first floor is a very popular pub which also serves as the hotel front desk. One final con is that there is no phone in the room to call the management when there are no towels.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Guy Fawkes Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2008

Great location right next to the Minster, lovely renovated room, big bathroom, spotlessly clean and great L'Occtaine toiletries...but, the room was so small, we had to turn sideways to pass the end of the bed (although I believe this room is sold as a small double we weren't quite prepared for the impracticalities of moving around the room). The only other problem we had was the noise. Essentially, this is a pub with rooms behind and above (you have to wait at the bar to check in) - you won't get any peace and quiet until after closing time - that was fine for us - but the morning breakfast preparations were what caused us the problem. We went away for a relaxing weekend but were woken up about 6.30am each morning with the constant sound of a door squeaking, then banging shut - very loudly! over and over, then the staff running up the uncarpeted stairs. It sounds like I'm being over sensitive, but I can't tell you how loud these noises were - I'm not a light sleeper but couldn't sleep through this noise. There seemed to be absolutely no sound proofing from our room. We were right at the top of the stairs above the bar area and even the sound of them collecting cutlery from a basket on a table at the bottom of the stairs sounded like it was happening in our room. They've done a great job with the hotel and would recommend it as a nice place to stay but I'd request a room a little further away from the action!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_J_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn in York for our one year anniversary, we wanted a boutique type hotel for a one night splurge, we wish we could afford two nights it was so lovely. Our room was gorgeous, fabulous view, fabulous furniture that i loved so much i wanted to take home (especially the 4 poster bed). Very quaint and original, old creaking floorboards and Alice in Wonderland type windows and doors. Breakfast was included and much enjoyed. My only tiny fault would be the lack of parking, we had to park overnight in the NCP, a trifle detail though. We loved it and highly recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jodsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Fantastic location, beautifully revamped. Some of the pictures on here are a little out-dated, particularly the four-poster bed shot and the dust! It's recently been bought-out and renovated.

We just stayed in that same room (four-poster) and it was brilliant. Clean, modern, sumptuous fabrics. Very luxurious. Staff were pleasant, breakfast was good. I'm uploading two pics which show just how lovely the 1st floor four-poster room was (in Guy Fawkes' cottage at the back of the main building).

Large bedroom, plenty of room to swing a cat. Bathroom very spacious - roll-top bath and separate shower.

Would recommend this hotel, perhaps pricey but worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sister_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

The Guy Fawkes Inn at York is literally opposite the York Minster and on the bustling high street of York, 5 minutes from any and every other tourist site / restaurant. The rooms, albeit small, are comfortable and cosy, with a plasma screen television and a well-equipped en-suite (including toilteries from L'Occitane).

Breakfast is included in the deal and is a typical full Yorkshire. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magic_Carpet_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

On my recent long weekend to York we came across the Guy Fawkes Hotel. Although we did not stay there we did in deed enjoy a few ales from the excellent selection available and that of some fantasic cuisine, suggest the Guy Fawkes Pie!

They also have chutneys, pickled onions and eggs to purchase and take away with you to enjoy.

Excellent and friendly service will mean that this is the place I will be staying on my return to York.

Oh yeah, check out the Dancing Monkey!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyMonkey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My fiancee and I had a really good stay at this hotel. It is a little hard to find by car, but when you do find it, wow! The location is superb, just outside is the famous Yorkminster and you are very close to all shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nibnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 194 in York
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £102 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing