We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #44 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

13/09/13
Robert and Linda
Newcastle
Guy Fawkes Inn York

A warm, friendly atmosphere greets as you walk through the door, making you feel immediately at home. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate with a nice, comfortable bed and I can't say enough about the fantastic staff. My compliments go to the chef, food was great enjoyed in a relaxing candle lit dining room. Nice central location with only a short walk from the station, great if you wish to leave your car at home. As with any Inn you'd expect a bit of noise from the bar until last orders but that didn't bother us at all and we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: room 2 spot on
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Guy Fawkes Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stopped here for 3 nights was a very atmospheric place to stay with the gas lights and unique decor. Food was excellent room was clean and nicely decorated . Central for most attractions. Would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked the Guy Fawkes Inn for a few of days away in York. we were not disappointed, it was a great location for the centre and all the places we wanted to visit.
we had The Belfry, which can sleep 6 people, it was the last room left and we had a discount on the price.
we planned to eat meals out but ended up staying in the hotel, the food was excellent and the dining room was lit by gas mantel lights and candles which made for a great atmosphere.
we will certainly book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandM-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn three times now and come December it will be our fourth visit. We stay in the Belfry Suite over the summer for a few nights and will be staying in December this year for four.

The staff are wonderful and the five star treatment received is a bonus. I can't say one negative thing about the place. The staff truly work hard and that shows when visitors return time and time again. Nothing is to much trouble, Breakfast is always a delight because the staff are efficient and cater to your every need. The chef prepares and serves delicious fresh food and the flavours are truly mouth-watering

The Belfry suite is the place to stay, with a wonderful view of York minster from your bedroom window what more can you ask for? It's truly mesmerising.

The room is very historical and it's just the perfect chance to experience something new and unique.

If you want to choose the best then look no further, you will never be disappointed with the Guy Fawkes Inn, you have my Guarantee on that.


Counting down the days till I return with my family in December.

Room Tip: Belfry Suite is the place stay, well worth the money.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slloyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as a last minute break. The location and ambience was very in keeping with historic York. Parking was not a problem as public parking was available nearby at a reduced rate (very good for a major city). We didn't mind not being able to get a seat in the bar as this shows its popularity, but weren't asked if we wanted to book a table for dinner when we arrived. The restaurant was full on a Saturday night, however, realising the mistake the management found us a table and the food and service was excellent
The bedroom (room1) was clean but I thought it was small for a "Deluxe" room. The bed was very firm, too hard for me although my husband didn't mind. The main problem was the noise, the bar was open until midnight, but the music did not finish until 1pm, and something electrical (a fan?) made a noise all night. I am a light sleeper, and to be fair there was no traffic or pedestrian noises.
Overall an ok experience, but I think more 3* than 4* and slightly overpriced at £190 with only continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Room1 is close to the bar overlooks courtyard so was quite noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sorry for the late review but this place is superb. Arrived early and was offered a pint of Treason Stout whilst I waited....fabulous! Was shown to a beautiful room with huge free standing bath and comfy bed....all great so far. Next morning after a stout induced coma had a breakfast in the hotel, it was lovely not just the food but the dining area, looks classical, smells classical had gas lights, so cosy and the black pudding, THE BLACK PUDDING is superb! Rest of the breakfast was great but it's worth trying just for their home made black pudding! I can honestly say this hotel is superb. If you want a quirky, rustic hotel that sells great ale, serves magnificent food and is rustic (gas lights) then this is the place. My favourite in York, in fact I'm coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pallionlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The thematic and the spirit of the attic suite. Yet clean, comfy and the exclusive view of York Minster. The service is very fast even the worker is also busy at the pub located below at the entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuraAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 194 in York
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £101 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing