We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was fantastic, they upgraded our room at no extra cost, they gave us extra blankets and a heater because my girlfriend was ill. The room was spotless. Location was excellent and staff a delight to deal with. Thank you guy Fawkes inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    427
    208
    106
    54
See reviews for
163
899
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having returned from York, we stayed here for 6 nights, We arrived on the Friday and was allocated room 6 , which was the room in question on the tv programme, its rubbish its not haunted lol, It is a very busy bar, and all the staff id say is very friendly, I had booked online to have an evening meal on the Friday, so when we went down it seemed it hadn't been put in the diary, but however it didn't take take them long to find us a table. The food couldn't fault, my only criticism would be we didn't get veg, but we could have had it if we had asked. We only got up a few mornings for breakfast, from what we seen was fine, very busy if everyone comes down at once, but wasn't a problem for us. The only thing I would comment on this is the price of the rooms, we paid 730 for 6 nights, now to me I would expect something pretty special for that , however we felt the rooms could do with some tlc as tour room wasn't all that clean, the floor doesn't seem to get mopped very often as its very dusty, when you are here for as long there isn't really anywhere to unpack clothes as the drawers that's there are quite dusty also, as I say lovely pub, very busy, excellent food, excellent staff just need to brush up on cleanliness in the rooms. overall we would probably return

Room Tip: we had room 6 which was at the back and very little noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our room was in the cottage at the back, the noise from the room above was terrible as there are no carpets. The sound of the occupants walking around from 6.30am both mornings woke us up and kept us awake. The shower room attached was large but the mirror surround was badly broken (sharp edges) and the shower head needed a good clean. The grout on the tiles at floor level was dirty (from mopping with dirty water probably) and there was nowhere to lay out personal items (no shelf or table even thought there is plenty of space for one). No hairdryer in the room on arrival, had to go and ask for one. Nowhere to unpack personal clothes to (no drawers). Bed was very comfy. TV was too low to watch from the bed. Fish was undercooked and returned. Flagstones in the yard were used to empty staff tea cups on to. No reception area, you have to battle your way through the drinkers round the bar. The staff however were fabulous and couldn't have been more helpful. We could have paid less than we did and with hindsight would do if we ever came again, which we won't because after we arrived home, we have had a £60 fine for driving over Lendal Bridge - which the directions on the hotel website told us to do - so we are not happy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, not the one in the cottage as it is very noisy if you have an early riser o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Can't fault them. This was our first stay here, definately not the last. Friendly, relaxed and welcoming. We had a ground floor room out back that had virtually no noise from the pub. Very comfy bed and lovely bathroom. Perfect Weekend stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 was our room.. Room 11 is also ground floor, and is on the site of Guy Fawkes cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for one night on a Sunday. I stayed last year and loved this hotel. Booked for a night with my mam and sister and stayed in the Belfrey. This room has amazing views of the Minster and was full of character. Possibly the best place ive stayed for one night. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The description on line does not do this place justice. Breakfast was lovely, even though we thought we were getting a continental breakfast a full cooked breakfast was included. Couldnt recommend this place enought. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 amazing views of the Minster as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joane321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review us!
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do pride ourselves on being an inn full of character! The Belfry is an amazing asset to us and we are glad you enjoyed it!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the second time me and my partner have stayed here and once again...it was fab. We stayed in the Guy Fawkes cottage (which we weren't expecting,so that was a nice little extra touch) the room is fantastic with a lovely (huge) bathroom with a free standing bath!
We can understand people not liking noise but for us it is just another quirk of this place as it is very hustle and bustle and we quite like all the 'bump in the night' aspects.
We've eaten here a few times and always raved about the food and the hotel to others who have stayed on our recommendation. The staff are lovely, helpful and work really hard too.
Things we loved - the pies, the bed, the German beer on tap, the cool dude playing the guitar that sounded like seasick Steve
Things we didn't - only staying one night

Room Tip: The cottages are really lovely. If you are contentious of noise maybe go for a top floor as the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Wow!
What a lovely review we love to hear guests have enjoyed their stay but particular love that you come back and enjoy it more!
All the staff front of house and back of house do work extremely hard and we are glad to see you appreciate this and I will ensure your comments are passed onto them!
We look forward to seeing you for your third trip hopefully not too far away and hopefully you will get the chance to stay more than 1 night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for one night mid week in Room 3 (first floor overlooking the street and York Minster).
For a last minute spur of the moment night away we were looking for reasonably priced accommodation with plenty of character in a central York location.
The Guy Fawkes Inn didn't disappoint.
Creaky floorboards, wonky walls, dark corners - everything you'd expect from an old, historic inn that hasn't been overly gentrified. The tables lit by candlelight were a lovely touch and created a welcoming, cosy atmosphere.
We stayed mid week so there wasn't the the level of noise that some guests have commented on but it's to be expected in an inn in the centre of the city - if you want peace and quiet head further out or choose a hotel where you don't check in at the bar and are sleeping away from any merriment.
If you're after atmosphere, character and like to explore on foot then the Guy Fawkes Inn certainly did the job for us.....plus looking out of the bedroom window at the Minster was magical.

Room Tip: Room 3 Four Poster overlooks York Minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank North_Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review us.. we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We are glad you picked up on the things like the wonky walls as we are in deed an old building with lots of character and love our guests to experience this.
We are glad you also mentioned the noise as we do appreciate a few of our guests have had noise criticisms but as you mentioned we are next door to the minster and well within the hustle and bustle of the city so these noises are to be expected and glad they didn't affect you!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#45 of 192 in York
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing