We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've visited the pub quite a few times and love the atmosphere of the place so decided to choose this hotel for a romantic weekend away. We had room 11 in the courtyard and was a little worried after reading other reviews regarding noise from drinkers outside but we didn't hear anything and had a really good nights sleep. Our room was absolutely stunning, beautifully presented, with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Breakfast was really good too, if a little strange, as you eat by candlelight but it all adds to the experience! The location is perfect as you are in the centre of York right next to the minster so everything is within walking distance. One thing to watch out for if you are driving to the hotel - Lendal bridge is closed between 10.30am and 5pm. We struggled to find an alternative route at first and had to call the hotel for directions. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you ever so much for giving us such a wonderful review.
we really hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards and best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We were allocated room 5 which, although not the most uncomfortable room I have ever stayed in, came pretty close! The room was very small and the gap between the bed and the wall was minute. The smell of drains from the bathroom was at times overpowering. The only chair in the room was an uncomfortable rocking chair situated underneath the TV. In the evenings, the bars were crowded with nowhere to sit which meant that we were relegated to our uncomfortable room. Requests to use the empty dining room were met with a refusal. Cheap plastic coat hangers which bent under the weight of winter clothing, while not an important feature in itself was symptomatic of an element of bad management, as was the provision of one knife at breakfast for buttering toast and eating the meal. I recognise that the building is very old and that options are limited but we felt that the pub business took presidence and that paying guests were an unnecessary inconvenience. The cost of rooms at this hotel are not reflected in the service provided.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us here.
I would love you to consider staying with us again and would recommend one of our bigger rooms with fantastic views of the minster.
Kindest regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I fancied a Christmas break in York, so opted for the Guy Fawkes Inn as we had visited there several times before for drinks. We stayed in room 5, which is pretty small, and after staying there for four nights, the gap between the wall and the end of the bed which you have to pass through to get from one side of the room to the other becomes a pain in the a++e. There is a lot of noise at night from the bar area directly below, which ensured that an early night was not possible. Breakfast was great, no problems at all. We decided to book a meal in the restaurant on Christmas eve at 18.00. When we arrived in the restaurant there was another table of 3 already eating. it wasn't busy at all. We ordered and when the main meal arrived, mine was cold in the middle. I asked for another meal and when that came ,it looked like it had been hit by a cruise missile. Bad presentation. The manager tried his best to make things right, but by this point we decided to put it down to experience and ate elsewhere. However, the Christmas Day meal was fantastic. Overall, the Guy Fawkes is a great pub with some great beers but from my experience it is pretty expensive for somewhere to stay. Please note though that the staff are fantastic and attentive. Would I stay here again? Sorry but no. I so wanted this to be a special experience for Christmas but it failed to reach that mark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello there
Thankyou for taking the time to review us.
I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us on Christmas eve, however i am delighted that we did not fail you on Christmas day.
There are lots bigger rooms avilable here at The Guy Fawkes in that may be of interest to you if you do decide to stay with us again.
I can also recommend our sister hotels The Lamb and Lion Inn, also Marmadukes town house hotel.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited here on a number of occasions- to stay/eat and drink so therefore think we can give an opinion from all aspects.
The room in the courtyard we stayed in was lush and we were really happy with this - however this was a year or so ago..since then we think the place has become less perfect.
Today for instance had dirty tables, dirty glasses and the ladies toilets were horrible. They needed a really good clean!!
We are afraid to say they we will not be visiting here again for a while.
There are a lot better pubs which offer a lot better standard nearby.
It's sad to say guy Fawkes has worked its way off our favourite list in York.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us.
We are disappointed that you feel we have changed there has been a couple of staffing changes and looking into a new maintenance programme during the next couple of months.
We do hope you come to visit us soon and see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

on looking at the website the rooms looked huge, but we booked on booking.com and got what we thought was the best price and the room was poxy. very very small, with a huge 4 poster. nice feel to it though. have also eater there and that was also nice. wine a bit expensive though !

would recommend it but not room 5 which is way too small for £110- £120

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are a quaint inn with classical features and all our rooms do vary in size and shape; you are best to book directly with us to receive the best rate and also the best room available as we can talk through your exact needs!
We hope you do return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel itself looks great and is full of character The four poster room we had was good enough although for the price we paid I would recommend shopping around. Essentially you are paying for the "ye olde" ambience and the location and having stayed a few times in York I would say for a few quid more you can book much better.

The staff were all very nice however I would say they were overworked. At breakfast there was one person dealing with the whole room. Breakfast took longer than it should have and I had to ask for the toast which turned up 10 minutes later.

The bar is decent with a good range of drinks although it is quite small and very popular so can be difficult to get a seat.

We came back after a meal and a few drinks and the bar was still very busy. The first floor rooms are directly above the bar and you almost get the effect that you have not left so I would not recommend it for anyone who is not in York for peace and quiet! Thankfully it seemed to have quietened down by 12ish which was fine for us.

I never book a hotel unless it has Wi-Fi and we took our iPad's and planned to research holidays while we were there. I got the password from a member of staff but unfortunately although I could connect I could never get a decent enough signal to use it for more than a few seconds. I tried in our room, in the breakfast room and in the bar itself but no joy. Ended up having to put my fixed odds bet on whilst stood outside Marks & Spenser's and will have to research holidays at home whilst distracted by our children now!

In summary, this is a beautiful old building in a great location and we were really looking forward to our stay but unfortunately it did not deliver and having experienced over hotels in the area we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us!
I am disappointed to hear you do not wish to return.
I do not believe our staff are overworked but obviously during the December period we are so popular that we are very busy.
Thank you for pointing out that the noise from the bar does quieten down as previous guests have stated otherwise; with being an inn in the centre of York we are extremely busy so I agree for anyone wanting a quieter stay maybe try our sister hotel Marmadukes which is about 5 minutes walk into the city!
I have taken you feedback on board regarding the wifi and will look into this for you!
I do hope you stay with us again or at one of our sister sites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornton cleveleys lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Room 12. We booked this room through an internet sight and the price was reasonably cheep for York at Christmas but it's the last room you want No way it's a bad excuse for a room , fans at 5 and not your followers it's the kitchen fans, you can't open the curtains as the court yard is just outside so no privacy at all, but apart from room 12 it's great, we did have a chat with what we thought was a
Manager he was the only person that was willing to except our payment for our extras so far we have had no response at all from any one, as this was not our first or last stay in York we will not be staying in room 12 again, As a licensee of a Lancashire (Preston)pub I expected a bit more communication from a world renowned city pub, nevertheless York is a fantastic city,
Ps £30 fine for apparently driving in a bus lane !!!! Paid in full, but no idea at all that I committed an offence, oh well just remember ROOM 12

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brianjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us!
Obviously our rooms do differ in terms of location in the inn and 3 of our rooms are in the courtyard which does experience some noise.
We do obviously take requests from guests so if you do stay again we do have a lovely room on the third floor which is quieter.
We do always reply to any comments so apologies if you haven't received this.
Please do stay again and obviously request another room if this wasn't for you!
Not sure on the £30.00 fee but at present cars cant drive over Lendal bridge which is a £60.00 fine so we do advise guests to take note of this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing