We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay in Room 9”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #43 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night stay in Room 9”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Arrived early so left bags and came back to room around 4ish - room 9 is out the back up some stairs overlooking the courtyard - room was lovely and clean - no problems whatsoever. Booked meal for 5.30 the restaurant is beautiful. Didnt really enjoy our meal but this was our fault as we ordered wrong, (no fault of the chef or waiting staff as they were brilliant - couldnt do enough for you). Overall a charasmatic quaint hotel, excellent location and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCookseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
Always great to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Our menu changes at least every 3 months so next time you visit just ask one of our extremely competent waitresses for some recommendations that suit your taste, were always more than happy to help.
look forward to seeing you again soon
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We hadn't stayed in York before, and I can say we had a great time. At the inn, all the staff were very helpful, and willing to do anything for us. Our room was great too, and as we visited in the winter very warm. We ate at the inn and we had a lovely meal, with some great wine as well. The service was great, no rushing you, really relaxing. Breakfast was great by candle light. The hotel is will placed, close the the station, minster and the centre. It's quirky and with character.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W8Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks ever so much for you time to give us feedback.
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've visited the pub quite a few times and love the atmosphere of the place so decided to choose this hotel for a romantic weekend away. We had room 11 in the courtyard and was a little worried after reading other reviews regarding noise from drinkers outside but we didn't hear anything and had a really good nights sleep. Our room was absolutely stunning, beautifully presented, with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Breakfast was really good too, if a little strange, as you eat by candlelight but it all adds to the experience! The location is perfect as you are in the centre of York right next to the minster so everything is within walking distance. One thing to watch out for if you are driving to the hotel - Lendal bridge is closed between 10.30am and 5pm. We struggled to find an alternative route at first and had to call the hotel for directions. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you ever so much for giving us such a wonderful review.
we really hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards and best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We were allocated room 5 which, although not the most uncomfortable room I have ever stayed in, came pretty close! The room was very small and the gap between the bed and the wall was minute. The smell of drains from the bathroom was at times overpowering. The only chair in the room was an uncomfortable rocking chair situated underneath the TV. In the evenings, the bars were crowded with nowhere to sit which meant that we were relegated to our uncomfortable room. Requests to use the empty dining room were met with a refusal. Cheap plastic coat hangers which bent under the weight of winter clothing, while not an important feature in itself was symptomatic of an element of bad management, as was the provision of one knife at breakfast for buttering toast and eating the meal. I recognise that the building is very old and that options are limited but we felt that the pub business took presidence and that paying guests were an unnecessary inconvenience. The cost of rooms at this hotel are not reflected in the service provided.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us here.
I would love you to consider staying with us again and would recommend one of our bigger rooms with fantastic views of the minster.
Kindest regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I fancied a Christmas break in York, so opted for the Guy Fawkes Inn as we had visited there several times before for drinks. We stayed in room 5, which is pretty small, and after staying there for four nights, the gap between the wall and the end of the bed which you have to pass through to get from one side of the room to the other becomes a pain in the a++e. There is a lot of noise at night from the bar area directly below, which ensured that an early night was not possible. Breakfast was great, no problems at all. We decided to book a meal in the restaurant on Christmas eve at 18.00. When we arrived in the restaurant there was another table of 3 already eating. it wasn't busy at all. We ordered and when the main meal arrived, mine was cold in the middle. I asked for another meal and when that came ,it looked like it had been hit by a cruise missile. Bad presentation. The manager tried his best to make things right, but by this point we decided to put it down to experience and ate elsewhere. However, the Christmas Day meal was fantastic. Overall, the Guy Fawkes is a great pub with some great beers but from my experience it is pretty expensive for somewhere to stay. Please note though that the staff are fantastic and attentive. Would I stay here again? Sorry but no. I so wanted this to be a special experience for Christmas but it failed to reach that mark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello there
Thankyou for taking the time to review us.
I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us on Christmas eve, however i am delighted that we did not fail you on Christmas day.
There are lots bigger rooms avilable here at The Guy Fawkes in that may be of interest to you if you do decide to stay with us again.
I can also recommend our sister hotels The Lamb and Lion Inn, also Marmadukes town house hotel.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited here on a number of occasions- to stay/eat and drink so therefore think we can give an opinion from all aspects.
The room in the courtyard we stayed in was lush and we were really happy with this - however this was a year or so ago..since then we think the place has become less perfect.
Today for instance had dirty tables, dirty glasses and the ladies toilets were horrible. They needed a really good clean!!
We are afraid to say they we will not be visiting here again for a while.
There are a lot better pubs which offer a lot better standard nearby.
It's sad to say guy Fawkes has worked its way off our favourite list in York.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us.
We are disappointed that you feel we have changed there has been a couple of staffing changes and looking into a new maintenance programme during the next couple of months.
We do hope you come to visit us soon and see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

on looking at the website the rooms looked huge, but we booked on booking.com and got what we thought was the best price and the room was poxy. very very small, with a huge 4 poster. nice feel to it though. have also eater there and that was also nice. wine a bit expensive though !

would recommend it but not room 5 which is way too small for £110- £120

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are a quaint inn with classical features and all our rooms do vary in size and shape; you are best to book directly with us to receive the best rate and also the best room available as we can talk through your exact needs!
We hope you do return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing