We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #43 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel so that we could explore the shops of York. Came back for lunch around 1:30pm and the food was great; the lunch menu had plenty of choice. We couldn't check into our room due to a fault with the card-lock which was an inconvenience and our bags were locked in there! However, staff gave us a drink on the house and kept shopping bags in the office for safe-keeping. On return, we were given room 6 and our bags had been moved (I believe the handy man had to climb through the window to get them!) Room was very clean and bright with a comfortable bed but we had no iron to sort out the clothes that had been crumpled in our bags for so long! However, very pleased with our room and facilities in it- had a very large shower and a large mirror to get ready with. One small problem was the rather large gap beneath the door as it didn't fit the frame properly- the light kept my partner awake. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but still nice. A lovely, quirky hotel in the heart of the city centre with very pleasant and helpful staff. Would book again on our return to York.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMC691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thankyou for your review.
I have personally sent you an email to discuss this matter.
I am so happy that this did not ruin your evening.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    425
    204
    104
    52
See reviews for
161
887
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Crooked walls and ceilings from an inn where Guy Fawkes was born. Candlelight and character ooze through the walls and the rooms are lovely, well furnished and clean. Service is great, food fab and the whole experience was so exciting. Location couldn't be better. Will be back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks For your AMAZING!! review.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely staff, room rather iffy, two lights did not work and not sorted after requests and lights TOTALLY inadequate to read- no anti slip mat in shower, almost flattened myself - only window did not open! - english breakfast ok isn but horrible cheap sausages, no parking

Room Tip: great location but otherwise avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I will speak with my housekeepers and make sure every light is tested each day.
This is not something that is a reoccurring issue.
Thankyou for your feedback
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our room, at £179 per night was clean but furnished with a hotchpotch of Edwardian 'auction' furniture. Bedside table door would not close and the table surfaces were very scratched. The kettle lid/spout was encrusted with limescale and the shower needed fresh sealant, it was black in places. At this price we thought we would get a fridge with ice but no. Smokers gathered in courtyard, outside our window and peeked in whilst we were in the room. The hotel could not offer us a table in restaurant for dinner unless we ate at 4pm! The cooked breakfast was ok but small and we had to ask for toast. The hotel is well placed in centre of York and has bags of history and atmosphere but at that price we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirl565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks for the review.
I am sorry to hear that you wouldnt consider staying with us in the future.
All your comments have been taken on board and as a company we will see what the best options are to constantly improve our guests experiences.
Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been twice now to this wonderful old inn in York near the Minster...in fact wonderfully placed for all York attractions, and our second over night visit was just as memorable as our first.

Its a quirky hotel (Inn) with a gas lit restaurant and a candle lit bar. The bedrooms are individual and as the building is alleged to be where Guy Fawkes was born it is understandable why some of the floors slope!
Our room across the small courtyard was lovely ( room 10) with a four poster bed and a big bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower.
Fluffy towels, tea and coffee making, television and free wifi are all there, although the wifi signal is not always reliable.
The staff are friendly and the breakfast (included in our overnight stay) was good. We did not have dinner there this time but have eaten there in the past and it has always been excellent.

Would I recommend it....yes I would...if you dont want the run of the mill chain predicatable- type hotel,
Parking is by permit and the car park the hotel has an arrangement with is a fair walk away - but we knew this .....and it was no problem whatsoever....we will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks for such a fabulous review.
Always great to see our customers returning and keep enjoying there experience.
Until the next visit!!
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed there yesterday, the location is great and the staff were friendly enough but the room we stayed in just up from the bar is a bit shabby, subject to a lot of noise and nothing out of the ordinary for the price we paid. I appreciate it has history etc but at £179.00 it was very expensive for what it was, £79.00 would have been a more realistic price to pay.

We did mention this to a member of staff on the Saturday evening but she said it was because it was a family room although that was never stated in the booking and that it was because of the history involved in it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enduranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thankyou for leaving your review.
I am sorry you feel our pricing is not right.
We ahve a strong team in our central reservations department that constantly monitor our prices to be as competitive as possible.
If you would consider staying with us again please contact us directly for the best possible deal on the day
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Despite living in York this was the first time we had dined in the restaurant. It certainly won't be the last, very good quality food, portion size just right and choice varied. Added to this, the staff were attentive and friendly without being too over the top. Although we didn't have any queries a nearby table tested the waitress on every single item which she dealt with in such a professional way - we doubt we would have shared her patience! Excellent value for money, we look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
This is such a brilliant review, thanks for taking your time to leave this.
See you next time!!
Kindest Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing