We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming & Unique Inn!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming & Unique Inn!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

When traveling we look for unique places to stay...and this certainly fit the bill. The Inn is located in the center of town, with a nice pub downstairs, small menu, but great atmosphere, dark with candles lit throughout. Staff was brilliant. One tip...it states parking is available...it is, but is is a good 5 minute walk...so if you have luggage as I did, not a pleasant surprise. Aside from that, the town of York has many winding wonderful streets with plenty of shops and restaurants, as well as some amazing historical sights.
The room had a lot of personality, with a wonderful view of the cathedral. The decor was simple but charming. No temperature control in the room, as it was March this was not a problem, but the summer months may get a bit warm.
A really wonderful overnight stay...in a charming little town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
thank you for such a lovely review.
Hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    423
    203
    103
    51
See reviews for
160
880
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalyan, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We visited York the day before valentines, our stay at this hotel completed our break! The deluxe double room was full of character, comfortable bed, spacious with lots of facilities and stunning big windows looking over the court yard. The room was spotless and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SFR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very very impressed with every aspect of our stay. Not the cheapest, but the combination of history, atmosphere, very excellent and friendly staff, very good food and location makes for a truly outstanding experience. I've been lucky enough to stay in "all types" of accommodation around the world, and Guy Fawkes Inn is top tier...whoever is "behind the scenes" running the business can be proud of what they've created. A happy customer - will return.

Room Tip: Talk to staff and they will help you select the best type of room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJohn314586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
This is such a great review.
Thankyou ever so much.
we shall look forward to your return
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked one night here for my husbands birthday as a surprise Sat 8 March. Fabulous room, fabulous food & happy, attentive staff who couldn't do enough for you. We arrived very early before check-in but were able to leave our bags with no qualms and at 10:30am the bar was already candlelit! We did the same on checkout so we could make the most of York before we left. The bed was fabulously comfortable with views straight on to the Minster through the 3 x huge windows which graced our room (Room 7). All the attractions are literally on the doorstep & the food & drinks etc are delicious - we'll definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you ever so much for this review, its awesome!.
looking forward to your return.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

For our 1st wedding anniversary we decided we would treat ourselves and we were not disappointed when staying in this wonderful Inn. From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant, even upgrading our room to the Belfry Suite which was the quirkiest Suite we have ever stayed in! Steeped in history and in a city which boasts the same, this unusual venue was perfect for visiting all of the places of interest within easy walking distance. We dined in the restaurant for our breakfast which was delicious & a great way to start the day ahead of sightseeing. Although we chose to dine out in the evening, the menu looked enticing and good value for money. The atmosphere in the bar was electric with fantastic music, gas lighting and candles on all tables. All in all the weekend was fantastic and we won't forget the attention to detail Shane & his brilliant team afforded us...thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
This is such an amazing review.
It was a pleasure meeting you guys.
Hope to see you again soon
many thanks
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent food, lovely service in a beautiful building. Good value. Next trip to York will visit for dinner if possible. Superb location too.
The decor was very interesting, carefully attention to detail, lots of history on the walls about Fawkes. Candlelight and gaslights in the downstairs rooms all added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
thankyou for such a fab review.
we would love to se you again soon!
kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel so that we could explore the shops of York. Came back for lunch around 1:30pm and the food was great; the lunch menu had plenty of choice. We couldn't check into our room due to a fault with the card-lock which was an inconvenience and our bags were locked in there! However, staff gave us a drink on the house and kept shopping bags in the office for safe-keeping. On return, we were given room 6 and our bags had been moved (I believe the handy man had to climb through the window to get them!) Room was very clean and bright with a comfortable bed but we had no iron to sort out the clothes that had been crumpled in our bags for so long! However, very pleased with our room and facilities in it- had a very large shower and a large mirror to get ready with. One small problem was the rather large gap beneath the door as it didn't fit the frame properly- the light kept my partner awake. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but still nice. A lovely, quirky hotel in the heart of the city centre with very pleasant and helpful staff. Would book again on our return to York.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMC691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thankyou for your review.
I have personally sent you an email to discuss this matter.
I am so happy that this did not ruin your evening.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#35 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing