We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a clean”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #34 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A quirky pub steeped in history but some of it needs a good clean. Especially the toilets. Made myself and party decide not to eat there. An artist was doing a nice wall picture of Guy Fawkes in the court yard

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lizzie190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thankyou for your review.
I am sorry you felt that way and will see to it that staff are keeping up with the toilet check every hour.
Why not pop back and see the finished mural it is very impressive.
I assure you that our food is top notch and well worth a try.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the guy fawkes inn. We stayed in room 6 a deluxe double under the belfry suite at the top of the inn.
The inn has a wonderful charm and character and it's location is second to none situated just over from York Minster.
The room was nice and always seemed to be very warm. The bed, duvet and pillows were amazing so I got some amazing sleep here which really helped being pregnant.
Although classed as a deluxe room we did have a couple of niggles. A little area of filling and painting needed to be done on the wall opposite the bed. Also there is nowhere in the bathroom to store toiletries. A shelf would have been really handy above the sink and there's plenty of room for one there too. The mirror in the bathroom was also too high for me. This may just be because I'm short though.
Some of the furnishings like the bedside lamps were dusty and the chandeliers needed a dust also. There is also a large gap under the door but I do t know whether they would be able to remedy this due to the slanty floors.

The tv worked well and the selection of teas and coffees were great. The biscuits were lovely too. The most deluxe thing about the room is it's location. The ales served at the inn are also very good. The entertainment on the second night we stayed was also very good. Another plus I could not hear any noise from the inn in our room.

Breakfast left a little to be desired. The buffet breakfast wasn't much of a buffet just cereal fruit and juice. When paying for a deluxe room you would expect some nice pastries or croissants, and possibly some yoghurts.

But all in all a lovely stay, fab staff and an ideal location for exploring York. We would stay again but would probably go to brew and brownie down the road for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thankyou for your review.
i will look into why there was not pastries and yoghurts available for breakfast.
I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future.
Hope to see you again soon
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

myself and my husband honeymooned in york, so we wanted to celebrate by returning, i am so glad we did. we booked the belfry suite last minute and got an AMAZING deal.
we wanted something different to the big name hotels, something a bit personal, which is what we got with the guy fawkes inn. the suite is at the top of the inn, so consider that when booking. the inn is around 700yrs old so there are a few flaws, but i expected them which i am sure you would too.
the staff were really friendly and really happy to help.
the views from our suite were breathtaking. the minster was opposite.
we booked a table for dinner. the food was excellent, and there was more than enough, i ordered the steak and ale pie, the pie was full of really succulent steak and was really big enough for 2 people.
the inn is right in the centre. i loved the shopping. we were close enough to do sightseeing too. i would visit york again, and the inn would be at the top of my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph-beard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thankyou ever so much for such an amazing review.
We are pleased to hear you will be back.
look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked the Guy Fawkes for our friends' 40th birthday. We liked the fact it was central and the menu sounded good. On arrival the hotel can easily be over-looked in favour of larger nearby hotels but once you step inside you are met with the old world décor that just the gives the hotel a very historic and unique character. The bar was very busy but the staff were polite and very efficient in checking-in the growing queue of guests. Our room, to accommodate 3 adults, was the Belfy and completely in the apex of the building. The room was very clean and, with good quality linen and towels, with a simple but fresh décor. The only drawback was the ceilings were quite low in the majority of the Belfy and ideally better for guests of under 5' 6''. The bathroom and lounge had superb views of the Minster, which is partially illuminated at night. We were not disappointed with the food either. The evening meal, for which we did have to book, was superb. The menu is not vast but the quality of the food reflects this. The waiter/ ress service was efficient and very friendly. The breakfast was just as good. We are planning our next trip to York and plan to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thankyou for such fantastic feedback.
Cant wait to have you back soon.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I planned a couple of days in York to propose to my now fiance! Wanted to be in the centre of York and stumbled on the Guy Fawkes Inn website. So pleased I did, it made the trip.

If you want character this place has it by the bucket full! The Belfry Suite was fantastic, the photo's on the Guy Fawkes site don't do it justice!! Open the window and you can almost touch York Minster, where I proposed on the steps under the Heart of Yorkshire stained glass window (google it to find out why) and the sound of the bells the followinging morning added to the romance.

Staff were fab, making us feel really welcome, especially Emma who became our main point of contact. Breakfast in the amazing Gas and Candle lit restraunt was just what we needed to set us up for the day touring York. (Top tip: If in the car, buy an extra days parking ticket from the hotel if you are checking out but plan staying in York for the day). Have aded some photo's but only from a not so good compact.

Thanks to the Guy Fawkes Inn we will return!

Room Tip: The Belfy suite is fab, Bedroom, Lounge and Bathroom (with jacuzzi bath - just don't add bubble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thankyou for this amazing review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for two nights but sorry we couldn't have stayed much longer.Staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, Joao the night porter was a gem.The food was excellent and the restaurant was always busy because of this-so book a table.Stayed in room 2(very spacious and quirky)the whole look of the hotel was perfect from the dripping candles and old gas lighting to the sloping floors, wonky doorways and antique furniture made the whole place look very oldy worldy and perfect for a stay in such an old city .The location is fabulous literally sat across the road from the impressive York Minster and two minutes from the famous Shambles, lots of great shops, bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep. We are already planning to visit again and will definitely be staying at the Guy Fawkes Inn. We had a fantastic, romantic few days and loved every minute. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thank you so much for such a positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner booked us into the four poster room which was fantastic and overall the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was disappointing, Sue is a vegetarian and asked for the veggy option which it turn out was just the full english with the meat removed. we had to ask for fruit juice and asked for coffee which never arrived and after we asked for the second time we finally got coffee but had to ask another couple for the milk off their table. This let down an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrkmfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thankyou for you review.
I am sorry you feel that your breakfast let down your trip.
I will speak with the kitchen and make sure that we increase our selection of vegetarian options.
I will also personally speak with the breakfast staff to make sure that items are restocked and this does not happen again.
I would hope that you would consider staying with us in the future.
kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £83 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing