We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark but nice pub”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dark but nice pub”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good place for a drink while visiting York. Very central, tourist friendly pub with a good choice of ales. A small beer garden at the back. This wasn't very clean and tidy, I think they are doing the place up or something. We soon moved inside and it was much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank id0ntcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for your review
Yes we were having a little refurb and some mural work done, why not pop in when your next in the are and see what we have done. We have a beautiful mural now taking pride of place and are now kitted out with patio heaters so the garden can be enjoyed whatever the weather.
we hope to see you again real soon
Best Wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    427
    208
    106
    54
See reviews for
163
899
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Charming and quirky if gas lights and candles are your thing but avoid if you want comfort and cleanliness on top of quirky.
Noisiest and dirtiest place we have ever stayed in the u.k. Restaurant food very good, especally the meat pie but Breakfast very poor - economy bread and juices and little choice if a fry up is not your thing!
Could be stunning if cleanliness standards were raised and a decent breakfast provided.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 - noisy as above bar and front door - ask for second floor or rooms in back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here with us.
i assure you that the issues you have raised will be looked into.
i have sent you an email and shall look forward to your reply.
as a business we continually strive to better ourselves for the needs of our customers and all comments are taken seriously and dealt with appropriately.
kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Guy Fawkes as part of my 50th celebrations. We arrived a bit late on Friday as we got lost in York but the reception staff were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The room was stylish with a period feel in keeping with this Gothic-styled old hotel and was spotlessly clean. The candlelit bar was very pleasant and the place does have a characteristic feel about it. We enjoyed the breakfast, the real ales were splendid, and the service on the whole faultless.
On the down side however visitors should be aware that some rooms do look out on to the courtyard of the hotel so don't expect spectacular views all the time. Also, the bar is very noisy at times and unfortunately tends to cater for stag and hen parties which can be very disruptive. If you're looking for peace and quiet you may be better off further away from the city centre. Sadly we weren't in time to book a table at the restaurant which is a shame as it does look attractive at night when candlelit. I do feel that a high-class establishment such as this should have a policy with regard to large single-gender groups coming into the bar and it would be better if they played discreet ambient music rather that the rock and pop we heard in our room at a rather high volume for a hotel. On the while I feel it's hardly worth the money we paid but whether you decide to visit does depend on your budget and requirements.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about privacy or views express this when you book as some rooms don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review.
As a city center inn there will always be a factor of some music from the bar area, but as soon as last orders are called the music is turned right down to respect our guests, as goes for the courtyard, this is closed at 10.30 every evening.
overall it sounds like you enjoyed your stay and i am sure the staff will be as pleased to read as i am that the service you were given was faultless.
thankyou again for your review.
We hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the future.
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We came to york for a little break with our friends and we were staying further out of the city. We stumbled across here on our first day whilst having a few drinks and decided we would eat there the second day. We all ordered starter main and desserts for four and it was very reasonable at around £80 for four. The food was delicious and one of the nicest puddings I have eaten so all round thumbs up

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lisadoherty14184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review.
we hope to see you again really soon.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in York at the Guy Fawkes Inn for two nights. The best thing about the place is the staff, all of whom were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel needs a serious cleaning and upgrade because the facilities were inadequate. Our room was located right off the smoking patio for the pub and so it was loud and smokey until 11 each evening. It was also very weird going into the room through a pub full of people. The shower didn't work, two lights were burned out in the bathroom, the mattress was terrible, and I don't know that anyone had vacuumed the room recently. We would not stay here again despite the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augievikings1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
i am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We are an inn and not a hotel so unfortunatley the noise from the courtyard and pub is to be expected, we do close the courtyard at 10.30 every evening to ensure our guests are not disturbed any later.
I will look into the other issues that you have brought to my attention and will make sure this is not the case for the future.
I do feel from your comment that you were not expecting an inn but more like a hotel.
Maybe next time you visit yourk out town house hotel Marmadukes will be more suitable.
As a company we strive to continually better ourselves for the need of our customers and take all comments seriously
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Arrived late and rather very tired the day after our wedding. We were greeted by 2 very helpful members of staff who took all of our luggage and wedding contraband up stairs while we parked the car. We was close to missing the end of service in the dinning room, so they let us order while we sorted ourselves out. Ordered the fish and chips and it was amazing. I had the black pudding scotch egg for starters, and the homemade black pudding was the best I had ever had. Over our 3 days stay the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Made our mini-moon a very relaxed and enjoyable time. We would highly recommend Guy Fawkes Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chu_man_fu-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thanks for you review it sure made me smile.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your minimoon.
we hope youll be back to relive it soon.
Best Wishes for your future together.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Visited the pub for a bite to eat and found the staff very friendly and were served probably the best steak pie we've ever eaten. Apparently their Signature Dish. We were served by the lovely Egle who we wish all the best for her future adventures. The pub was fun, little bit quirky with its Gas Lamps and live candles but it sort of added to the 'Ghost Walk' experience we did prior to eating. Found York a lovely place to visit and would more than happily recommend visiting this pub on you holidays. We didn't stay in the Hotel so could not comment on this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon_ArcticFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thankyou for leaving us such a fab review.
our pies are our signature dish and are talked about all over the country by past guests.
we hope to have you back real soon
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#45 of 192 in York
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing