We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you want the propper experience of York, stay here!
The birth place of guy Fawkes, the hotel is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the room with a four poster bed. The floors are wonky and the character remains in the hotel, along with the aged furniture (which is a compliment !).

Like I mentioned if you want the propper York experience this hotel is a definite, breakfast is good too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyll1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thankyou for such a fantastic review.
It is so nice to receive reviews like this, it shows that people do get what we are all about here at Guy Fawkes Inn.
unfortunately some do not and want a generic hotel, but those who have an eye for something with charm and character then we are definatley the place to be.
we hope to see again soon
Kindest Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I decided to eat at guy fawkes in on an overnight stay in York, the whole ambience of the place is amazing with its gas wall lights, candles and miss match furniture. The staff are very friendly and polite making us feel welcome. The food however was a surprise, I had the trio of pork and my daughter had sausage and mash. The flavours and quality were absolutely amazing we have never had such wonderful food. We will definately be returning very soon.
Fabulous place highly recommended

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for this awesome review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and really hope that we see you again soon.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in June 2014.
The location was excellent as we were attending a concert at the Minster.
The room we had was of an adequate size but the cleanliness left much to be desired.
There was mould over much of the bathroom walls and shower.
The tables in the restaurant seemed to be sticky.
The serving staff were pleasant and the food was perfectly OK.
We will not stay there as it was not good value for the price and the overall ambience was grubby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

thankyou for your review.
Firstly i would like to apologies that you did not entirely enjoy your stay.
The showers are in the process of currently being updated.
As for the table being sticky, this is not due to them being dirty it is due to the fact that they were varnished with a product that has left them sticky and is also being attended to.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked an executive double room thinking this would be a nice room. It should have been called a very small shabby double. No room for cases, no wardrobe, just a hanging rail with 4 hangers, the floor space taken by a continually collapsing ironing board. A bracket to hang it on would have been good. A shabby bathroom with a door that does not close. No room to move around the bed.
Breakfast was not nice, buffet at 9:00, empty juice and milk jugs, 1 packet of cereal, no bowls or croissants. These shortages had to be pointed out to waiters separately, they did not automatically replenish. The cooked breakfast over cooked and some odd looking and flavoured black pudding.
The location the only thing in its favour. We stayed here years ago when it was called Youngs in, It was very shabby but wonderful food and a lovely welcome in those days.

Room Tip: Not room 5. Do not believe discriptive room names.eg executive double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnSW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

thankyou for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here with us.
I have taken your comments on board and will do my best to rectify these issues.
Kind Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend travelled to York for our 21st Birthdays (less than a month apart) we planned to stay in his parents caravan but they surprised us when they said they had booked us a room in The Guy Fawkes Inn for the weekend! We stayed in 'The Belfrey' (the top floor suite) which had an entrance area, bathroom with jacuzzi bathtub, large living room and large bedroom. It was beautifully furnished, however my only criticism would be that the ceilings in the attic room were very low (especially for my 6'3 boyfriend).

The view from the living room was amazing, as the York Minster is literally meters away!

Breakfast was included in the stay and could not be faulted! There was a wide choice from the menu as well as pastries and cereals, and it always arrived very quickly.

The hotel staff also double as the bar staff in the evenings, so sometimes we had to wait if we needed anything if it was busy at the bar, but we were understanding and the staff were apologetic and very helpful. They were always smiling and made our stay more enjoyable!

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Belfrey Suite is lovely, just remember to mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kayleighrose93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

thankyou for your review.
We do get so much pleasure reading these amazing reviews.
It really gives us a sense of acheivment when guest give us such positive feedback.
I am delighted that you would stay again and cant wait to have you back when you get the chance.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What can you say but awesome loved the loction,stayed her on friday 14 june 2014 great beer outstanding food . All clean and fresh in the room, nice effect in the dinning and bar areas with darken rooms and candles lit for the extra feel of the guy fawkes era. dined there in the evening nothing to fault here. Also had breakfast here too, just what the doctor ordered and good service pleasant staff and very helpful, only downside (if you can call it one)is the parking just a bit out of the way, not much you do about that, unless maybe a shuttle can be provided
I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6 overlooking the court yard not to noisy clean and decor pleasant good shower good f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you ever so much for this fab review.
Unfortunately most of the hotels in the centre struggle with parking facilities and we provide the permits at the best possible price that we can.
I do hope that the parking would not prevent you staying in the future as it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Guy Fawkes. The staff was very courteous, helpful and professional. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, but perhaps a bit too cozy for many travelers. I didn't mind having to walk sideways to get around the bed, but I'm petite. There are larger rooms, so make sure you book a room that's big enough for your size. Kinda like Goldilocks, you need to get the room that's just right! Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #5 - quiet, quant and too tight for larger couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thankyou for your review.
Our rooms do vary in shape and size and i feel this is reflected in the prices of each individual room.
when booking just speak to one of our central reservations team and tell them exactly what your looking for and we will do our best to accommodate your every need.
thanks again for your review.
We hope we will be seeing you again soon
Kind regards
Shane Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 194 in York
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 194 in York
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £112 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing