We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric & Quirky”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric & Quirky”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a fabulous stay at this Hotel. The staff were super friendly and attentive, the room was full of character, the food was fantastic and the location was ideal for all activities in this fab city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thankyou for giving us such positive feedback it makes us all so happy to know that you enjoyed your experience and we really hope that we get to provide you with great service again in the future.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General; Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    427
    208
    106
    54
See reviews for
163
899
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we booked in for an extra night in york and we got a deal on a four poster room, the room was a little small but it was clean,although it lacked the quality finish that you would expect for a room that can go out for over a £130.00 per night, it may be said that the rooms are old and full of charachter, but you can still provide quality finishes. On arrival we were dealt with by a efficient ,polite and helpful member of staff, unfortunately i did not get her name.
In the evening we decided to eat at the inn so we booked a table and went into the bar to get a bottle of wine,how hard work did that turn out to be,my wife went to the bar and was totally ignored by the two staff that were on,one was more worried about the cider pumps that had gone off and the other guy was having a problem with another member of staff who could not operate the till and then they all walked off, in fact a contractor who seemed to be doing work behind the bar offered to go and get a member of staff.We eventually were served and we waited to go into the dining room.The food quality and service could not be faulted in fact the lady that ran the restaurant was excellent and breakfeast was the same.
We retired to bed only to find that the matress on my side was lumpy and did not help my nights sleep,I was not that bothered as i was looking for a haunting during the night, and boy did i get one. You have to remember that this place is not a hotel its a pub with bedrooms and until the pub closes you will hear the customers and the music especially if you are in the bedrooms over the bar and on the front which we were.As we were on the front street we knew there would be some noise from revellers going home but we did not expect it to go on all night, the other thing to bear in mind that when the steets are quieter they echo and the revellers talk louder. the first lot of noise i heard sounded like a hoard of maurauding vikings and i thought this is my first haunting but as it got closer i was soon dissapointed and that disappointment went on.
At 3.20am i heard movement from downstairs in the pub and i built my hopes up again for a haunting only to realise it was the night porter moving furniture around downstairs and then i herd the brush going round,at 3.36am i herd a dull buzzing noise outside which was getting closer,is this a roman legion marching down petergate, unfortunately not it was the noisiest road sweeper/washer ever and what a time to do it, at 4.02am a ghostly bin truck appeared and started to empty the shop bins and then proceeded to use the rear crusher and compacter, its not over yet the road sweeper/washer returned for another go.at 4.20am the pub bins were taken out onto the main street with a loud banging and crashing of doors.I was hoping it was a ghost hunt returning late but dissapointment again.The other annoyance is that cars go up and down the road and did do for most of the night.
Please be aware that if you are a light sleeper you may find it difficult in a town centre, although there are certain measures that the inn could take.
The Inn has a lot going for it but the rooms can be expensive and personally if i was paying the top room rate i would have felt that the value for money element was lacking.
+

Room Tip: Wait for the deals. and sleep at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
thankyou for your review.
Firstly i would like to apologise for the issues you have raised this is not normal practice here and as you can imagine some things happen that are beyond our control.
We had the contractor in to fix a problem with the glass machine and were having to hand wash glasses at this busy time caused quite a problem and we had run out of glasses.
I am sorry you felt you had been ignored and will speak with the staff on shift that evening.
as for the noise this is something beyond our control and i am sure you are aware that staying in a city centre inn which could not be more central you are always going to encounter the noises of city life. unfortunately to sound proof a building of this age would be quite a task and would almost certainly not be allowed by the council to change certain factors to attain this being a listed building. i do hope that you would consider staying with us in the future.
Kindest regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We went for food here.. We weren't expecting much as it was quite dark (as it would have been back then)
We got the food.. And it was mind blowingly good..
Amazing food.. Definitely going back for my birthday next month!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriarosemayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
thank you so much for this awesome review.
just let us know if you want any special requirements for your birthday celebrations
we shall look forward to seeing you then.
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Let's be honest this inn sits in an unrivalled place in York. You literally fall out of the door and land in the Minster - it's that close. It's an amazing old building, so if you like uneven floors, squeaky doors and candles to light your way then you'll get the full experience in this place. I had a 4-poster room and it was big and spacious. Bed was comfy but the windows didn't open very well and it was stuffy. Bathroom was a disappointment for a 4* place, cramped and basic, with a very, very odd smell.

Breakfast was ok, but the milk for cereal was left out and warm. Service was ok.

Car parking is a bit of a trek, and we were actually directed to go back up a one-way street by a member of staff - not clever.

Generally, nice if you like spooky and creaky. Wouldn't rush to stay here again.

Room Tip: 4 poster room on top floor had good views of the Minster - even if sat on the loo! (Forgot to shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I appreciate your comments speaking so highly of the location and atmosphere here at Guy Fawkes. We pride ourselves in maintaining the rustic and historic feel of the building. Being in such a central location does unfortunately entail that we cannot offer our own parking.

I am sorry to hear that you received some misinformation regarding the parking and the bathroom was not to your liking - as a general rule our staff are well trained, informative and helpful, and guest rooms well maintained. We appreciate your constructive criticism and would love to see you again. We would of course do our utmost to ensure you have the best possible experience with us this time around.

All the best,
Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After leaving this Establishment just today I had to get on the computer first thing and write a review for this wonderful place.
This was our fifth visit to the Guy Fawkes inn in over two years and the stay keeps getting better and better.
Check in was a breeze, a young gentleman on Sunday dealt with our booking very fast and efficiently and was happy to look after our bags until we returned a couple of hours later after some sight seeing. On our return, he was very happy to show us to our room which was the attic suite known as the Belfry suite. Even though we had explained it was our fifth time staying he was still very enthusiastic about telling us about the room and some recommendations of places to visit. :)

During my families visit we had breakfast four times and personally I was thrilled with the attention we received. Nothing was to much bother. The gentleman and the lady who dealt with breakfast all this week were a real delight and nothing was to much bother.
Even during Tuesday mornings breakfast when they were both catering for 11 people, they never faltered once, even during this busy period. My families breakfast orders were always correct and basically their attention to detail was on point.

Sadly, we left today. But checking out again was a breeze. The gentlemen carried our suitcases
from our room all the way to the reception and that consisted of three flights of stairs so I was grateful to him for that. The Guy Fawkes Inn is a wonderful place and I truly recommend them for a visit.
My family and I have booked to stay again in December for four nights and I'm now counting down the days. Truly perfect place, thanks again to The Guy Fawkes Inn Team. :)

Room Tip: The Belfry Suite, worth every penny. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for leaving us this truly amazing review.
We hope you will be back soon
Kindest regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Firstly I have to say that the inn is in a great location. It is a lovely old building full of history and character. We stayed this week for one night. We had purposely booked a room with a four poster bed, but there were no 'curtains' around the bed - just the four wooden posts. Our room is in fact pictured on their website clearly with curtains surrounding the bed as one expects with a four poster bed. The room itself was very large, but was very, very dusty. The mirror on the dressing table does not stay upright so it couldnt be used for its purpose as it faced downwards, and for me personally the mirror in the bathroom was too high, but I am very small!
Dinner was good as was breakfast, but we felt the accomodation is overpriced, and not worthy of its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thankyou for leaving us your review.
It is dissapointing to hear you did not entirely enjoy your stay.
I will do my best to improve the issues you have raised.
Kind regards
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ate here on a Monday lunchtime at the end of June.
Pub was very busy however the staff were very friendly, efficient and hard working. The menu was varied to suit all tastes and our lunch selection was delicious.
Recommend a visit..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thankyou for leaving us a review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and would love to see you again soon.
best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#45 of 192 in York
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing