We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disaster.”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #44 of 193 York B&B and Inns
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A disaster.”
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We booked two rooms at the Guy Fawkes Inn for our wedding - one was for us on the wedding night, one was for my parents for two nights. The rooms were booked ten months in advance. When my parents arrived the day before the wedding, the room to which they were shown was not the one we had booked. It was accessed via an external iron fire escape and had virtually no wardrobe space. Only at my insistence were they moved to another hotel with the Guy Fawkes Inn paying the difference. Worse was to follow on our wedding night. The manager was made aware that we would be arriving back late. We entered the hotel at ten past midnight to find that our key card did not work and the night manager had no idea how to rectify this. Our bags were in the room, my wife was in her wedding dress and we had nowhere to sleep. The night manager was unable to contact the hotel management and I had to insist that he fetch a member of staff from a sister hotel to sort this out. When help arrived, my wife - who by this time was in tears - was laughed at and told that crying would do no good. Half an hour after we arrived, we finally gained access to the room. The room was lovely but this did not make up for the trauma which had been caused. In fairness, the hotel did not attempt to charge us and offered us a free night's stay in the future, but this situation should never have arisen.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter4lc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    425
    204
    105
    52
See reviews for
161
888
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

The hotel tariffs have gone up but the standards have gone down.
Breakfast was a disaster waiting for over an hour on one occasion due to 'sister' hotel guests coming to the hotel for breakfast and then being served the wrong breakfast. The supervisor at breakfast was confrontational and unprofessional. The breakfast waitress however who seemed to be over worked and stressed was very appologetic.
Saturday night was a disaster with a full blown domestic arguement breaking out at 12:30a.m between two residents which was allowed to continue without any intervention from staff members.
Don't expect to get a drink at the bar in the evening because it is overrun by non residents with no provision for residents.
Guy Fawkes had definitely plotted against us having an enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palyanthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Spent one night at the Guy Fawkes Inn when we were visiting York. We booked a four poster bed room and got it cheaper then the standard rate as we booked through laterooms.com.

On arrival I had to park on double yellows and leave my boyfriend in the car while I went in to ask for the parking permit. On the late rooms website it said a parking permit would be issued and also when I rang the hotel directly they also told me to go to the hotel first to pick up a permit. On doing so I was given directions to the nearest car park and told they do not issue parking permits, they just refund whatever we pay. I was slightly disappointed with this as we could only pay for parking until 8am and had to get up early to walk to the car park to buy another ticket for the rest of the morning. On saying all that, the parking was the only bad point of staying at this hotel.

Our room was in the cottage at the back of the inn. You have to walk through a small courtyard and then up some iron stairs. On entering the room I let out a little wow which I think the lady showing us to our room was used to as she laughed quietly!

The decor was gorgeous, very grand but also felt quiet cosy and homely. the floors sloped a bit but it all added to the character and what do you expect from a building as old as it is!

We had a large bathroom with a free standing bath AND separate power shower. The bathroom was also decorated lovely. Room and bathroom were both clean and I cannot fault the staff who were very approachable. The included full english breakfast the next morning was very filling and cooked to order so was very fresh and hot.

All in all a fantastic hotel which I would definately return to. Im thinking about arranging an anniversary trip there for my parents aswell as it made such a great impression on me

  • Liked — Large rooms, friendly staff, freshly cooked breakfast
  • Disliked — No parking permit
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joey1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Nothing bad to report at all. We stayed in the Belfry room, this is the whole of the top floor of the hotel, and very well appointed . The rooms in this suite are stunning to say the least, with probably the best view in York from all windows, one side dominated by the incedible minster . Although we had to duck down to move from one room to another because of the old timbers jutting out in every direction, it was good to see the place was not full of warning stickers. if you stop in any other room you should try to view this one. The rest of the hotel is great and full of charm . The staff are extra helpfull (and they were happy) and the real ale selection fits great with the gas lighting. Perfect and we shall return.

M Johnson

  • Liked — perfect york scene
  • Disliked — have not thought of anything yet !!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Just returned from two great nights in york. The guy fawkes inn , is in a great position in the centre of york.
we arrived early to leave our bags and were directed to the car park and given the car park fee of £10 to put into the meter! The car park was a short walk away through the museum gardens, but you can park the car and forget about it as each morning the hotel put a ticket on your car, even the day we checked out, the parking was paid up till midnight.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful.
Our room was a four poster that over looked the minster, the room was lovely and had everything you would expect and more from a 3 star hotel. The shower room was small but clean and well equipped with a great power shower.
we didnt have a meal at the hotel, but we wished we had as it always looked and smelt so good. Breckfast was fantastic, even homemade baked beans.
we hope to go back soon

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — no parking on site
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sa17ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
156 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

The location of the Inn is on High Petergate and within a stones throw from the Minster and a pleasant walk from the medieval Shambles.

We stayed at the back of the inn in room 12, which is adjacent to Guy Fawkes cottage itself. Room was quiet, large, tastefully furnished and had loads of character with a huge, perfectly appointed en-suite.

The inn is lit with gas lighting, but this is the type that runs from calor gas, so its safe but modern. However, the low lighting levels do create an olde-world atmosphere which greatly add to the overall character of the place.

As other reviewers have noticed, the nearest car park at Marygate is a fair distance away, but currently, whilst waiting for the application of parking permits to be finalised, the inn will pay your parking charges and actually trot down first thing in the morning to place the ticket in your car windscreen. A nice touch!

We received a discounted price from Last Minute of £140 per night which didn't include breakfast. To be honest, this was a bit on the pricey side bearing in mind the distance from a car park. £110 - 120 would be more reasonable

  • Liked — Great character
  • Disliked — Parking was too far away
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn for two nights recently, with my wife and baby, and a very pleasant stay it was too.
Firstly, the position: very central, right opposite the Minster. Great views of same.
Secondly, the room: number 7, second floor (third floor to our American cousins). Beautiful. Four poster bed, wooden floors, antique furniture, sash windows, walk in wardrobe, etc.
Thirdly, the service: First class. Very helpful with the baby, looked after her while I loaded up the car. Paid our parking fee for us, so we didn't have to get up at 7am to walk the 3/4 mile to the car park.
Fourthly, the breakfast: Delicious!
Fifthly, the decor: gas lights, open fires, oak tables.
All in all, a great experience.
However, I'm knocking a point off for the lack of convenient parking, the tiny shower room and the absence of a cot and high chair.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The lack of nearby parking.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slingerlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#32 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Property: Guy Fawkes Inn
Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing