We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guy Fawkes Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
US$68
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
657
453
222
111
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
453
222
111
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelfry suitefour postergas lightsthe pubyork minstersteak pieblack puddingsteeped in historybeer gardenposter roombooked a tablenight porterghost walkroll top batha stones throwfantastic locationcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 as part of an anniversary party. The hotel is small and charming. Some of the rooms are very small while others quite large. You stay in a place like this for the atmosphere and to be in the centre of old York.

We also ate here one night. The food was fine but not at a calibre I had expected.

If I was coming to York again, I would stay at this hotel - a 10 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the excellent location and the atmosphere we have created, which, with the original gas lights, candles and antique furnishings etc., sets us apart from the other inns in York.
I would have liked to hear more regarding your food expectations, as our classic British with a twist menu has received some very good reviews indeed. However we appreciate the fact that it might have not met your standards and we will most definitely take that on board.
Thank you again, and I hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a fabulous stay at the guy Fawkes inn! Room was lovely and great evening meal!

The atmosphere in the whole place was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The manager was extremely helpful and polite throughout our stay! We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. The beer garden was also fab very fitting and a delight on a sunny afternoon!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmoor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Wow this is such a fantastic review
We really appreciate you finding the time to leave us your thoughts and hope that we have the opportunity to provide our services to you in the future.
Kindest Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed Sunday evening in the aftermath of the Tour de France-all credit to the hotel after booking they sent us an email outlining roads closures and car park closures.
Luckily we took the train as expected it was really busy.
Checked in and sat down for what was an amazing meal feeling thoroughly satisfied we spent some time in York before returning back to be entertained by live music our only complaint was it had to finish early due to residents in the hotel whilst I understood this it might be best to ask guests when they check in if they would like to listen to the music as we would of happily liked it to go on longer.
The room was lovely, the only thing was the sash window was broken so was unable to lift it higher than an inch or two which on a very warm night wasn't particularly pleasant but this was only a minor inconvenience as the rest of the stay was extremely pleasant in a wonderfully charming and characteristic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thankyou so mush for your great feedback.
We really hope that you will be back to stay with us very soon.
Kindest Regards
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

well after a fantastic Tour de France , we were hungry and decided to eat here , having stayed in the past. Well we had the lighter menu and had fish finger sandwiches and chips ... just the job , all handmade , superb and service excellent as usual . York was brilliant during TDF and your food was brilliant
. thanks

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nickh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane w, General Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for this fab review.
We really appreciate your kind words and hope that you will continue to support us with your repeated custom for many years to come.
We value everyone of our customers and really reap the rewards of such fantastic feedback.
Hope to see you soon
Best wishes
Shane Wood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

i booked a four poster room in december last year for close proxcimity to the tour de france passing through yesterday 6/7/14, 4 days before arrival had a phone call and general e-mail saying that the hotel could not g,tee a parking spot which led to bit of panic, on arrival we were asked to pay up front (a little unusual but we were soon to find out why !) could not have a receipt printer run out of ink, had a superb meal -steak &ale pie-, well the four poster bed room -broken floor tiles in the bathroom light not working, bottom of shower covered with black mould the window was a sash window which we had to wedge open with a rolled up newspaper because the cord was broken to negate the occasional drain smell coming from the shower,
saturday -sent back breakfast , beans cold
sunday down for 8 am to enable us to leave and get a good vantage point unfortunately
although all the business and b&b and hotels had been informed by the York City council that the roads would be closed the chef must have been in la la land because he decided he could/would not make it in to work hence then a mad panic to get a temporary chef in we finally got our breakfast an hour later with burnt bacon to boot !!
we came to check out and pay for the meal on friday - printer still not working
3 nights accomodation cost me £588.00 and i certainly do not think i got value for money , if you want quirkeyness you have got it in spades full but for that sort of money i would expect a standard of care way above that the guy fawkes inn aspires to, so dissapointed

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We highly value all reviews and take any comments on board, which allows us to improve things that need to be improved and to create a better customer service. In this case your notes regarding the room and breakfast service have been taken into account and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism.
As for the price of the accommodation, it is also dictated by the excellent prime location of the inn, historic value, season peak time and a major event happening in York at the time. Thousands of Tour De France spectators came to York and our central location made it a very desirable place to stay. The event also caused traffic issues which we could not avoid, however our reservations team made a very good effort contacting each of our customers staying that weekend to inform them regarding the situation.
I am very disappointed that your stay was not as good as expected and I can only hope that you would give us another try in the future and have the great experience that 74% of our customers have.

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews