We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean comfy rooms, hard working staff, perfect couples break. Great atmosphere, thoroughly enjoyed it. Good food, the lunchtime burger and onion rings were amazing!! Reasonably priced drinks and literally steps away from the minster and all that York has to offer

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your retreat at the Guy Fawkes Inn. I have passed your comments on to our staff and chefs and they were delighted to hear them too. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Guy Fawkes and would definitely stay there again. This historic pub in the heart of York was an excellent find. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are decorated with character and the pub has a great atmosphere. The tasty breakfasts set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DJ_WILSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you guys for the amazing review. I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for just the 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. As soon as you walk into the Inn you are immersed in the atmosphere of medieval York with candlelight and dark wood nooks and crannies. Our room (12) was in the rear courtyard and was very comfy with an extremely large bathroom.
The bar serves a great selection of craft ales and is popular with a mixed selection of clientele. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic. The steak pie was huge but full of flavoursome meat and my stuffed chicken breast was extremely tasty.
All of the staff were welcoming and very friendly and I would not hesitate in recommending this Inn to friends and family, I have already booked again to come back in September.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that we will be seeing you again very soon! I have passed your comments about the service and food on to our staff and they are delighted.
Thank you again and we will be happy to see you any day now!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed with my partner on Wednesday 27 August this year. Having eaten and had drinks here a few times before we had never stayed so this was our first stay. We stayed in room 9 in the house at the back and although you go through the beer garden I must say it was not as noisy as other reviewers have stated. The room was well laid out, a really comfortable bed and the breakfast was excellent. Staff are all very polite and freindly and having a drink in the bar after 11.00pm as a resident is no problem at all. Overall the service, location and accomodation is very good, just what I expected. As you would expect from a building a few hundred years old It's not your typical "clean cut" hotel which makes alot of places seem cold and sterile so expect a few little quirks which add to the character and old world charm of the place. Great location too. Would definatley stay again and would reccomend to anyone who likes somwhere different with a touch of history and charm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waddywoody21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have embraced the character and quirkyness of the Guy Fawkes Inn during your stay.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you again soon for another drink or nights stay!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Guy Fawkes Inn York for 2 night this is a hotel I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in York it is central to everything with a breathtaking view of York Minster. The hotel itself is very atmospheric old gas lights and candles in the bar and restaurant area giving it a very old and spooky feel. The staff are first rate they cannot do enough for you anything you need they will help you with even if they are really busy which biggest part of the time they are but nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. The room we stayed in had a big old 4 poster bed and the furnishings were in keeping with the old style of the hotel and fit In perfectly , well done to who ever designed these rooms because they were perfect. The food was really nice very well presented and tasted very well just like a nice home cooked meal beautiful. I cannot find one thing to complain about in regards to this holt all I can say is a very big thank you to all the staff for making our little break in York on to remember so thank you. The Bolton family

Stayed: August 2014
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you, Bolton family, for such a great review! It was a pleasure to have you as customers; I and the rest of our staff are absolutely delighted with your comments. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed everything about the Guy Fawkes Inn - the stay, the food, the atmosphere, and we certainly hope that you will visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited York this week for the first time and chose the Guy Fawkes Inn due to its central location. The hotel faces the Minster and has a pub and restaurant on the ground floor. The building is a lovely period property, steeped in history and kept in very good condition.

We stayed in a four poster room that overlooked the Minster - the view was probably the best in York. The room was a real treat, complimenting the age of the building, full of antiques with big heavy curtains. Had a sneaky peak at the non four poster rooms that are equally as impressive - no Premier Inn/ Marriott forgettable interiors here.

The pub is great to drink in - good ales on offer, friendly staff, very cosy and in keeping with the building - furniture includes a suit of armour, grandfather clock etc. The food in the restaurant is amazing - enjoyed all three courses in a candlelit environment.

I don't have a bad word to say about the Guy Fawkes Inn - its fantastic and we will return. This is the sort of place we should have in London but don't.

This is definitely the place for you if you want to steer away from the drab 4 star chain hotels on offer - great to eat, drink and sleep - yes you can hear the sounds of the city outside but that's what happens when you stay in a city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rea1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Fantastic comments, thank you very much! I am delighted that you have embraced the character and history that the Guy Fawkes Inn has to offer. We all work hard to keep the inn a distinct and charismatic place with a difference. London is only two hours away so we hope to see you again soon!
Thank you again for your lovely review.

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here before and once again it was absolubtely amazing. The staff were brilliant as all ways, friendly and courteous. Good service , red wine at the ideal temperature. I can not recommend the guy fawkes enough, one of the best placels to eat and drink in York.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that once again you have received an excellent dining experience.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Aggi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 194 in York
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 194 in York
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £112 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing