We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL, LOCATION & SERVICE”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #43 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Just returned from staying at The Guy Fawkes Inn and was worried about the comments on the site about cash problems. Hotel called us and advised us that they could not take credit cards so we were made aware.

On arrival the staff were helpful and the rooms are immaculate with traditional decor, comfartable bed and a hidden modern en-suite.

It is right opposite the Minster and a bit difficult to find but once you are there it is central to the whole of York.

Could not fault the hotel in any way and if they have cash flow problems then I think it will only be short term as the pub, food etc seemed busy without it being overcrowded.

Only point to note for travellers is that you do not need an alarm for the Sunday as the MINSTER bells start at 9am and go on for nearly an hour, but only on a Sunday.

As stated an excellent venue and we will probably be back there next year or possibly even sooner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfshopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

We had booked a weekend break here and were really looking forward to it. Having read reviews on trip advisor about cash only and the car park being a 5 minute walk away I was not bothered by these comments at all. The hotel is fantastic, the staff are attentive, the rooms are beautiful with a nice en-suite we stayed in Room 6 and it was a gorgeous room. The breakfasts were good and the location is second to none. This hotel is a real gem and the perfect base for exploring York. Also you must try the italian just up the road from it on the left hanside not sure what its called but it was the former York college for girls. It was fantastic. A great weekend break and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_TomSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We had booked for 11 & 12th May, & phoned the week before to confirm. On arrival, were told "There's a problem with the electrics, but we've arranged for you to stay at our sister hotel, the Lamb & Lion"... they hadn't, but luckily a room was available.

That evening, we noted the Guy Fawkes closed, as it was the next, & next morning. Are there no electricians in York?

In the Lamb & Lion, they had signs up saying they could no longer accept credit cards, similar to what we've heard about the Guy Fawkes Inn.

Oh dear, as a former accountant, I recognise some signs of business in trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sid_Severn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I booked two nights at the Guy Fawkes for our wedding anniversary. The location is simply amazing, literally a stones throw from the Minster.
We had booked into a deluxe double (no 12) which was on the ground floor facing the courtyard. The room was well furnished and was very pleasant. The bar stops serving at 11pm but guests can drink on. So, unfortunately the first night we were kept awake until nearly 3am which didn't make a good first impression! The following morning i spoke with a member of staff, who was extremely helpful and immediately upgraded us to a four poster suite at no extra cost. The room was superb and we had an excellent nights sleep.
Overall, the hotel was excellent, the breakfast tasty, the bar was a gem (gas lit) and the location unbeatable. Would highly recommend, as long as you don't stay in room 12!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

had a great night here. traditional oldy worldy B&B right in the hub of the city -location is what your paying for here (£150-00). Mister bells woke us sunday morning and you cant turn them off! gas lamps wooden sloping floors winding staircase theyre all here.
Good traditional brekie Nice oldy worldy room with four poster and ensuite which to be critical could have been cleaner. Recomend the house wine.
The web page states that theres a minimum 2 night stay - but on enquiring we managed the one sat night.wished we could have stayed on as one night dosnt do york justice.
Will be going back to york soon ,not sure if it will be the Guy fawkes but thats cost reasons only. Highly recomend the Guy Fawkes.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortysgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

This charming inn is just about the best location in York that I could find. Especially if you're there to see the medieval city. I was in a four poster room overlooking York Minster Cathedral and square. One of the best view's I've ever had in a hotel. The room was very large and comfortable and everything was extremely clean and new.

The staff is very friendly but seems to lack attention to details. Lights were burnt out in the room and Kleenex boxes were never refilled. I would not by any means consider this a full service hotel. Its basically a pub with rooms. You shouldn't even think of staying here if you need to get to sleep before 11:30PM when the pub clears out. It didn't affect me as I was also out exploring York's great night life and pubs.

You will also be lied to when checking in. You will be told that their credit card machine is "broken" and must pay in cash. I was prepared for this after reading past posts and being forewarned. I hate being lied to like this - please just tell me the truth. Obviously they're trying to avoid criticism from customers of not taking credit cards.

I was also asked by many locals how the service was - they were not surprised by my replies. I also met a previous manager of the inn under the previous owners and he told me lots of great historical info about the inn. The Archbishop of York had rooms there and he told me that his coat of arms was still on the second level - unfortunately I didn't get a chance to look for them.

Overall, not a great value. But, if you want the feeling of staying in an historic building and an A++ location within the city walls, don't mind the service, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjcjr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Just returned from a one night stay at the Guy Fawkes inn and enjoyed every minute. On arrival we pulled up car opposite the Dean Court Hotel and my husband took the bags to check in. We arrived a good two hours earlier than the 2pm check in time but found that it wasn't a problem and were able to leave bags in our room (which was in the process of being cleaned). We made our booking with bookings.com and paid for one of the standard double guy fawkes room @ a cost of £90 saving a considerable amount on the usual price. We were pleasantly suprised to find that we had been upgraded to a four poster room with views of the minster!! Can honestly say that the stay was excellent. The rooms aren't the most huge rooms in the world but you don't come to York just to stay in the room all day... The room was well enough equipped, quaint and welcoming. The only thing that was missing were the usual biscuits but hey can't really moan about that! Some people have mentioned in their reviews that the rooms are noisy due to rubbish collections early in the morning - well yes we were woken up at 5am briefly but you are staying in a city centre and they can hardly collect during the day when the streets are filled with people! The breakfast was really nice..everything you would expect from a hotel breakfast. The inn is really atmospheric and staff pleasant. Will definately be returning..

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomattmollava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 194 in York
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 194 in York
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £111 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing