We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good location and historic Inn. Recommended”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #37 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We did a DVD documentary on the place about the hauntings, yes it is haunted but nicely, and I was really impressed with the place. The rooms are great, well presented and clean, the staff are friendly and the food was really good. The breakfast was excellent and I would eat there again. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ghostcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,355 - 1,361 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

First a confession - we didn't stay here but we did have a good nose around and looked at a couple of the rooms. We heard about it after we asked the tour guide on the excellent York Viking Walk for a nice pub for an evening meal. We wanted somewhere old fashioned and homely. We enjoyed our meal so much in the old fashioned restaurant that we asked to look at a couple of rooms and they were fabulous - big, comfortable, great views, clean - I could go on, We will definitely stay here next time we come to York!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Me, my mother and son , stayed there the other day and got the suite very cheap.
It was brilliant and it can sleep 6
All the staff are very friendly and the food is wonderfull


We are defentily staying there again soon :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMatzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay, my boyfriend booked this hotel for valentines day and we were upgraded to their four poster bedroom once we arrived. The room was huge with an enormous sash window and the bathroom was gorgeous with a roll top bath, fantastic shower & L'Occitane goodies. The staff couldnt have been friendlier or more helpful. The fact that you can come back to the Inn at anytime is fab and the bar stays open for as long as you want to drink! We took the train as I think York is a difficult place to try & park anyway, wherever you stay. They had a problem with taking card payments when we checked out but there are cash machines literally round the corner & they didnt mind that we left to go and get cash out. Really wasnt an issue as we had such a fantastic stay there. I would definitly reccomend this hotel especially if you like visiting somewhere a little bit different. Everything was perfect couldnt have wished for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ80pboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This Hotel was the best i'd ever stayed in. Friendly and Helpful staff, who reccomended restaurants and made reservations for us (ringing around several to get us a booking!) and who ran out several times a day to top up our parking permit (at no extra cost to us!) and were able to make reccomendations from the very well stocked bar - we were in in real ale and whisky heaven! The room itself was stunning, as a surprise my partner paid for the four poster room and while you could hear the bar noise below that's to be expected in an old building and since the room, bathroom (wiuth luxuary toiletries!) and hotel were so incredible it didn't detract from our experience at all! Oh, and the breakfast was incredible. It's a nice treat to be offered a choice of breakfast dishes! Thank you for a wonderful stay and many happy memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airy_fairy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Well, what a surprise this hotel is. We arrived on 1st August and was surprised to see how close is was to York Minster. We then entered and it was like stepping back in time. The bar area and restaurant was gas lit - the only one in York I believe and it was just oozing with historic charm and character. We were shown to our room which was at the front of the building with full views of the Minster. The room was charming - lovely dark wooden floors and furniture with a comfortable four poster bed. A modern bathroom with the most wonderful toiletries completed the experience.

Having settled in we decided to eat in the restaurant downstairs and chose from a menu that included Fiery Fawkes sausages and other local fayre. In addition, there was a selection of seven real ales which all seemed to come from within the county of Yorkshire.

Overall, our time spent at the Guy Fawkes Inn was well worth it. The staff were very friendly and it proved to be an excellent base from which to explore York.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at Guy Fawkes last weekend, and I have to say we both had a wonderful time.

Yes the staff informed us that the hotel was in administration, but to me that gives security rather than concern, people really should check their facts before writing scare stories.

Anyway, to continue. We had booked a double room but the staff very kindly upgraded us to a Four Poster as they had one available, so that made the weekend get off to a great start, especially as we had a deal anyway through a hotel rooms website!

The room was gorgeous and had amazing views of the Minster. They had also some lovely Italian toiletries which gave a luxury feel to an otherwise simple bathroom.

Breakfast was very good, and the choice extensive, over the two mornings I had the Kippers and the full English, each one was excellent. We didn't eat in the hotel during the day as York has much to see! But boy did we utilise the bar. A huge selection of real ales, and some very good bottled beers and whiskies.

Overall it was a fab and very different place to stay, I'd recommend it without hesitation and we are due to return to York in September so will make enquiries shortly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugeneheathcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#16 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £87 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing