We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Guy Fawkes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Fawkes Inn
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2009

my partner booked this as a surprise romantic night away, and i was not disappointed. We arrived just after lunch and went straight to the hotel, where we were shown straight up to our room, number3. It was lovely, with a 4 poster bed. The room was decoracted in an old fashioned style, but not dated it was very tastefully done. Unfortunately we did not dine at the hotel, but the smell of the food was fantastic and downstairs in the restuarant appeared busy. However the location was great just in the centre, it was quite noisy, with the minster bells and streams of people going past. The room itself was very hot and the windows had to be kept open, which also did not help. There were no bottles of water in our room which i could have done with and was a pain. The lighting was also poor. I realise that the hotel is supposed to be authentic, even a lamp on the dresser drawers where there is a mirror would have been useful. The breakfast was great and very tasty, however we went back to our room to get ready and staff told us that the windows were being cleaned, we had to shut the windows and close the curtains, which made the lighting conditions even worse, but i know this has to be done at some point! overall i would definatley recommed this hotel, our stay was lush.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

I can confirm that this hotel is in administration, and in my opinion should be closed down.
We stayed at the Guy Fawkes inn 2 years ago and had a fantastic stay, unfortunately since than it has changed hands and without beating around the bush it is an absolute shambles, no thought is given to the guest and all attention is focused on the Bar customers, it is really important to remember that this is a working pub which doesn’t close until 1am, and it does get really rowdy.
My wife and i checked in to the Guy Fawkes and were met by a friendly young lady who showed us to our room telling us if we encountered any problems just come down and there would be someone to help, room was spacious and looked clean and tidy, after a busy day in York we returned to the hotel and found it to be bursting at the seams with drunks, after making our way through the rabble we entered our room which was on the 1st floor, the noise was unbearable, however we did keep telling ourselves that this is a pub and not a proper hotel, i tried to turn the TV on and there was no picture, i reported this and was told someone would be up shortly, after a while i reported it again and was told the same thing, the next morning i was still waiting.
At 1am the noise finally subsided and it was our chance to sleep, or so we thought, the porter / late bar tender was entertaining 2 young ladies in the bar and courtyard, eventually i snapped and had some choice words which did the trick, finally at 01.30 some well deserved sleep was granted by the now peaceful Guy Fawkes Inn.
Morning came and with bags under our eyes we made our way down to breakfast, before the takeover breakfast was a joy in the guy Fawkes, a real abundance of choice and a cooked breakfast to die for, now its carton orange juice and a cooked breakfast made of the cheapest ingredients known to man, and trust me i know my food. My wife ordered a bacon roll which was burned so badly it was inedible.
I stay in hotels at least once a week and have done so for the last 5 years, i can say with my hand on my heart this is one of the WORST experiences in a hotel i have ever had, shoddy service, noise levels far exceeding the acceptable to 1am, and a bad breakfast, which is a real shame as this used to be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calan-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We did a DVD documentary on the place about the hauntings, yes it is haunted but nicely, and I was really impressed with the place. The rooms are great, well presented and clean, the staff are friendly and the food was really good. The breakfast was excellent and I would eat there again. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ghostcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

First a confession - we didn't stay here but we did have a good nose around and looked at a couple of the rooms. We heard about it after we asked the tour guide on the excellent York Viking Walk for a nice pub for an evening meal. We wanted somewhere old fashioned and homely. We enjoyed our meal so much in the old fashioned restaurant that we asked to look at a couple of rooms and they were fabulous - big, comfortable, great views, clean - I could go on, We will definitely stay here next time we come to York!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Me, my mother and son , stayed there the other day and got the suite very cheap.
It was brilliant and it can sleep 6
All the staff are very friendly and the food is wonderfull


We are defentily staying there again soon :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMatzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay, my boyfriend booked this hotel for valentines day and we were upgraded to their four poster bedroom once we arrived. The room was huge with an enormous sash window and the bathroom was gorgeous with a roll top bath, fantastic shower & L'Occitane goodies. The staff couldnt have been friendlier or more helpful. The fact that you can come back to the Inn at anytime is fab and the bar stays open for as long as you want to drink! We took the train as I think York is a difficult place to try & park anyway, wherever you stay. They had a problem with taking card payments when we checked out but there are cash machines literally round the corner & they didnt mind that we left to go and get cash out. Really wasnt an issue as we had such a fantastic stay there. I would definitly reccomend this hotel especially if you like visiting somewhere a little bit different. Everything was perfect couldnt have wished for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ80pboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This Hotel was the best i'd ever stayed in. Friendly and Helpful staff, who reccomended restaurants and made reservations for us (ringing around several to get us a booking!) and who ran out several times a day to top up our parking permit (at no extra cost to us!) and were able to make reccomendations from the very well stocked bar - we were in in real ale and whisky heaven! The room itself was stunning, as a surprise my partner paid for the four poster room and while you could hear the bar noise below that's to be expected in an old building and since the room, bathroom (wiuth luxuary toiletries!) and hotel were so incredible it didn't detract from our experience at all! Oh, and the breakfast was incredible. It's a nice treat to be offered a choice of breakfast dishes! Thank you for a wonderful stay and many happy memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airy_fairy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £99 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing