We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Historical Tour”

Footprints Tours York
Ranked #14 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Footprints Tours is now doing a FREE tour in York with History students from York University! Our guides provide fun and interesting walking tours of York, covering it's traditional history, along with the slightly more bizarre aspects. We also run a unique York pub tour; an education in intoxication!
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Historical Tour”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to do the Footprints Tour of York together with my Canadian friends, and we were not disappointed. It was fun and exciting and we would definitely recommend it to everyone.
A big thank you to Dan for making our afternoon so enjoyable!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 22lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    15
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun historical tour of York ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Starting on Stonegate we were taken around York and told all about the history in an interactive and enjoyable way. Great way to see York for people of all ages. Wouldn't work for people with wheelchairs as steps are involved, but it's accessible with a pushchair.

Helpful?
1 Thank meganchown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

An informative and enjoyable tour. Very enthusiastic and in depth knowledge. The two hours went by very quickly would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Barracloughjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A walking tour is the best way to see this wonderful city. Historical data can get a bit boring but our tour guide Daniel made it into a very interesting and humorous 2 hours. He certainly knew all the facts about this historic city and was able to convey them to the group in a wonderful manner. We will certainly use Footprints in other cities if this is a measure of their expertise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 500TravellerCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“York through the eyes of an incredible guide.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hazel was the most well informed and interesting guide we have ever experienced. On her own admission she had only been in York for a year but she knew it geographically and historically inside out. And she imparted that knowledge with a humour and wit that kept the whole party enthralled for the full two hours. My wife and I felt incredibly honoured just to be in her presence. Although we were only in York for one day we would have joined the tour again in the afternoon, had she been conducting one and feel sure we would have absorbed even more of the wealth of information she provided.
Although the tour is a free one (tips only) I defy anyone not to feel that a tip in excess of the 'paid for' tours on offer would be fully deserved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnlyTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footprints Tours York also viewed

 
Clifton, York
 

Been to Footprints Tours York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing