We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolutely quaint and fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What an absolutely quaint and fabulous B&B”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is worth staying just for the experience. The staff could not have been nicer, looked after my luggage when I arrived way too early to book in, told me where the best places to eat out were, and were exceptionally helpful. I stayed in St Aidens, a single with just a sink, but there were ample toilet facilities on the floor, so no problems at all. The linen and towels were lovely and clean and the breakfast was superb. Just a stones throw from the station.
Please do not try to compare this with a 4* hotel, it is an exceptional B&B...There was no TV in my room (to me that's no problem), but there was a communal room with a TV, a pool table, and a fridge and kitchen. A shop on site, a museum on site and all for a fraction of the prices in the rest of York. Would I go there again? YES I most certainly will. No frills but an absolute must

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alpacabreeder325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    97
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
73
59
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were looking for somewhere affordable but not too far outside the City Walls - Bar Convent seemed too good to be true!! After checking out the website I decided to make enquiries/booking over the phone so as to get a 'feel' for the place. I was dealt with efficiently yet pleasantly, making a deposit was easy, with several options available. Within a few days I received written confirmation with a receipt for the deposit along with a nicely presented glossy information leaflet.
We arrived before check in time but we were given a place to store our bags.
As it was lunchtime this gave us a chance to sample the food in the cafe. The website makes a point of stating that Gluten Free items are always available whether for breakfast, main meals, afternoon tea or takeaway menus. We are always a bit suspicious about this type of claim but we were delighted to find that the staff knew the menus inside out and had no problem pointing out what was gluten free. It wasn't just a token item here and there either, there was plenty of varied choice - a stand out start to our experience.
We were shown to our rooms by the Housekeeper who explained all we needed to know regarding key access, breakfast arrangements, WiFi access etc. and all of this information was also contained in a folder and on a notice board in the rooms. We had one double en-suite room and one single room with a sink. There are more than adequate toilets/bath/shower rooms on each floor and all of them spotlessly clean. Both rooms had a kettle along with a good selection of hot Fairtrade drinks and nice biscuits, all replenished daily with the added option of having fresh milk from the cafe each day if required. Good quality towels were also provided with the option of fresh replacement each day. The beds had good quality linen and pillows and they were very comfortable. There was adequate storage and a full length mirror as well as a dressing table in the en-suite room. Each room also had a good size electric fan which would come in handy on very hot days/evenings as it is an old building probably designed to keep heat in and cold out. The windows could be opened for fresh air too. The en-suite room had a great wall mounted TV with all the regular free view channels. There was also a bedside radio/clock/alarm/CD player and a hair dryer. The single room also had a radio alarm. Both rooms had adequate socket points and a telephone for internal/incoming calls.
Each floor also has a large, clean, well equipped kitchen/dining area with fridge freezer, cooker, microwave. Cold plated meals can be ordered for the evening and they will be labelled and placed in the fridge on your floor. There is also a recreation room with pool table, board games, couches and TV.
Breakfast is served from 7.45am - 10am in the cafe on the ground floor. A great choice of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, croissants, jams, marmalade, tea, coffee and juices all included in the cost of your accommodation. If in an en-suite also included is a wonderful FULL English breakfast - delicious. Anyone can have the cooked option for an extra £4.50, great value. It's worth mentioning that the coffee here is excellent.
As for location, 5 minute walk from York rail station, right on the doorstop of Micklegate/city walls and a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the heart of the city (steep hill on walk back), plenty of places to eat, drink, buy essentials within a couple of minutes walk.
We found the staff throughout our 4 day stay were pleasant, helpful and friendly, they were always on hand when needed and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We didn't get a chance to explore the garden or the chapel and museum because we were so busy seeing York but that gives us a great excuse to return to Bar Convent - and we certainly will, hopefully before the year is out.
We would recommend Bar Convent to anyone wishing to stay close to the centre of York in clean, comfortable, affordable, friendly accommodation with the added bonus of good fresh food with a genuine gluten free option.

Room Tip: Although it's worth paying the extra for en-suite, now that we know that the toilet/shower/bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had trouble finding an affordable place to stay in York close to the centre. My friend had remembered reading about the convent in a magazine, so we checked it out. It was the perfect place to stay! Right outside the Micklegate Bar (which is soooo "Medievally" neat!) The parking lot across the street is affordable if you do the longterm option. Rooms are simple, but adequate. It is rather confusing to find your way, so have the attendant show you your way. The toilets were a little hard to find - there was only one on our whole floor, which seemed a bit sparse, but it worked since there were not many others on our floor. The breakfast room was pleasant with a view of the garden. Continental breakfast is included. It only took us about 10-15 minutes to walk to the Minster on the walls from there, so it was the perfect location!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Arrived too early to book in; luggage safely locked away for me, with a pleasant smile - very welcoming. They also looked after said luggage while I was out the next day, even though I'd checked out.
I liked my room - St Luke - which is on the quiet side of the building, although not en-suite. The bathroom, with an excellent shower, was only a second or two down the corridor. It was spotlessly clean and the towels were lovely.
I had the continental breakfast the next day. Croissant was a bit dry, but I thought that was because I got to breakfast a bit late!
I was impressed with how friendly and helpful everyone was. I would definitely stay again, especially as the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: It would be better to have a room in the middle rather than on the raod side, but you'd need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judethepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Bar Convent, in Blossom Street York, is the most quirky place I have ever stayed and we loved it. It is really friendly and central , and easy to get to from the York Railway Station.
Once the Mother House Convent of the Mary Ward sisters in England, it retains something of its convent atmosphere though now there are very few nuns left and you don't really see them, and it is run as a B&B and conference centre. The entrance hall is spectacular, with glass domes roof and coloured tiles. The rooms and corridors are in rabbit-warren corridors, and of all shapes and sizes and have saint's names on their doors, and have all been converted to an acceptable degree of modern comfort . with that slight feeling of living in a nunnery at the back of one's mind. This is acentuated by the gorgeous blue, white and gold chapel in the middle of the building, buit to be invisible to persecutors in Tudor Times, Priest's Hole and all, and the hugely interesting museum on the first floor.
A substantial breakfast is available in the on-site cafe, as is lunch ( but York offers so many other places to eat it would be a shame to stay in ). Prices are reasonable, and all in all it offers a unique experience . You will enjoy it if you are attracted to Tudor history.
And the B& B rates are really reasonable.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en suite bathrooms, - if one is not available ask for a room with an adjoining ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelajoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This guest house is very special. It is a lovely building steeped in history with a chapel hidden from view, a cafe, a tea garden, games room and plenty of character. We had a lovely stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Excellent location, 5 mins from station, and 10 mins to most places in city centre. Close to Micklegate bar and city walls. I stayed in St Luke, one of the non en suite rooms, but didn't ever need to queue for bathrooms etc. Room was quite narrow, but not poky. And faced the courtyard, so traffic noise not a problem. Plenty of tea/coffee things, and a good radio alarm. Continental breakfast very good, and good, inexpensive home-cooked selection for lunch as well. A lot of good places for evening meals within 10 mins walk, including the lively and good-value Punch Bowl (a J D Wetherspoon Pub) across the road. Luggage storage on last day very useful, and all staff friendly and helpful. Place was not super-de-luxe, but had real character and was warm, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#12 of 51 in York
762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.5 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Convent is England's oldest living convent, established in 1686 as a school for girls. Today, the Grade I Listed building is one of York's most unique places to stay, promising peace, quiet and friendly service in a heritage setting. Our rooms are largely en-suite, with a few lower-priced rooms on the top floor with shared bathroom facilities. There is an award-winning café on site, as well as an state-of-the-art Exhibition on the convent's fascinating history. Just around the corner from York Rail Station, and only minutes into the centre of town, The Bar Convent's location is second-to-none and provides easy access to the city's famous walls. A large number of restaurants, pubs and bars are nearby. The Bar Convent is proud to provide York's warmest welcome, to those of all faiths and none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Convent Hotel York
Bar Convent b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing