We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice little find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked with the wife for 1 night prior to a Wedding in York. It was very well priced and included a cooked breakfast which was actually very good. I have to say this is one of the quirkiest Hotels we've ever stopped in. As the name suggests its was a Convent until 1985. The Room was large and en-suite (some rooms aren't) and looks like it was recently refurbished. It was well insulated from the sounds of the City. It is in a good location with Bars and restaurants in tripping distance. The hotel has lovely cafe if your just after a snack before heading into the city. On the downside it doesn't have its own car park, but the Pay and Display is right next to it but can be expensive. We arrived at around 3pm and paid eight pound which took us to 08:01 the next morning this was a bit of a pain as it meant we had to get up earlier than we'd hoped.

We would use it again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check whether en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The B&B is in fact in the same building as a still-functioning convent. The rooms are named after saints; our room was named after one of the gospel writers. This was a bit odd for us (maybe even a little on the creepy side), but seemed somehow appropriate for the venue. They also display a note on the door that people of all faiths (or no faith) are welcome, which we appreciated.

The location is great - about a five minute walk from the railway station (though be warned if you're hauling heavy luggage: there is an overpass to traverse). The convent is across the street from the Mickelgate. This makes it a great place to start wandering around the city centre, if you're inclined to wander. There's a tiny bit of street noise outside the room, but honestly not too bad even with the windows open. No air conditioning, but they provide a good floor fan to help keep the room comfortable. We were surprised at all of the comforts included in the room, from a nice coffee/tea selection to a flatscreen TV. Even the bathroom and the shower were quite modern. There is an enormous lift, complete with chairs (which are apparently for the comfort of some of the more elderly nuns).

Breakfast in the cafe downstairs was yummy and hearty, and the service was incredibly friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Situated just outside Micklegate, the Bar Convent is about 20 minutes away from York Minster and the city centre. It's a very small hotel with little rooms, but our room had lots of light and large windows. The place may look old from the outside but the rooms are set up nicely and are modern, and very clean. I only stayed there one night but it's very comfortable and I would have stayed there longer if I had to spend more than one night in York. For me the best part was breakfast though. You can ask for an English breakfast which is amazing. I got to have black pudding and sausages in the morning. When we asked for scrambled eggs instead of fried they had no problem with it (and it was lovely). There were also fresh croissants, cereals and yogurts. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a wonderful place, close to the train station, parking available, if needed. There is a cafe on the ground floor where you can be served breakfast Continental style or extra for Full English. There are some nuns still living there but it is run by other people. I think a lot of churches use it for retreats. If you want some quiet, this is the place for you. The rooms are not #'d, but each has the name of a saint w/ a little painting (St Francis, St Cecilia, et al). The prices are reasonable, some ensuite & some shared bath. The best part for us, are cute little kitchens on each floor, so you can fix a sandwich or have some tea at night. If you are trying to economize, you could cook your own meals - there are a couple of grocery stores within walking distance. It might be a bit of a walk for some to the old town centre, but we enjoyed the walk (10-15 minutes)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Looking for somewhere clean, but not expensive; non-smoking, no loud music from guests, no piped music in lifts etc, and definitely no loud parties and drunken revelers? Then without a doubt this is a good place to stay in York; and in my opinion after several visits, definitely the best.

Only a short stroll from the railway station. Run by nice smiley courteous people, with nice smiley courteous guests.

I love it. Have stayed there on numerous occasions when in Yorkshire, and repeat visits says it all.

And where else can you wake up at 7.30 to a faint sound of someone practicing on the organ?

Room Tip: Rooms that face onto the inner courtyard are quieter. Breakfast outside in the enclosed garden are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

seeing from the exterior , i can't be sure if that was a B&B hotel, i wonder where is the entrance on our arrival, a rainy day, 6 pm...
the new staff took us to a lift with chairs ! to go up to second floor, but he's mistaken a single room for us... :( we can see that room was basic and seem suitable for nuns, no offense. it was a convent !
luckily, the twins rooms were spacious and clean. the shower corner was just outside of our room, but we had to wonder to two sides to find the shared toilets.
overall, it was clean except the traffic was noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a room ensuite, at the other side, away from the main room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KI-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Bar Convent in a single en suite room. The room was great with lovely big shower and everything you need. One little improvement would be heavier curtains, as the room was too light for my liking.

The big area to improve is the cafe. While the food was lovely, it is far too expensive. If I pay £6.95 for a warm (it wasn't hot) baguette, I expect a side order such as chips to be included. If I wanted chips it was £2.20 extra!! This would be exorbitant even for the South! Breakfast was nice, but a little rushed. If it finishes at 10am, you can't start clearing it away at 09.45.


If you want a comfortable, reasonably priced room near the town centre then this is excellent, but eat your lunch elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#20 of 55 in York
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 55 in York
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#9 of 55 in York
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £73 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Convent is England's oldest living convent, established in 1686 as a school for girls. Today, the Grade I Listed building is one of York's most unique places to stay, promising peace, quiet and friendly service in a heritage setting. Our rooms are largely en-suite, with a few lower-priced rooms on the top floor with shared bathroom facilities. There is an award-winning café on site, as well as an state-of-the-art Exhibition on the convent's fascinating history. Just around the corner from York Rail Station, and only minutes into the centre of town, The Bar Convent's location is second-to-none and provides easy access to the city's famous walls. A large number of restaurants, pubs and bars are nearby. The Bar Convent is proud to provide York's warmest welcome, to those of all faiths and none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Convent b&b
Bar Convent Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing