We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for exploring York and the surrounds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crook Lodge Of York
Ranked #67 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal for exploring York and the surrounds”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Brian the host most welcoming and accommodating. Car parking not large but,what the heck, you cannot have everything! Well located for the town with a pleasant stroll thro' nice gardens to centre of York (10 mins). Room good, bathroom small but adequate (and how long do you stay in a bathroom?). Breakfast excellent. Brian is a wealth of knowledge on the area. Room was alongside railway into York station but it is not a main line route so didn't disturb us at all.
We stayed from 18th to 22nd Oct and thoroughly enjoyed it and will be using Crook Lodge again.
Many thanks Brian

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Crook lodge is conveniently located for the town centre and takes less than 5 minutes to walk there by walking through a nearby beautiful park. The car park is more like a driveway which can fit 2 cars wide and so when you park in the drive, you do get blocked in by other cars. You are requested to leave your car key on a hook downstairs so that your car can be moved as and when by other guests or staff which isnt ideal or the most security concious. The rooms are clean and comfortable but very very small and incredibly hot which made it uncomfortable to stay in the room for very long. The breakfast was fantastic and plentiful. Wi-Fi was non-exsistent but most likely because our room was abit away from the router. The train track also runs right next to the house so if you are a light sleeper, I would not recommend. Luckily the trains did not effect us but they do sound like they are coming into the house. Crook lodge is ideally located but over priced for the size of the room and the facilities on offer. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found the location to be perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very friendly management and staff. Room very hot and had to keep the window closed throughout our stay because of a swarm of horse flies in the honeysuckle outside the window. Owner lent us a fan, but didn't help much. Car parking very odd and had to keep car keys in room so staff can move the car when necessary. Brings the subject of insurance into question. Breakfast varied and plentiful. Owner very helpful and informative. Bathroom tiny and the over sink light didn't work. Cobwebs in the bathroom and door didn't close fully. Not disabled friendly. Delightful view over the public car park. Ideally situated for the city centre. Probably will not return, but best wishes to them.

Room Tip: Room (4) was small, hot, next to a railway line and had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7tno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My friend and I stayed 2 nights and we were really impressed. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed and linen were clean and soft. The bathroom was lovely and clean with little lotions and things provided, towels were clean and soft. Brian and his wife were exceptionally good hosts and the breakfast was outstanding. They went the extra mile for us and other guests. It is really close to town which is a bonus.I will definitely be staying there again and I highly recommend this lovely guest house to everyone. The price is very good also. 5 stars and kudos to the owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

our stay at the crook lodge started with the free parking and my car parked for me by brian who not only made us welcome but assured that we would be looked after we stayed in room 4 which was adequate and clean and good decor with stress free beds the breakfast was super and all in all a jolly good place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Crook Lodge is wonderful. The owner, Brian, is exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast ins wonderful - both cooked and cold items. Eggs are delivered from a local farm, sausage is made at the local butcher. Top quality all the way! The room was small and cozy, the shower was larger than the norm for old homes in England, everything was immaculately clean. It's very quiet at night, so sleeping was sound. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk through the park into the city center and the Minster. And if you are traveling by train, as we were, it is a 5 -10 minute walk across a foot bridge directly across the river, easy access. We loved it and highly recommend staying here while in York.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, 24th May. Crook Lodge has come on heaps and bounds since myself and my partners very first review on July 2010, and as a result this is why I find myself writing another review.

As usual the cleanliness of Crook Lodge was immaculate and Brian the owner offers exceptional knowledge of the local area as well as excellent restaurant recommendations based on places he has actually eaten at. Vacant rooms are left unlocked with the doors ajar this offered the perfect opportunity to nosey around. Since our last visit the fixtures and fitting of all rooms seem to have been improved with our room offering a new set of bedside lamps and a very grand looking antique type chair situated in the corner of the room. Although management does not comment on reviews on Trip advisor all previous niggles do seemed to have been resolved this has led me to believe the owner keeps an active eye on reviews.

WIFI reception on this visit as improved dramatically with the introduction of 2 new routers on display in the office / reception room. These offered excellent WIFI coverage with improved signal and excellent reliability. The internet actually worked hassle free throughout the entire length of our stay, even when browsing the internet at unsociable hours of the morning. TV reception has also improved with all Freeview channels available and working perfectly.

Breakfast as our previous visits was exceptional with myself taking advantage of a very tasty full English breakfast each morning. Brian was even able to accommodate my partner’s combination requests without any bother. (Bacon sandwiches etc)
One morning after chatting with Brian it came to our attention that one of his rooms has an en-suite bath. Myself and my partner asked if it would be possible to see this room, this request was dealt with very easily without any hassle or aggravation at all. We where under the impression that all rooms at Crook Lodge where en-suite with showers only, maybe Brian should advertise this particular room a bit better, as it is fairly unusual for a guest house of this size to offer a bath en-suite.

York is a wonderful city we find ourselves returning to time after time never growing tired. After our recent visit to Crook Lodge and the improvements which have taken place addressing all the faults reviewed previously, myself and my partner will offer no hesitation in returning back to Crook Lodge in the future. I urge everyone who visits Crook Lodge to review here on Trip advisor as number 82 does not offer Crook Lodge the praise it deserves.

Being picky my only niggle is that the hand towel rail broke loose from the bathroom wall one morning, this was mentioned to Brian at breakfast time and upon returning to Crook Lodge late afternoon that day the problem was dealt with and the towel rail once again fixed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCobra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#55 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#49 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#37 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Lodge Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Lodge Of York

Property: Crook Lodge Of York
Address: 26 St Marys Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crook Lodge Of York 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing