We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in York”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crook Lodge Of York
Ranked #70 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weekend in York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had a very friendly welcome to a nice, hospitable B&B. Well located not too far from the Minster and central York. Clean room with good facilities, although perhaps a little on the small side. Decent cooked breakfast. Would stay there again. PS - would recommend 31 Castlegate for a nice meal out!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Stayed overnight Saturday to Sunday and really enjoyed our short visit.
The rooms are lovely, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.There is car parking in a small area in front of the house and in York this is a plus.
Brian was an excellent host and recommended several places were we might eat. All in all a very nice Guest House in a great location .

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyScotland40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

This was our 6th time at Crook Lodge and was fab! The hotel is very classy decorated and the breakfast is second to none! We are going back again in December and will be returning no doubt next year!
It is the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tincx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Crook Lodge in September 2008. The room we had was lovely, warm and comfortable. Brian, the proprietor, was very helpful and served breakfast where a special order was not too much trouble. He also had very helpful suggestions for restaurants and hotels and things to see in general. The walk into the city was brilliant through the park where we were entertained by the native squirrels being fed. There was a food and wine festival in the city at the time of our visit. If you want a lovely warm and friendly place to stay where the breakfast was wonderful, then you cannot go past Crook Lodge. If and when we return to the area, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissyc1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

We enjoyed our two nights at Crook Lodge. The location was perfect...a short walk into the old city. Brian is a helpful host who makes good recommendations on pubs, museums, etc. Breakfast was enjoyable. The room and bath were nice, but it was tight...perhaps the lesson is to take fewer suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Crook Lodge was my first B and B experience, I have avoided them due to a fear of feeling like you are staying in someones house.
The proprieter Brian was a lovely host, totally the right balance between helpful but unobstrusive, the rooms were compact but beautifully decorated with a lot of Laura Ashley paper and nice touches. For the money this place is really good value. Its 5 minutes walk from the town so could not believe we got such a lovely place so near for that money.
Breakfast was lovely and my veggie diet easily catered for with no fuss. Overall I know I will be returning as we visit york several times a year. Very relaxed and friendly, nothing too much trouble. I would very much reccomend this to others visiting York.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleteeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

thanks, great decor, NO chinz, just modern, warm and homely. good location, just a brief walk through museum gardens to town. breakfast good, poeple really friendly. so close AND off street parking. despite other comments from room 3 we heard NO trains.

  • Liked — location and decor
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maviscruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#63 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#49 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crook Lodge Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crook Lodge Of York

Property: Crook Lodge Of York
Address: 26 St Marys Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crook Lodge Of York 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing