We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Bowen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen House
Ranked #40 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on a two night trip to York and we were very happy with the B&B. We arrived a touch too early but despite that Diane made time to welcome us even tho she was busy cleaning the place on her own. The parking was a tight squeeze but nothing bad, Peter made sure to ask after we had eaten breakfast, of our plans regards the car incase we needed it. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and comfy. Breakfast was gorgeous and very well done with nice personal touches and served in the pleasant homely feeling conservatory. York centre is a 10 minute walk at most and it's quite a pleasant walk too.

All in all delighted and would stay again tomorrow.

Graeme A

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GA1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed three nights here. Very convenient for the city which is about a 15 minute easy walk away. Lovely cooked breakfast with generous portions. Comfortable rooms which are a little on the small size. The ensuite was very compact which didn't bother us but it may bother others if you need a bit more room. Breakfast was a little early for our liking as it finished at 9.15. Very friendly staff who made our stay very pleasant and easy. The only thing we didn't like was the matress was very soft and so gave us back ache. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 611Scarlett50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay, the room was clean and well looked after. Breakfast was very tasty and lots of options! They were even able to accommodate us when needing to alter our plans due to illness. Highly recommended stay! A very friendly welcome and stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Frstly, was allowed to check in an hour before advertised time. Very helpful.
Small room with small toilet/showerroom. But we knew that beforehand.
Very clean.
Nice tourist book in room was a good touch.
Great breakfast.
10 minute stroll into town.
Very friendly and helpful owner.
Thanks

Room Tip: Room 2 has very small showerroom, so maybe check before booking if a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snaphappy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have just come back from a weekend away in York and we stayed here at Bowen House. The hosts, Diane and Peter can't do enough for you. The breakfasts served in the conservatory are amazing, the choice is just brilliant. The comfortable rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard with a few extra special touches.

The guest house is located just outside the city walls, just off Monkgate and is approximately 10 minutes walk to Goodramgate where there is a great selection of restaurants and pubs to choose from.

This is our 4th stay at Bowen House and we are never disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Bowen house recommended by my neighbours ang n Paul who said we wouldn't be disappointed and we were Wernet Dianne was very welcoming explained the places to visit n where we could get buses if we wanted one. The are really clean n comfortable even extra heaters if you are cold although heating was on till late and that's a big thing for me hate being cold so that was a big star for me it's nit far to walk into main town of York 10minutes so no real need for buses but if you do opt for taxis only a fiver would definitely go back we all wished we had stayed extra night

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent value for money,really good location,within 10 minutes walk to centre. Lovely breakfast.
Excellent value for money,really good location,within 10 minutes walk to centre. Lovely breakfast.
Excellent value for money,really good location,within 10 minutes walk to centre. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#41 of 194 in York
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
0.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#14 of 194 in York
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#11 of 194 in York
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#38 of 194 in York
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen House

Address: Huntington Road | Huntington Road, York YO31 8RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Peter offer a warm Yorkshire welcome at Bowen House. It’s a 10 minute stroll from the famous Shambles and York Minster. We offer five comfortable rooms, each has a TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and private off-street parking are available. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in the bright and airy conservatory. The extensive menu includes a traditional full English breakfast. Special and vegetarian diets can be catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing