We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #77 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
blackpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

On arrival first impression was what a nice looking bed and breakfast have just stayed for two nights at Midway House. The room was very clean with quality furniture and a large en suite.free wi fi and a good car park We enjoyed 2 good nights sleep in the comfy bed, followed by a lovely breakfast. Annette and Ian work very hard and are great hosts who made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We would throughly recommend this Guest House and would be staying here again thank you so much from nigel and sue..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    39
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
58
133
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I went to York for two weeks to work at the Borthwick Institute of Archives. Ian and Annette, the couple who runs the B & B, gave me a very warm welcome and helped me settle in very quickly. They made me feel at home which is a very good thing in an unfamiliar environment. It was a very relaxing atmosphere.
I had a nice room with a large bed, TV and WiFi. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned on a daily basis and I never discovered a stain which is very important to me. The breakfast was plenty and you could choose from different options which is a very good thing if you want to get some variety or if you are a vegetarian.
Although Midway House is not in the city centre, it is close to the University of York which was important for me. A twenty-five minutes walk takes you to the university. There is a bus stop on the opposite side of the road and a bus takes you into the city in ten minutes. You can also walk there in twenty-five minutes. Midway House was perfect for my business trip but I would also stay there on a holiday.
This is a place I will surely come back to and I can recommend it to everyone looking for a nice, clean and warm basis to discover York and North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK6482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stayed here in December, a time when all York hotels and B and Bs seem to be very overpriced so this B and B was not alone in raising its prices at this busy time of year. It is quite far from the city centre, meaning we got taxis back and forth most of the time (although in better weather, it would be quite a pleasant walk overlooking the river).

We went as two young couples, meaning we wanted to go out for a meal and to a few bars in the evenings and get up later the next day. Breakfast was very early (7-9am) even on a Sunday when most places serve til 10 or 11am. This is fine for young families and perhaps older couples wanting to get an early night. But not so good for us! Two of us missed breakfast due to this and I think more flexibility around this would be appreciated by other non larks!! On the plus side the breakfast was nice and soaked up the alcohol well!

We stayed in a non en suite room (to cut costs) which was very small and although neat and warm with a comfy bed it was a bit cramped and at £75 a night seemed very expensive, we would not have paid more than £50 for it had we known how small it was beforehand. Also the bathroom was quite far down the corridor which meant a number of late night walks. This bathroom was clean and well stocked with soaps/shampoo etc at the beginning of the weekend. Unfortunately, some other residents (who had their own bathrooms) found out about it and began using it to do their number 2s presumably so as not to smell out their own bathrooms! Not very pleasant for those of us who didnt have this luxury! Also there was one guest who kept leaving the loo seat up/using up the toilet roll etc. I think the location of this bathroom on the main landing leaves it open to being used by anyone and everyone!! It does say private on the door, but these guests ignored that!

My sister and her boyfriend stayed in a much more spacious family room with a double and single bed and a nice clean en suite (but no bath). This room was far better, but at £115, was overpriced before Christmas. Again, this may just be a seasonal thing, rather than a standard price - I would have paid up to £70 a night for their room.

The hosts were really friendly and helped us out loads with directions to get to places, knowing where everything was and just generally being really nice about everything. The only thing they were a little rigid on was breakfast (ordered the night before rather than in the morning) which they prepared before we came downstairs (meaning we couldnt have changed our minds spontaneously to having the veggie option - didnt bother us, but might bother some people).

In summary, I'd describe this B and B as quiet, friendly, comfortable and clean, suiting people who are larks rather than owls. (I would recommend this hotel to my friends with children/who get up early. Not to my party animal friends!!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YamMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have just stayed for two nights at Midway House. The room was very clean with quality furniture and a large en suite. We enjoyed a good nights sleep in the comfy bed, followed by a lovely breakfast. Annette and Ian are great hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We would throughly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonshire73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed for one night, was greeted by owners, handed out lots of information to where to go, gave us money off vouchers and were very helpful.
Room was clean and tidy, ensuite was very good, only downside for us was the mattress was to hard, only personal opinion and did not detract from a lovely stay.
At breakfast nothing was to much trouble and was all cooked well and hot, very enjoyable and choice of toast full breakfast and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Found Ian and Annette to be exceptional hosts. The property was quite nice with the rooms clean and comfortable. A few observations: A short walk to the centre of town (perhaps 10 minutes). Our room had a medium size tube TV. Free Wireless Internet was quite handy. We were able to secure our bikes in their gated back garden. The owners take pride in their B&B and it shows. Would not hesitate to stay again when in York.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The midway guest house is a lovely comfortable clean guest house , we were made very welcome, a enjoyable breakfast, a home from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#30 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#72 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#86 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing