We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay, highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #73 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay, highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was spacious and clean, and had everything we needed.
The location is ideal for walking into York, about 20 minutes either along the river or along the main road.
It rained one night, and there is a bus stop right outside, which was great. And a taxi back costs less than £5.
Annette was very helpful, giving us lots of advice and chatting to all the guests at breakfast time while still managing to get all the breakfasts on the table quickly.
The car park was great, we didn't need to use the car so it was good to know it was safely off the street.
We loved everything about Midway House, would recommend it to anyone and hope to visit again one day.
Thanks, Annette, for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    41
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
59
138
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at this lovely b&b for two nights, and it was absolutely amazing! Ian and Annette who own it are very welcoming and friendly. Cleanliness is on extremely high level, rooms are very cozy. Breakfast cooked by Ian was super delicious. Location is brilliant as well - only 10 minute walk to city center. I will definitely stay at midway house again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamaria999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a great weekend in York!
Annette and Ian were very welcoming and friendly. They gave us a lot of interesting tips about what to visit in York.
The town center is in walking distance (about 10-15 mins). You can walk by the river, which is very nice.
We had a cooked English breakfast. It was delicious!!
The rooms are traditional, very nice, comfortable and clean. The en-suite bathroom, too!
We can highly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne_M_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had three rooms for three nights for our daughter's graduation. Everything was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The owners were friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Excellent location on bus routes and close to beautiful river walk into town (20 - 25mins). Cab to university is £7 or again about 20 - 25 mins to walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have stayed twice and will go again. A good walk into the city along the river and within walking distance of the races. hosts are very friendly and helpful, giving tips about places to eat and visit. has car parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniowner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Midway House . Annette and Ian gave us a warm and gracious welcome. Annette has deep roots in historic York that trace back centuries and offers expert advice for sightseeing , meals and entertainment . Ian puts together a hearty and healthful breakfast and does a marvelous job of introducing a bit of humor into your morning . Our spacious ensuite room was beautifully decorated and meticulously cleaned . The bathroom was large and had every convenience . Annette , Ian ,and son are experienced travelers who provide the comfort they themselves would want to receive.
The off-street parking is a bonus as there is really no need for a car. It is about a 15 minute walk to the walled city but busses run often and late . A taxi is less than six pounds .
We can't imagine a more delightful stay.

Carol and Steve P

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palumbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our teenage daughter (room 11), the guest house is excellent, well maintained and immaculate. Ian and Annette are very welcoming friendly hosts for whom nothing is a bother. Annette is a great source of information!
Breakfast was excellent, we walked into town along the river which is about a 20 minute walk, we also visited the Plough Inn along the road in Fulford which we would recommend for a cold cider in the beer garden!
We will definitely return to York, and hope to stay here again at some point.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great as our teenage daughter had her own wee space under the eaves. This room faces fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#30 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#13 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#71 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#77 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing